We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel where guests feel they are valued.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Metro NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel where guests feel they are valued.”
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We reserved a block of rooms for our son's wedding with most of our guests staying in the Governor's Club rooms. The reception desk was very welcoming when we and our guests arrived and continued to find excellent service throughout our stay. The Governor's Club rooms are nicely done and very well maintained. The bed is extremely comfortable. The extras you received by being on the club level included a nice continental breakfast and then a lounge where there are complimentary drinks in the evening and desserts which were quite good.

The hotel was clean and well maintained as well. I felt we made a good choice in choosing to have our guests stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracey08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    320
    82
    21
    12
See reviews for
223
385
65
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This hotel was just off State Street which is the main pedestrianised street with lots of shops, bars and restaurants and close to The Capitol Building. The hotel bar was welcoming, prices were reasonable and bar staff were very friendly. Rooms were standard hotel rooms but comfortable.
Madison is a wonderfully friendly city and the University gives the city a young, vibrant atmosphere and although we were only passing through on the way to Chicago, I would definitely try to return next time I go to the US.
Although this hotel was just a standard generic US city hotel, the location and friendly staff definitely gave it an edge and would recommend it for very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_traveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkader, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

My wife & I stayed at the Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club for our anniversary & her birthday.
From the moment we walked into the lobby to check in, the staff was very pleasant, helpful & polite. The front desk was well informed of the attractions & quality restaurants in & around Madison.
We opted for the Governor's suites & it was well worth the additional price. Jacuzzi suite, appetizers & cocktails in the Governor's club in the evening, which was made even more enjoyable with our attentive bartender & concierge, with quick answers or if they did not know would look information for us.
Every staff member was pleasant & helpful, from the janitorial engineer to the newly acquired human resources gal.
Highly recommend staying here for price, convenience, hospitality & all around great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IaGhost1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Great location, great staff!!!!
Thank you to the fine folks at the Madison Concourse for making my unpleasant business trip alot more pleasant!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristineVNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

We just stayed 3 nights at the Concourse Hotel and booked a room with a Capitol view (very nice), a whirlpool tub (also very nice) and access to the Governor's Club lounge. It was worth the upgrade cost. The lounge has a buffet-style breakfast (not huge, but enough choices) in the morning, and the starts serving beer/wine/cocktails at about 4:30 in the afternoon until 10:30 at night. In addition to the "free" drinks, there are appetizers (pretty good too - one night we didn't need dinner because of all the appetizers) until about 7pm and then dessert comes out at 9pm. All in all, it was great to be able to have breakfast/drinks etc. without having to go out of the hotel or necessarily go out of the hotel.The room was nice - decent bed, nice linens - and the tub was great for soaking.

The hotel also has a very nice pool and hot tub next to the fitness center. It's in a
great location - loved being able to walk around the Capitol and down State St. We've stayed at other Madison hotels but this was much nicer than any others we have tried.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

If you are going to Madison, this hotel is THE place to stay. Over a 3 -day weekend we had breakfast, lunch and dinner and all were wonderful. After not being at the hotel for a few years, we were thrilled with the room upgrades in the Governor's Club. It is truly a hotel that goes above and beyond in terms of service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

The Madison Concourse Hotel is in a great location, offers comfortable upscale rooms and excellent service from its staff. You can easily walk all over the central area; the Capital building is 1 block away and the UW campus and convention center are very close. We stayed in a regular double queen room (not the Governor’s Club which I assume to be more opulent.) The room décor was rather plain and understated, the beds were extremely comfortable with soft sheets and multiple pillow types; bath had good lighting and strong shower pressure. The bedroom was spacious with a large desk, small table and 2 side chairs with appropriate lighting. We stayed during extremely hot and humid weather and the a/c unit was rather loud and rattled when the blower came on. The pool, Jacuzzi and small workout room was well maintained (except for inadequate supply of towels). We had drinks in the bar which was casual and comfortable with friendly service. The convenient parking lot is located under the hotel with a well marked street entrance. The front desk staff in particular was very professional and helpful and it was clear they strived for excellent service. Our room was located on the 3rd floor which is ideal for families who will spend a lot of time at the pool or game room, however we found our room location near the vending and ice machines to be busy and noisy; I’d request a different room next time. I would highly recommend this hotel for the location near the Capital, high level of service and comfortable rooms.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Property: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing