We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peace and Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olbrich Botanical Gardens

Olbrich Botanical Gardens
Ranked #1 of 93 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Madison's most popular attractions, this oasis of green includes a sunken garden, perennial garden, rose garden, rock garden, herb garden, wildflower garden and a tropical conservatory.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Peace and Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love to stop by Olbrich Gardens, to stroll through the different areas of the outdoor gardens--from the rose garden with the beautiful views of the lake, the herb garden, the hosta garden, or the golden Thai Pavillion over the river. It's beautiful and peaceful spring, summer, or fall--and especially in the cold winter the indoor atrium with the tropcal plants is a nice hot spot to visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    192
    22
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and FREE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a great place to go for a romantic walk, to take a book and some coffee or to just take the family outside! Its free outside, (there is an inside and that costs).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amber170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Thai Pavillion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a delightful time visiting the botanical garden and especially the Thai Pavilion. I felt like I was back in Thailand and it was great to escape into quiet nature into the garden for a few hours away from a conference.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a great place to go and get away from the city. You can spend a few hours walking around the place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I didn't expect much from a botanical garden in Madison. I mean, we live in the midwest. How good could it be? At best, I thought I might get a few ideas for my own garden. Boy, was I wrong! This garden is very well done, and I found myself taking pictures every few steps. There are woodland gardens, prairie gardens, rose gardens, scuptures, water gardens, bog gardens, and even vegetable gardens, and if you're there at the right time, you can see butterflies emerging from their crysalis inside the conservatory. It's a nice way to spend an hour or two.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jbillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olbrich Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Olbrich Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing