We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!! What a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baldwin
1 review
“WOW!! What a Hotel”
Reviewed May 1, 2007

I stayed at the Concourse Hotel in January and wow what a experience. I have never been so impressed with a hotel in my life. I stayed on the Governor's club floor and was treated like a king. THE ROOM WAS GREAT!!! I had a king size bed that was turned down at night. (Nice touch) The service from their employees was excellent. The next time I am in Madison you can bet your last dollar that I will be staying at the Concourse Hotel. If you are looking for service with class this is your hotel.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BaldwinJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    313
    81
    21
    11
See reviews for
217
379
63
473
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2007

I made a routine reservation to stay in Madison while visiting my 2 children at UW. I was totally impressed with the Concourse Hotel and would recommend it highly! I especially liked the Governor's Club with outstanding ambience and the awesome hors devors. The free drinks were an added bonus. I also recommend the Club with the rich history of our past Governors. The view of the Capitol was spectacular!! All in all, this hotel is on my Top 10 list and I would highly recommend it all!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank enterpriseMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2007

It was crazy busy when I stayed. The hotel was full of guests; however, you wouldn't have noticed the difference in services. The staff paid great attention to details.
It seemed like the hotel hired extra security at night to handle misbehaved and drunken guests. I had to call and complain once because my next door neighbour was loud at midnight; the hotel security took care of it right away within minutes! Super efficient. I was glad that I could still enjoy a great nice sleep (their beds are unbelievably comfortable!!!) My husband had to beg me to buy us all new pillows for home.
Location is the best because you are right downtown and can walk to just about anywhere.
We'll be back! Too bad they are only an independent hotel because I would have stayed with them everywhere I go.

  • Liked — Location, great service, safety and security, very comfortable bed
  • Disliked — It was so busy some people were a bit out of control
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pui10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2007

Complimentary airport shuttle was very convenient. I stayed the weekend and Sunday Brunch was awesome!

  • Liked — Brunch
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ThompsonJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2007

I travel a lot for business and am usually shocked with the poor service of hotel staff. The Concourse hotel staff is first class and took care of everything I needed. I was very impressed with the restaurant menu; this is what I would expect to find in a bigger city. I was a little weary of the parking garage as it was very low but my car fit just fine. I will be traveling to Madison in a couple months and will definitely be staying there again.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Parking garage
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicubs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2007

We stayed for two nights and it was two nights too many. The rooms were not what I would have expected and even included cobwebs and mold. For two nights we were treated to harassment by the hotel security which ended in them slamming the doors to the rooms as they left. All this because our room doors were left open during our stay. The management of this hotel did nothing and were certainly more interested in charging us extra for everything from newspapers to check out times. While they try to be an upscale like the hilton's
and embassy's they forgot about customer service and making sure the customer has a good experience. If you are looking at a place to lay your head at night it may be ok otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of customer service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Deckers6830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 63 in Madison
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Property: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing