We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, friendly concierge...city was amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, friendly concierge...city was amazing”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Here for work.... Fell in love ith the city... This hotel is so centrally located and willing to take you anywhere via shuttle....

Room Tip: Breakfast buffet gets boring.... Renovations are amazing. Proximity to everything in downtown Madiso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    312
    81
    21
    11
See reviews for
217
379
63
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Concourse is right in the heart of the most vibrant part of Madison, just a couple of blocks from State Street. I liked that we could walk to eat, to attend a show at the Overture Center, to shop, but then we could walk back to our hotel for some quiet. The pool is nothing fancy, but it was nice for our ten year old, and the pool area does include a nice large hot tub. The hotel also had a gym and a restaurant. The buffet brunch was good; I would recommend walking up to one of the numerous restaurants on State Street for a better, more interesting dinner. We enjoyed taking advantage of the bar and cocktail lounge/breakfast area in the Governor's Area. Finally, one of the best things about the hotel is the customer service--they really want you to have a great stay and do everything in their power to ensure that you do so!

Room Tip: If you stay in the "Governor's" floor, you have access to a bar and buffet breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and I had a great time.

Pros:
1. Governor's Club room - it is well worth the money. The rooms are clean and spacious. Located on the top three floors of The Madison Concourse Hotel, the 100 room Governor’s Club executive level offers the premier rooms in Madison, Wisconsin. The guest rooms feature 42” plasma TVs, spacious bathrooms with glass walk-in showers and compact refrigerators. Enjoy complimentary breakfast, top-shelf cocktails, hors d’oeuvres and desserts in the private lounge, overlooking the State Capitol and sapphire lakes.
2. The breakfast was great. (Danish, bagels, cereal, scrambled eggs, French toast, croissants, tea, coffee, milk and juice. No meats.
3. The open bar was great. I think it is only for members who have rooms on the 11, 12 and 14th floor (Governor's club). The bar served appetizers during the day and dessert at night. Also you get an open bar. Pretty much every drink was available accept LIT and they didn't serve shot.
4. The gym was small but it had enough equipment for a good workout.
5. Business center, indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna.
6. Location was awesome. Right near the state capitol and allot of really good restaurants nearby.
-Try out Bangdun - Indonesian restaurant nearby.
7. Free shuttle to/from the airport.


Cons:
1. The key card was not working all the time. I had to keep reinserting the card to get it to work.
2. The TV remote wasn't working properly. No big deal.
3. No meats at breakfast.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take the Governor's club room(top 3 floors) well worth the money. I suggest the 11th or 14th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nil23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2012

My two week stay at The Concourse was one of the best hotel experiences I have had. My room was comfortable, clean, and spacious and the staff was very accommodating, and pleasant. During my stay, I had the chance to see and experience many things in and around the hotel. This hotel has a GREAT location; it is within a couple of blocks of the Capital and State St., and the dining in and around the hotel is fantastic with MANY options. I will definitely be staying staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel recently. Was in town for business; easy access to parking. Was nice that parking was included when staying overnight. Very clean, great beds and pillows. Excellent foot at the restaurant. Friendly and helpful front desk and restaurant staff. Meeting room was great - wonderful snacks and drinks served. Room service on time and food was hot!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjsmith0485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I recently stayed at the Concourse Hotel. Lovely hotel, stayed there many times. This trip I had a few issues, which I discussed with the manager. AMAZING response. Took care of every issue. Not just lip service, actually worked to make my stay perfect.
Their customer service is TOP NOTCH - couple that with the fact that it is located in an awesome area, and you have a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at the Madison Concourse Hotel because it has a fabulous location just a block from State Street. When we arrived, we learned we had been upgraded to a Governor's Club (remodeled) room for free. Can't complain about that or the friendly staff! Our room was modern, with a great view of the Capitol and a comfy bed.

My only note would be that if you're looking for a romantic getaway or want privacy, make sure your room doesn't have an adjoining door. The doors don't do much to muffle noise.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsRubyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slabella, Director of Guest Engagement at Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay in The Governor's Club. Thank you for your feedback about the noise that might carry over between the adjoining doors. After extensive trouble shooting we have found a solution. We are in the process of adding removable insulation between the doors. This insulation works wonders. I expect that the project will be complete in the very near future. Thank you again for the feedback. Please do not hesitate to let me know if there is ever anything I can do to assist you.
Best wishes,
Stephanie LaBella, Director of Guest Engagement (slabella@concoursehotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 63 in Madison
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Property: Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing