We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Classy Restaurant,great food, and beautiful setting on the lake”
Review of Admiralty Dining Room - CLOSED

Admiralty Dining Room
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
palos park
1 review
“Very Classy Restaurant,great food, and beautiful setting on the lake”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We celebrated our daughter's graduation from University of Wisconsin last Friday at this classy restaurant. Being from the Chicago area we are used to fine restaurants and The Admiralty is one of the nicest places we have dined at. The bread they serve with the meal is delicious!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheila v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Restaurant with a View”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Admiralty Room delivers and is a favorite of ours. We recently had dinner there with our adult children. The only thing missing was being able to watch the sun set over the lake, but that's a summer thing given the early hour it gets dark in the winter. We were warmly greeted by the maitre 'd and promptly seated. The atmosphere is elegant, yet relaxed. Dress is upscale casual. One thing I like best is that the dinners are perfectly timed, so that you are not rushed, nor wondering if you will ever be served. You just sit back and enjoy the experience of good, efficient, friendly service and wonderful food. I love the fact that diners are given a complimentary one-bite appetizer, an amuse bouche. A house salad or soup is included with the meal, as is a side dish paired with the entree orderd.. For an extra charge, you can have an excellent Caesar salad made tableside. The menus is solid, not especially creative, but all dishes are prepared perfectly. Two of us had duck (very good, servied in a cherry gastrique over beet and potato puree), one had lamb chops (highly recommended), and one had filet mignon (steaks are always prepared perfectly). Diners are given complimentary handmade Candinas chocolates. (Of course, there's also the tempting dessert menu.) We were all so relaxed, we stayed and sipped coffee or had an after dinner drink. Prices are mid-20s to mid-30s.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madison025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Romantic Dinner”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I think The Admiralty Room is one of Madison's best restaurants for a romantic dinner. It is located in the Edgewater Hotel located right on Lake Mendota. The tables have white tableclothes and napkins, the lighting is dim enough for the ambiance, but not so dim that you can't read the menu. We were seated at a table with a lake view. The server was friendly and efficient. We were given a small appetizer, compliments of the chef. The cream of asparagus soup was delicious as was the caesar salad that they make tableside. The Steak au Poivre (ribeye) was tender and full of flavor. The roasted butternut squash and tender. The Herb Crusted Pork Chop stuffed with bleu cheese was delicious and tender, the caramelized apple duchess potatoes were were a great change from mashed or baked. Since we filled up on our dinner we didn't order dessert, but to our surprise, the server presented chocolate bon bons, again complimentary. We will definately go back there and had a wonderful experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RetirementTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nostalgic for 1950's nautical? This is your place!”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

THis restaurant has the best view in the city, and is seldom loud or crowded. The food is old-fashioned to a fault. WHen it comes to Caesar salads and crepes suzette this is great. Other dishes seem pretty dated. The over 70 set love this place. One seldom sees anyone under the aged of 45.

It is very expensive by local standards. The waiters are pretentious and insist you try their "amusee boucheez" that more often than not taste like philly clam dip. They will tell you what to order, brag about their sophistication, and recommend frozen seafood with enthusiastic zeal. But it is an evening of unparalleled camp.

Oh, they bring your food covered with aluminum domes, which they theatrically removed en mass. Where can you find this ladies and gentleman? It almost makes it worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Elegant perfection!”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

It's not often I can title a restaurant review with this kind of high praise. But when my wife and I celebrated our 46th wedding anniversary recently at the Admiralty Dining Room in the Edgewater Hotel we were treated so well in a setting so idyllic with food so excellent than no other title will do.

The Admiralty is a white table cloth restaurant of graceful ambience enhanced by soothing music of the kind people sometimes claim helps to improve their baby's IQ. No other restaurant in Madison--and very few anywhere--can claim the magnificent view through huge picture windows across Lake Mendota. Watching the sun set behind a few boaters was simply gorgeous.

As for the food. They say you can predict how good your meal will be by how good the bread appetizer is. Well, their bread was terrific with soft, warm insides surrounded by a crust with the perfect chewiness. My wife and I ordered the two-person Chateaubriand. Splendid! But the most impressive element of our meal was the spectacular presentation of Irish Coffee after dinner drinks. Watching a thin line of blue fire falling into large wine glasses filled with this most excellent nectar was a first-ever experience for me. Not only was the presentation unique and fascinating, but the end product was the best Irish Coffee drink I have had anywhere.

The Admiralty reservation staff inquired whether I was celebrating an occasion and then went out of their way to make our meal memorable. I cannot remember when a restaurant succeeded so well!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Admiralty Dining Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing