We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Art, music, film.

Sunday afternoon free concert was superb! Between that and the Fassbinder film later in the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Nina C
,
Chicago, Illinois
I Love this Place

Another UW-Madison gem. Lots of great art in the permanent collection plus rotating exhibits. Not... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jan N
Read all 275 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Madison
from $58.03
More Info
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
189
56
14
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
56
14
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews permanent collection large collection changing exhibits special exhibits are on display amazing collection large city uw madison campus couple of hours few hours gift shop state street galleries ceramics centuries botticelli wisconsin
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

Sunday afternoon free concert was superb! Between that and the Fassbinder film later in the afternoon, there wasn't as much time to enjoy the art as we'd have liked. We'll be back.

Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Another UW-Madison gem. Lots of great art in the permanent collection plus rotating exhibits. Not so large that one is exhausted trying to see everything but large enough to offer a stunning variety of art. Something for everyone.

1  Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We saw the vanishing Iceland photo exhibit which was very good. The museum was free and not very crowded, so it was easy and comfortable to go from one piece of art to another.

1  Thank norski1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One could easily spend hours seeing an amazing & well-displayed art collection right next to University of Wisconsin.

Thank Gerri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChazenArt, Guest Relations Manager at Chazen Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoy spending time at the Chazen Museum of Art.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

There are wonderful archives and exhibits. Parking is a pain. There is no public parking next to the place unless you really know your way around the area. Then you know where and when to go. Usually there is something interesting on display.

Thank billfeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChazenArt, Guest Relations Manager at Chazen Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review the Chazen Museum of Art. The closest public parking to the museum is the State Street Campus Garage located at 415 N. Lake Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018

If you are in Mad City and in the UW area, make the Chazen a must do. Rotating exhibitions and a quality selection of American and European art. No entrance fee. There is also area art from Africa, Asia. During this visit, we very much enjoyed a photographic exhibit of Icelandic landscapes as well as Renaissance marriage chests and a Botticelli. After visiting, walk up State street and enjoy the many shops and restaurants.

Thank GiseppeGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChazenArt, Guest Relations Manager at Chazen Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to visit the Chazen Museum of Art! Life, Love, and Marriage in the Italian Renaissance will be on view through November 4, 2018 and Iceland's Vanishing Beauty: Photography by Michael Kienitz will be on view through February 3, 2019.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018

I never would have gone here if it wasn't for a college course field trip. I loved it, it has so much to look at. The paintings are amazing and worth spendnig some time at.

Thank melfred_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChazenArt, Guest Relations Manager at Chazen Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Thank you for visiting the museum! We are glad you have enjoyed our collection of paintings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

The museum has numerous collections along with exhibits that change on a routine basis so it’s never the same experience.

If you’re local, I’d recommend going more often and not trying to see the whole museum in one trip. There’s more to see than you may think.

The “Fall of Novgorod” painting is one of my favorites.
Beth Cavener's "L'Amante sculpture is amazing. Too many gems to list, just go check it out.

Thank wisconsingolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChazenArt, Guest Relations Manager at Chazen Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Thank you for continuing to visit the Chazen Museum of Art and taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Really spend a few hours just gazing at the creativity its well worth some charitable dollars to amble through and do some wondering. Some are more to my liking than others but overall a very nice collective of art connoisseurs.

Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChazenArt, Guest Relations Manager at Chazen Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Thank you for reviewing the Chazen Museum of Art. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and got to spend some time gazing at the creativity in the museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Wife and I went to Chazen to spend some time inside on a rainy day. Was a lot of fun and the art was great. I am a big fan of Art and grew up in Chicago going to the Art Institute. Definitely worth the value.

Thank IndigoIce8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChazenArt, Guest Relations Manager at Chazen Museum of Art, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Thank you for visiting the Chazen on a rainy day and exploring the collection! We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews