We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mickies Dairy Bar

Mickies Dairy Bar
Ranked #22 of 980 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“fun breakfast”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great place to take your college student. Loads of food for the money and fun atmosphere. We had to wait a few minutes of a seat and ended up splitting our party of 8 up into 2 groups of 4, but that worked out. Corned beef hash was excellent!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank meg1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    69
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Diners and Dives should visit here”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

right by campus..free parking....and a real hole...but its very popular...and you wait for a table.

Food was cheap and good..lots of it...but place is terribly dirty and old...

But worth the trip

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank alkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More Hype than good food”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Huge portions...but not that good of food. I think a lot students who are drunk or hung over eat here and THINK it's good. There was a lot of food, but absolutely nothing to write home about except huge portions for breakfast. Malts are good...but then again is there a bad malt? It's a lot more hype, drunks and portion size than it is about actual quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karmadogma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Some like it and some don't”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What I and my husband immediately noticed, big, huge heaping plates are what see to excite some people. I ordered a pancake...it was the size of the plate (a dinner plate) and must have weighed a pound if not more. Too much, too "doughy". The place is always packed to capacity with a waiting line. So if you like gorging on food, go for it. We will not be returning.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NVSallyReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westport
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Big Food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Worried you'll be hungry? After breakfast at Mickies, you might be good for a day, or two, or a week. Scramblers and pancakes fit for Paul Bunyan, or a Big Ten Offensive Line. Not line*men* - a whole line.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank screwjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickies Dairy Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mickies Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing