We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,562)
Filter reviews
1,562 results
Traveler rating
1,088
341
94
25
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,088
341
94
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews state street capitol building within walking distance underground parking farmers market free drinks club level overture center business or pleasure continental breakfast the entire staff favorite hotel the location is perfect fitness center wonderful hotel front desk staff downtown area
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,562 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2018

I was an overnight guest at the motel while attending a conference there. I tried to park in their ramp, but after driving through the ramp twice, it was still full. Their signage said the ramp was for overnight guests only, and the overflow parking was available at the public ramp a block away. When I checked in, they said parking was free to overnight guests. I explained about the ramp being full and they said they had a lot of conferences at the motel and there was nothing they could do about it. So I would just have to park in the public ramp and pay for it. Think about this. They charge people who park in the ramp and are not overnight guests. So they made extra money on the parking spot that should have been available for me or another overnight guest at no cost. And I had to pay $23 for public parking. What a racket!

Additionally, they were advance contacted about a life threatening food allergy. At the first meal, lunch, Julie Woodward, Director of Catering, forgot to make arrangements to accommodate the food allergy and when people tried to contact her, she was out to lunch. The problem was eventually fixed, but the person with the food allergy was served well after everyone else.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary8147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie L, Guest Relations Manager at Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Gary,

Thanks for taking a moment to write about your stay. We are so sorry for what happened during your visit, and can only imagine how frustrating both experiences would be - alone, but especially in combination with one another. It sounds like our customer service manager, Jamie Dressel, has been working with you on finding out what went wrong on our end, how we can do better, and how we can make it up to you. We also reviewed your comments this morning in our weekly guest feedback meeting, and will be speaking with our sales team and front desk staff on communicating parking information more clearly in the future. We also understand the importance and severity of making sure food is safe for our guests - and do apologize sincerely for the error. We are glad to hear that we got everything fixed, but are sorry for the inconvenience our mistake caused.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to have you back as a guest and show you the great stay we know we can provide. Regardless, we truly appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback, and working with our Customer Service Manager so we can make things right.

Best,

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

We arrived in Madison just after the noon hour on our way home from our Door County trip for a one night stay and parked at the hotel's indoor garage. On a whim, we went to the front desk to see if we might get an early check in and we did. The room was clean and spacious as we expected. Early check in allowed us to tour the Capitol building, walk around the University of Wisconsin and tour the downtown area. Later in the afternoon we went to the twelfth floor for free appetizers and drinks which was an unexpected surprise. Later that evening we had a light meal and cheese tasting in the restaurant. Would not hesitate to stay here again for pleasure or business.

Room Tip: We booked this room through Expedia. Pricing was great and location was perfect.
  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallis12018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie L, Guest Relations Manager at Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sallis12018,

First of all, thank you so much for choosing The Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club. We are so happy to have you as a guest - and are thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience with us.

Second - thanks for leaving this great review! We, too, love being in the heart of the city. We're always steps away from all the fun and excitement Madison has to offer. And - what better way to take in the city than in the Governor's Club Lounge? We're glad you had a nice time - and loved the snacks and beverages available too.

We hope to welcome you back again soon! :)

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

I have stayed here several time on the Governor's Club floors. Excellent hotel. Beds are very good, rooms are large, fabulous views. The club is very nice. Breakfast is okay but the drinks and appetizers are nice. It can get crowded around 5:00 but was not crowded at breakfast.

We stayed for 3 days mid-week on the 14th floor in room 1436. It had an awful tub/shower that was very dangerous. Lighting was not great in the bathroom for make-up. The hotel is very pricy mid-week. On Sunday night we checked in again and had 1209, which was great! It was on the same floor as the club. We had a great walk-in shower and a nice vanity with excellent lighting in the bathroom. Parking is pricey but convenient.

Room Tip: 12th floor. Ask for a walk-in shower.
  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sascanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie L, Guest Relations Manager at Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for choosing The Madison Concourse Hotel, Sascanlan! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit, and loved your guest room. We know first hand just how important a good night's sleep is - especially when you're far from home. We're so happy you found that with us.

However - we do apologize for the issues with your restroom. I'd love to find out more about the shower/tub - and how we can make things better with our airtub rooms. Even if not possible, I'd like to make a note on your guest profile of your preference for a shower room. At your earliest convenience, please feel free to e-mail me at kschaid@concoursehotel.com.

Thanks again for choosing our hotel, and for taking a moment to write about your stay. Your feedback is so important to us as it helps us do better!

Best,

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

I really like this hotel. I've stayed once before, both times for weddings in the area. The rooms are extra nice and everyone is courteous and friendly. I especially liked the staff in the hotel restaurant. Very friendly !! Best grilled cheese sandwich I've ever had!

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie L, Guest Relations Manager at Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful review, Denise - and an equally wonderful title! We are so happy to see that your stays have gone so well - from your guest room, to our team, to our DELICIOUS grilled cheese sandwiches (we agree - they are fantastic). We can't wait to wow you again during your next stay!

See you again soon,

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

This hotel is very pretty and right in downtown/the Capitol area within easy walking distance to State Street and the Capitol building. Parking was easy (for $15/night) and they give you a pass to come and go from the ramp as you please.

The hotel was quiet during our stay, and there is only one room on each floor that's "near" the elevator, which we were not in. The elevators are key card access only for added feelings of security.

The restaurant, Circ, is definitely tasty, and the waitresses were very friendly!

*HOWEVER* The mattress in our room was awful. It was tilted, so it felt like your feet were above your head and so "plush" that both my husband and I were in pain the next morning. I barely slept at all. We were not on the Governor's Level (we were on the 7th floor), so maybe this made a difference. Once we talked to staff, they immediately helped us out with a roll-away bed and plenty of extra blankets! BUT, that mattress was equally as awful and I actually ended up sleeping on the pad underneath - which was surprisingly all right. The chairs in the room make a nice temporary bed, too.

The bathroom was nice and modern and they had extra towels already stocked, which is always appreciated for us women! A suggestion would be dimmable or night lights in the bathroom - it's so bright when you have to go in the middle of the night.

So overall - very nice hotel, great staff, but crappy mattresses.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mlmr2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie L, Guest Relations Manager at Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking a moment to review your visit, MLMR. We are so glad you had such a great stay - and such a delicious visit to our in-house restaurant, CIRC! However, we do sincerely apologize for the issues with the mattress. We do our best to inspect our beds on a regular basis, but we may have missed the mark with your room. If you have the time, would you please e-mail me at kschaid@concoursehotel.com? I'd love to find out which room you were staying in and have our engineering team inspect the mattress as soon as possible.

Thank you so much! Hope to hear from you soon.

Best,

Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews