We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best sushi in Madtown - Seriously, #1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Muramoto

Sushi Muramoto
Ranked #109 of 938 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Madtown - Seriously, #1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Warning... if you go here for sushi, you will never be satisfied with any other sushi in Madison. Ecuador = favorite roll. Chef's choice = always a winner. Grab a seat at the sushi bar and watch the masters in action. If you get lucky, you can snag a seat on the far left and get to watch the brilliant chef with the handlebar mustache. The restaurant is right across from Sundance Cinema, so it makes a great date night. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wisconsin_foodie_150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Craig
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“outstanding sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

expensive, yes... but worth every penny! I visit Madison 1-2 times per year and come back every time. I have never been dissapointed. Unique very tasty rolls, outstanding sushi and fantastic dishes.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ckaep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best sushi place I have ever found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I can't find sushi this good anywhere else. I wish my wife loved it as much as I do. I find every ingredient to be so amazing in terms of taste. You won't go wrong trying this place out! Nobody compares to Muramoto! Wish the restaurant was bigger as its usually full and there's nowhere to wait near the front door but I don't go they're for the comfy waiting area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank firemanmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No Sushi expert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I read all the bad reviews for MURAMATO and decided to put in my modest opinion too. The place looks great from the outside and looks fantastic from the inside....very very stylish, contemporary design ... I feel great every time i walk in there.
Been there quite a few times ... Never experienced bad service , i acctually love their staff ... They blend in very well with the restaurants atmosphere.
Like i said ... Im no sushi expert, like some of the other people who posted reviews .... But i definetly say that by my humble opinion its the best sushi in town.
Sometimes there is a little wait for your food... But .... Its sushi... Not deepfried chicken wings .... i am ready to wait!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great date night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We always have a wonderful date night at Sushi Muramoto! We had fabulous sushi and great service. We always get a special roll plus a few different basic rolls and we always feel like we have enough to eat and it's always tasty!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UWBadger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Muramoto also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Muramoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing