We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience, but good response”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Madison South
Ranked #14 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Poor experience, but good response”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We called to make reservations for two rooms at this Super 8 near the hospital my dad was to have surgery early the next day. The person on duty gave us the hospital rate which we much appreciated. When we arrived the rooms were very cold and it took around 3 hours to warm them up. The manager offered us different rooms, but it was late and would have taken a long time to heat them up. She did give us extra blankets on request. Also, there seemed to be no medium setting-it was either cold or hot-causing my dad to get up several times in the night to try to adjust. My dad didn't sleep much and had to be up by 3:30am to shower and to be off to the hospital. The tub drain plug would not stay up so it took two people-one to hold the plug up and one to shower.
I later emailed the manager who responded quickly by phone with an offer of a full refund. He was glad to know of the problems so his maintenance dept. could fix them.
Though not very happy with our stay, I think we would give them another chance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8-MadisonSouth, General Manager at Super 8 Madison South, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. My maintenance staff has since fixed the problems with your tub drain and room heater. I am happy to hear that you would consider staying with us again and we look forward to the opportunity to provide a better experience the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    247
    97
    17
    13
See reviews for
236
107
61
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Close to everything. Staff were very friendly and professional. The manager Josh knows how to run his hotel.Will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8-MadisonSouth, General Manager at Super 8 Madison South, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you from all of us here at the Super 8 - Madison South for your staying with us and for taking the time to share your review based on your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time spent with us and that you intend to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodman
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Fifth time there. Twice for personal and three times for work. Clean, quiet, comfortable. Pleasant and helpful staff. Good continental breakfast. Will stay again if in area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8-MadisonSouth, General Manager at Super 8 Madison South, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. We appreciate your business, as well as your comments. We look forward to continuing to be your preferred lodging provider when traveling through Madison, WI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
8.7 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
4.7 mi away
Best Western West Towne Suites
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Madison South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Madison South

Property: Super 8 Madison South
Address: 1602 W Beltline Hwy, I-90 Exit 142A, Madison, WI 53713-2330
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Madison
#13 Business Hotel in Madison
#15 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Madison South 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor pool & whirpool, business center w/high speed internet open 24 hours, free wireless high speed internet, fitness center open 24 hours, free SuperStart Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Madison South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Madison South Hotel Madison
Super Eight Madison
Madison Super Eight
Madison Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing