We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, wonderful service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nekoosa, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel, wonderful service!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We came to Madison to see "Jersey Boys" at the Overture Center. We made reservations at the Concourse, as I had given my son and daughter in law a stay there for their honeymoon, and they raved about it. They were right! First of all, it is so close to the Overture Center, we didn't even have to take our car out of the parking garage!
We wanted to go to the Old- Fashioned for dinner, and I called down to the front desk and asked if we needed reservations. I believe it was Randy that called the Old Fashioned and found out we didn't need reservations if we came right away. How nice is that?
When we checked out,I didn't use a credit card, as I don't care to use them if I don't have to. The young woman at the desk was so friendly, and said that was fine. Some places might give you a hard time about that, but she was really nice about it! I signed up for their rewards program, as I will definitely return!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of Lake Monona. It was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pocketmama56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    317
    82
    21
    12
See reviews for
221
384
64
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

We recently enjoyed our second stay here and I have to say both times were great experiences. Both times we have gotten rooms on the Governor's Club level and feel the extra cost is money well spent. When you choose a room at this level it allows you access to the Governor's Club Lounge. This lounge is a cozy little place to enjoy snacks, desserts and cocktails all included with the price of your stay. Here you can also enjoy views of our state's capital and one of Madison's lakes. The Concourse is perfectly located downtown. So close to many unique shops, restaurants and bars you might have difficulty fitting it all in.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

It was my first time staying at the Concourse and I really enjoyed my stay. They had shuttle service to/from the airport as well as to/from Epic. I'm looking forward to staying at the Concourse in January again. I also enjoyed The Governor's Club and my jacuzzi suite.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnmdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel has it all: perfect location, excellent amenities, helpful and knowledgeable staff, and wonderful service. The Governor's Club was an even better addition to my excellent impression: private elevator, free continental breakfast, free drinks in the evenings, and other requests and perks to help with my stay. Tons of shopping and restaurants are nearby, and it's a few blocks to walk north or south to either Lake Menona or Lake Mondonta and take in all of the gorgeous views.

Room Tip: Governor's Club rooms gives you access to a private elevator, free continental breakfasts, and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel for years and especially love the Governor's Club. The staff was very welcoming from the time we checked in and continued on when we felt at home in the lounge. The rooms are beautiful and we loved the view of the capitol. We love the location downtown and enjoy walking through campus and state street. We look forward to our next visit getting away.................not so far from home!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is right in Madison. It has comfortable beds, and is very clean. The elevators are busy, and we had to wait quite a bit for them. We went for a wedding, and if you stay in the Govenor Suites, you have private elevators and have to escort any guests to your room. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Parking is available under hotel. The restaurant in the hotel had good food. The reception was in a hotel banquet area, and was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the Concourse Hotel for one night, and the experience was excellent. The shuttle from the airport was prompt and the driver was very friendly. Check-in was quick and informative, and I was in my 10th floor room an hour after landing at the airport. The room (a King with a small sitting area) was spacious and clean. The bathroom had a large shower with excellent water pressure (though it had no bathtub). I ordered dinner from the room service menu and it arrived hot, quickly, and was very good. The bed was extremely comfortable and check-out was as smooth as check-in!

The best part of the Concourse is the location. You are literally steps away from the Capitol and State Street shopping.

Room Tip: Some travelers reported views of the lake- mine faced the city, so make sure to ask if you want a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BagMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
714 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Property: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing