We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Topeka, Kansas
2 reviews
“Graduation 2013”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Once again, I had the pleasure of staying for several days at the Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club for my son's graduation from the University of Wisconsin. My stay was as wonderful and relaxing as always. As you can imagine the weekend brought hundreds of people into Madison and the hotel was very busy. However, checkin was a breeze, service was excellent and the staff was professional and helpful. Because I travel to 5 states for work, I have several reward point opportunities but remain a loyal Concourse guest. Thank you for making my weekend more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    307
    81
    21
    11
See reviews for
215
374
63
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Besides being VERY conveniently located to everything Madison has to offer, the MCH and Governor's Club offered superb service and extremely comfortable, clean rooms with the added bonus of a wonderful cleaning/service/desk staff. EVERYONE deserves a kudos for being helpful, friendly and spot on task. Our stay of 2 nights was most enjoyable and if we are ever back in Madison, we will certainly be returning to the MCH and GC! The Governor's Club Lounge was well worth it, also! Cheers!

Room Tip: The Governor's Club rooms are super quiet and comfortable. Great room temperature and views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very impressed with all the hotel is attempting with being environmentally friendly. It's a difficult task in the hotel business, I think and they are taking all efforts seriously.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
299 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were in Madison for a couple days on business. Our room was on the 4th floor, large, corner view (but not of the capitol building). Comfortable room, includes a couple chairs and a small fridge (microwave available on the third floor, in a game room area). I really liked this hotel, mostly because it was different (not a chain). Pool was beautiful, with locker rooms and plenty of seating. Staff were all very helpful and friendly, free wifi. Lots of great restaurants nearby, and just a few blocks to the University. I would love to come and stay again.

Room Tip: Better views on top floors, a few rooms on the 3rd floor open up onto the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swl781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We recently stayed in the hotel for UW's graduation weekend. I believe every room in the hotel was booked (make your reservations early!). There was a problem upon check-in, as we'd been given rooms that were not on the Governor's Club floors as requested. While the manager (I believe his name was Haseen) could not accommodate us, he gave us free breakfasts and drinks (which would be available on the Governor's Club floors).

Later we expected that we could get a taxi to the airport instantly, if the hotel's many shuttles were not available. We had just missed a shuttle, but it would have taken an hour to get a taxi (the side-effects of graduation weekend), and our plane was scheduled to depart in an hour and a quarter. The assistant manager (I believe his name was Christopher) drove us to the airport in plenty of time for our flight.

While I was disappointed that the rooms requested were not available, I was impressed enough by the staff's response that this is definitely the hotel we will stay at whenever we return to Madison.

Aside from excellent service, it is also excellently located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sometime_Traveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at the Madison Concourse hotel for two nights and really loved it! The best part of the room was the comfortable soft bed! Had the best sleep ever on it, and this is during jet lag, so it says a lot! I also used the gym which is located on the third floor - small, but the treadmill and elliptical were decent and I wouldn't have needed much more anyway. Staff were nice and polite, and I would highly recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: Third floor - gym, pool and sauna located on this floor!
See more room tips
Green Features: Decent - they'll only change towels if you leave them on the floor, so you have the option of affecting the environmental impact of your stay.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a great experiance with my stay at this hotel! It's beautiful, spacious and the spa and pool are perfect and very well maintained! The Restaurant is grand and has a great breakfast buffet.
The staff is very friendly and always helpful with any of your needs.

Room Tip: 8th floor rooms were very well taken care of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here in April and May and and a great time in both instances. Came for business, but there is plenty to do for pleasure: State Street shops and restaurants, walking around the captiol, lake menona terrace. Price was very reasonable and my 14th floor hotel room had a fabulous view of the captiol. Bed was extremely comfortable.

Had a delicous meal in the restaurant. Staff was extremely friendly, accomodating, and helpful; they provided maps and suggestions for things to do. I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: stayed on the 14th floor and loved it: very quiet, great view of the capitol.
See more room tips
Green Features: The linen changing policy is very sensible. Won't change the sheets everyday unless you request it. This saves on water. Great idea.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szq16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Property: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing