We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I am so pleased with my experience at this hotel. Every staff member I came in contact with was helpful and friendly. It is in a perfect location. We were able to walk everywhere downtown comfortably. Room service was fast and delicious. I loved that it was available all day - since I was there for work and needed early breakfasts. The room was comfortable - the beds were amazing. The only downfall was the wifi - it got a bit iffy at times, but the tech support was very helpful and fixed the issue fast. Madison is a great town, and I will definitely stay here again when I come back.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room that's higher up. On the 9th floor, we couldn't hear any street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea_christine14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Location, excellent staff and great amenities convinced us this one is worth a return visit. Our 14th floor room had a wonderful view of Lake Mendota and we were able to view the capitol lit up at night while we enjoyed a cocktail and dessert in the Governor's Club lounge. So glad we took other reviewer's advice and went for the GC. Our room had been updated with a large tiled shower, the room was big enough to easily fit the king size bed plus 2 club chairs and ottoman. A caution about the parking garage, we were so busy looking for a spot for our SUV that we missed the overhead sign warning of low clearance on the lowest level (C) our car got a nasty luggage rack scrape but we did find a great spot right next to the elevator that was easy to maneuver in and out of. Overall, fantastic - the complimentary breakfast was good, once again in the GC lounge offering the bird's eye view of the Capitol. We'll be back!

Room Tip: 14th floor with view of lake is great - don't have to close the drapes, Capitol side rooms may h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I could not say enough great things to say about the Governor's Club at the Concourse! Perfect way to spend an evening in a great town in the middle of a cold winter! Madison is a fun town, and it added to it, to return to a great, comfortable room, great service, and a great view from the Governor's Club lounge area! Thank you!

Room Tip: Governor's Club!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feather34007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a Friday & Saturday just this past weekend.

First, the pros. 1) Location, location, location. If you have the need to attend some downtown event or want to go to the numerous bars and restaurants on or near State Street, then this is a great place to stay. 2) The staff was great and eager to help out. 3) The pool and hot tub were a decent size and clean.

The cons: 1) The parking ramp below the hotel is terrible on so many levels (no pun intended). I drive a Honda Pilot (SUV) and have a standard car rack on top. My vehicle was almost too tall to fit under the ceiling in many spots. They hang PVC pipe from the ceiling so you know if you have a chance to hit the ceiling and my roof rack scraped the pipe. Luckily I didn't hit the cement ceiling. Also, the ramp isn't wide and it's hard to maneuver between the pillars. So if it's hard for one vehicle to drive around the pillars then it's impossible for two cars to do it at the same time. 2) This is an old hotel and the sound-proofing is nonexistent. Even eight floors up I could easily hear all of the street noice. Even worse was the noise in the hallway. There were obviously some people on my floor who had a good time on State Street and were loud making their way to the room, but I could clearly hear any conversation that took place within 30 feet of the room door.

So, if you are heading downtown and 1) want to walk to wherever you're going, 2) are a heavy sleeper, and 3) drive a sedan or willing to park in another parking ramp then this is a great place to stay. If you drive anything bigger than a small SUV and don't like to hear people throughout the night then I'd look elsewhere. Either way, Madison is awesome so enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Definitely stay away from the elevator and the ice machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjhawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We just got back from a trip to Myrtle Beach and were very pleased that the last leg of our trip ended with a stay at the Concourse Hotel. We've been there before, due to UW Hospital and Clinic visits, so we knew to expect a clean, updated, quiet room. We were not disappointed in the least. It was our favorite hotel on our 10 day trip. The pool is nice, the staff are very helpful at directions around the capitol and at suggesting different restaurants, shopping etc..depending on what you are looking for. We love the easy check out. We love the parking in the lower ramps for handicap accessability. There is a nice breakfast available on site, but there is a charge, but it's more upscale dining than most hotels we've stayed at. We love it there..first choice of ours when booking a room in Madison.

Chris L.

Room Tip: Request a view of the capitol if at all possible. At night it's spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I spent two comfortable nights in Madison, WI at the Concourse Madison. The Governors Club is the place to be. Complimentary drinks, appetizers, and dessert in a fun, friendly atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Just had one issue one night with the wifi internet speed, but this was resolved. The hotel is centrally located to the business district and to State St. Many good restaurants are within walking distance or a just a very short cab ride away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBikeMechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed overnight twice for business. Very nice location right off of the capital. Parking included for extra $10. Difficult to get to the first time, not hotel's fault, streets circle around capital and some are one way.
Rooms clean, spacious.
Breakfast was good, not included in stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda1234567890123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 63 in Madison
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $151 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing