We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guelph, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great hotel”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Walking distance to pretty much everything. Great view. Comfortable 3 night stay. Staff helped me rent a bike, which is absolutely the best way to see this city! Food supplied for lunches was delicious. Staff was very quick to assist when there were technical difficulties during lecture.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    320
    82
    21
    12
See reviews for
223
385
65
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The thing I like best was the view of the capital 200 hards away. It filled the window. I guess the other side view of lake was nice too. Great location between the capital and State Street. Staff was friendly. Nice to not stay in a chain. Finally a hotel with a Sauna.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerns43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Great location. Many restaurants/pubs within walking distance. The room/bathroom was clean. Bed was comfortable. We ordered food from the hotel restaurant one night - the food (braised lamb sandwich/pizza/salad) was great. Parking is in the basement and is very convenient. But the main reason why I am giving 5 stars is the hotel's excellent customer service. They really know how to treat their customers. Thank you. Will stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SECON2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I travel a lot for business and I have to say that the Madison Concourse was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. I hate hotel rooms because they never feel very comfortable or clean and I never feel like I can settle in. This is the first time that i can honestly say that I felt like it was almost as good as home.
Staff was welcoming and friendly, rooms were clean and amenities were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Checked in late but staff was very friendly & helped us find a nearby bite to eat. The staff made a great recommendation. Hotel room was spacious & nice, although it could have used a better view. The hotel is in a great location. If visiting Madison again, I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UMDKatie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I had a great time at the Madison Concourse Hotel. We were on the 12th floor with a fabulous view of the Capitol and access to the Governor's Club. Highly recommend staying here! We also had a majority of the guests for our Madison wedding stay here as well. Staff was great, food/service is excellent! I would work with them again in a heart beat!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
698 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Concourse for two nights as part of a tour. Our room on the eight floor was spacious and comfortable. It was only a short walk to most of Madison's attractions, including several restaurants in State Street.

Breakfasts were nice. Needing a 'veggie fix' I chose the cold cooked vegetables, which I ate on a warm pancake. Not the usual meal, but healthy!

One criticism was the slowness of delivery of luggage and problems getting a lift, but the place was packed at the time, so I guess that was understandable.

Room Tip: I think room not facing the street are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocatnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Property: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing