We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful gardens”

Olbrich Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$78.00*
and up
Walking Dinner Tour in Downtown Middleton
Ranked #1 of 97 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Madison's most popular attractions, this oasis of green includes a sunken garden, perennial garden, rose garden, rock garden, herb garden, wildflower garden and a tropical conservatory.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beautiful gardens”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Caught the last day of the butterfly exhibit. Kids loved seeing the displays of butterflies from around the world and hunt in the outside gardens for stamps to earn a custard from Micheal's. Enjoyable as always.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jennifer r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    972
    211
    26
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful surprise in the city!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Not an exciting attraction, but still one that should not be missed. The grounds are gorgeous and so well maintained. A person could wander around for hours here. There is no admission fee, just donations - so that was really cool as well. This makes for a very inexpensive family outing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MelinWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynette
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Flowers,Flowers”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I try to go once a month during spring and summer to see all the different flowers blooming. Everything looks great right now. Nice spot to listen to music in the summer too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Needsmoretimeoff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
78 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went to the Olbrich botanical garden. They have a very, very nice facility. The conservatory is very much worth the $2 visit fee. They said there weren't any butterflies but we saw quite a few. The outdoor garden is free and very much worth the trip. The Thi pavillion is amazing. We went there during the day and I was impressed enough that we came back in the evening to take some twilight shots. A must see.

We didn't realize until too late that we were so close to the Frank Lloyd Wright house in Spring Green. Next time we are definitely going to visit there as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HenryMudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Madison!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The outdoor gardens are free to visit and change with every season (and almost every week!). In the spring when the crab apples and tulips are blooming may be my favorite time to visit. They do have tram tours, but I've never taken advantage of them as I prefer to simply stroll around.

There is an indoor conservatory that I do believe charges a small admission. Lovely as well with orchids, tropical plants, koi and birds.

They also have a variety of events ranging from plant sales to butterfly exhibits to seasonal displays.

Truly a place to not miss!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank wahoowahuvahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olbrich Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Olbrich Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing