We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sauk City, Wisconsin
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel!”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I stayed at the Madison Concourse with friends on our annual girls' weekend. We had a fantastic time. The staff were friendly & helpful, the rooms were impeccably clean, our beds were so comfortable, and the location in downtown Madison was perfect. I would highly recommend this hotel to travelers for a pampered night in. P.S. You must eat at the Dayton Street Grill located in The Concourse. Phenomenal food! I had the steak and it was the best I've ever had, hands down!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    309
    81
    21
    11
See reviews for
216
377
63
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

The Madison Concourse Hotel was a great hotel, with just a few quirks that could have been fixed to make our stay that much more enjoyable. First, I should say that the hotel itself is in a perfect location about a block away from State St and the Capitol building. The shuttle to and from the airport was also a great help and leaves the hotel every half hour to go back to the airport. The hotel is split between the Concourse Hotel and the Governor's Club. Some in our party (including myself) were staying in the concourse while others couldn't get a room there and paid extra to stay in the Governor's Club. The difference was pretty astounding. First of all, you need a special key in order to even get up to the Governor's Club floor and then there is a bar with appetizers or breakfast or dessert depending on what time of day (but you need a special card, not just a room key, to get into that room). The rooms at the governors club were similar but much nicer than the ones in the concourse. They all had flat screen TV's and looked recently renovated.

The rooms at the Concourse were nice, but definitely a little old and worn. The view was incredible, but there were a couple things amiss. We decided that we were going to make coffee and oatmeal in the room for breakfast and there was a coffeemaker and microwave. Unfortunately, when we woke up in the morning we found out that neither worked particularly well. Eventually we got water hot enough for oatmeal, but the coffeemaker was just not going to work.

But those were relatively minor and for the most part I wouldn't usually use either of those utilities. The staff were very helpful and allowed us to delay our checkout without a problem. Overall, it was a great stay and if you're going to be in Madison, I would definitely recommend this place for a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rider1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Had a great hotel experience, was in town for a friends weekend. The location was great, right next to State Street. The staff was very friendly. The room was one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in, very clean & spacious. Had a great hotel experience & would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowpaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Stayed at the Concourse with a group of friends on an annual trip. By far the nicest hotel we have stayed at in our almost 10 years of trips! Staff was friendly, rooms were modern and immaculate. Was the most comfortable bed and pillows at a hotel, ever!! Great night's sleep! I'd highly recommend upgrading to a room that includes access to the Governor's Club - the complimentary hors d'orvres, drinks, dessert, and breakfast were excellent, and the staff was great. Food was good and continuously replenished and the drinks were top shelf. No cutting corners here. I'll definitely be returning to the Madison Concourse - great hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etak522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We have stayed at the Concourse for the past four years while our son has been attending UW. He will graduate in May and we will spend our last weekend at the hotel for awhile. We have always had a pleasant stay. The front desk is always cheerful and helpful. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have always been very clean. We enjoy having access to the bar and restaurant. The location is great for state street and the farmers market. We had checked out two other hotels before we found the Concourse and there is no comparison!
We are always on the go when visiting Madison but, have relaxed at the pool and used the work out room. It is a great hotel. Stay and have a great time in a wonderful city.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolaMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2010

location couldn't be better, right off the capitol square in downtown Madison. The Governor's Club has a great view of the city, excellent service from the staff as well

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Great Stay.

The Room: We were in a King room, which based on the pictures looks like a governors club room w/out the fancy headboard. Our room was very large, very spacious, and we had a view of the capitol building. I saw a queen room and it was MUCH smaller and needed updating. I’m not sure the cost difference but whatever it is, its worth every penny to be in the king room. Sheets, towel and overall the room was very clean.

The Hotel: Located near everything and right across the street from the capitol. There were a lot of conferences going on so the elevators were packed in the afternoons and evenings. The website is very accurate with how the hotel looks. The front desk staff was very nice.

Must do: Go to Lilianas. You’ll have to drive but it was by far the best restaurant we went to.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdht18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Property: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing