We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun IN Madison” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Madison
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Fun IN Madison”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

we walked to the capital from the hotel had fun at the farmer market ,but got cold and wet from the rain, I called up the hotel and they sent shuttle to pick us up, the driver Brett was great, and suggested thing we could see around town. and were to eat. I always like the fluffy bedding at the Sheraton"s hotels nicer than any other hotels.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank joyce g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! I'm so happy to hear that you were able to utilize our shuttle service and that Brett was able to give you some good recomendations for your next stay in Madison. We hope to see you again in the near furture!

Warm regards,

Lisa Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    278
    153
    64
    29
See reviews for
179
170
55
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was here for a conference, and really appreciated the Bcycle rental bike kiosk outside the hotel. Madison is a great city for bicycling. I was able to ride a beautiful path along the lake to the Monona Terrace for my conference, which gave me some exercise and saved me the cost of a taxi or rental car. In the late afternoons, I also rode to the University campus and the arboretum. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and the restaurant and bar were fine for a hotel. The conference rate I was given was a real bargain compared to other hotels in the city center.

Room Tip: The hotel is located just off a busy parkway, so rooms on the side opposite the entrance are probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oregon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review! I am thrilled to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and that you were able to utilize our Bcycle Station. I hope that your next visit with us will be for leisure so that you are able to experience some more of the amenities that our hotel has to offer!

Kind regards,

Lisa Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Got a room with an incredibly low price from price line. Had to check in after 12 o'clock and the hotel arranged it well after a call. Very spacious room with two queen beds, very comfortable. Gonna stay there again if visiting Madison.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! I am delighted to hear that we were able to acomodate your early check in and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Lisa Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice hotel with an excellent staff. The pool could use some cleaning. The room service is fast and delicious but pricey. A shuttle is available to take you to and from the hotel to downtown Madison. The rooms are clean but the pillows are a bit too hard for my liking. The bathrooms are nice but not very spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for a refrigerator in the room if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shotzie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for such a great review! I am delighted that you were able to utilize some of the amenities that our hotel has to offer. Also I am equally delighted to hear that our customer service went above your expectations. I hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lisa Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
210 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were in Madison for a football game weekend. This hotel was convenient to both the airport and the stadium. A shuttle was offered by the hotel to the game, which was a nice option. Parking at this hotel is crazy. There are spots to parallel park in front or there is a parking lot on one side of the building. It was very crowded when we were there so spots were hard to find. The printer in the business center was not working, so the front desk staff lifted a computer monitor and keyboard up on their counter for me to use to print boarding passes. Rooms were small but adequate. The hotel was fine for the purpose of our visit but I wouldn't choose this hotel for a romantic get-a-way or for a relaxing evening. We requested a king room but arrived very late and all that was available was two queens. The mattresses needed to be flipped or changed out because there was a definite depression spot on the side by the phone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesportsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you were able to utilize our shuttle and that our customer service was memorable for you. I apologize that your room did not met your expectations, we will be sure to reference your feedback during our next renovation. We hope that you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Lisa Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We chose the Sheraton firstly because of its proximity to the Hilton Monona Terrace (as we were in Madison to attend a wedding being held there) and secondly because we are 'Starwood Preferred' members. Whilst the room and facilities were clean and served the purpose (although the lack of a room safe was incredibly inconvenient), we were thoroughly disappointed with certain members of staff, in particular front reception and, moreso, the manager, whom we considered to be unprofessional, disinterested, indifferent, rude, ignorant and completely oblivious to the concept of customer service. We were particularly frustrated by the inability of certain members of staff to understand basic questions/queries and management's reluctance to take ownership of a situation which had clearly arisen as a result of its own incompetence and lack of foresight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I would like to apologize on behalf of the Sheraton Hotel that we need not meet your expectations with our customer service. This is not the standards that our staff hold ourselves to highly too. I can assure you that your comments will be addressed t the correct departments. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Madison that you will stay with us again and we will show you what true customer service is.

Kind regards,

Lisa Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Sheraton is a brand one can depend on internationally. It offers consistent service and a pretty much consistent product within the USA and globally. I say this with some authority because my husband and I have relied on the Sheraton brand during our international travels since 2000 and we have never been disappointed by the brand itself...except perhaps in the style and age of the hotel (well, some Sheratons are older and more staid than their classier, swankier versions).

The Sheraton Madison is one such staid and boring version. It serves its purpose and meets all your basic needs, but leaves one a tad disappointed...like going to a nice party, and coming away philosophizing on the humdrum nature of all our lives..."we are but pawns in the arena of the Gods" and all that. You feel like a worker bee, and not the star (as some extraordinary Sheratons would have their guests feel).

Let me start off with the plusses:
1. Good location - bang on Lake Monona, in the heart of Madison. Yet - all rooms (even those on the 7th floor) offer NO VIEW of the lake. One only sees a dense canopy of some wild tree growth, that's all. One could well be sitting in Arizona, looking over miles of scrub.
2. Service - excellent. Every single Sheraton representative was helpful, kind, warm, polite.
3. Business center and lounge - small, but well designed in a modern style antithetical to the rest of the hotel.
4. Atmosphere - quiet, busy, cheerful.

Now here are the low points:
1. The rooms are small - even by Sheraton standards.
2. The bathroom is functional with all the usual trappings but small nevertheless.
3. There is a sliver of a window to illuminate the room.
4. Boring old TV.
5. Boring striped wallpaper.
6. Boring breakfast.
7. Boring happy hour at the 7th floor club lounge (yes, there are only 7 floors).
8. Boring view, boring, boring, boring...yawn.
9. The wastebaskets have no plastic bag lining to catch runny waste (soda or gravy, for example).
10. There are not enough tea, sugar, and creamer sachets in the rooms.
11. There is neither an iron nor an ironing board.
12. There was no mini fridge.

I would have thought this Sheraton would have upped its luster due to being located in Madison, the state capitol, where numerous functions would no doubt be held, with dignitaries and luminaries gracing white tie events...yet the hotel is an 80's relic, with some facelifts and botox.

This Sheraton did surprise us one night - we awoke to the fire alarm at around 230am - "The indoor fire alarm has been activated. Please use the emergency exits to leave the building." It was a kind of an adventure for our kids. We saw cats, dogs, and a fish being carried out by their families. Everyone was in their pyjamas (in various states of undress), flip flops, some in high heels (!). One woman had even lugged out her suitcase! So it was all very exciting in a way. Someone had played a prank btw - pulling the alarm when there was no fire in reality.

Would I stay here again? Well, like I said, it's dependable, like all Sheratons, and functional. So...as a parent, my answer would be "yes".

Room Tip: Really, you have no choice - all rooms offer the same old boring view...either of the main road or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amina_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am pleased to hear that our customer service went above your expectations. I would also like to apologize that our guest rooms did not meet your expectations. We will take your comments into consideration during our next remodel. We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lisa Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.3 mi away
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
6.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#15 of 61 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Madison Hotel

Property: Sheraton Madison Hotel
Address: 706 John Nolen Drive, Madison, WI 53713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Madison
#25 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a feeling of welcome unlike any other at the Sheraton Madison Hotel. Our 239 attractive guest rooms give you everything you need for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Madison
Madison Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing