We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And it's free”

Wisconsin Veterans Museum
Ranked #13 of 99 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wisconsin Veterans Museum acknowledges, affirms, and commemorates the role of Wisconsin citizens from Civil War to present military history.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“And it's free”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you are into Civil War history; or military history in general, you will enjoy this museum. The displays and panoramas are well done. I particularly liked the one of the Iron Brigade in the cornfield at Antietam. They also have a nice bookstore, although I tease them that I have more Civil War boos than they do. Did I mention there is no admission cost?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calicoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    56
    10
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an hour or two in frigid Madison”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the exhibits in this modern museum that traces the history of US wars from the Civil War through Vietnam. Many stories told through the eyes of Wisconsin veterans.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rkloewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Love, Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A brief visit”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I only had a few minutes so didn't get to take a tour. I was just browsing in the gift shop. I would like to have asked a few question but could not find anyone to ask. I think it might be worthwhile to take a trip back to do the tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DJPCityofLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
828 reviews
316 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Top Notch Military Museum”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The quality of the exhibits at the Wisconsin Veterans Museum is is outstanding. The new Civil War exhibit is loaded with artifacts with clear descriptions and a wonderful diorama of soldiers firing their rifles in a corn field. There are wonderfully designed exhibits covering every war since the Civil War, with dioramas and displays of weapons, aircraft, and support equipment. All the displays are beautifully done with highly readable descriptions. Many of the exhibits are tied to participation by Wisconsin military units, but it isn't overdone. There's a good museum store with an excellent selection of books and gifts. Definitely the best museum I've seen in Madison. Admission is free. All the displays are on one floor making it easily navigable for the disabled.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I really enjoyed this museum and what it had to offer. The admission was free (please make a small donation) and the displays are very informative.
Here you will be treated to a history of Wisconsins contribution to US history. All on display and factually based.
There is a gift shop with some very cool items.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wisconsin Veterans Museum also viewed

 

Been to Wisconsin Veterans Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing