We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in madison”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Ranked #24 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Excellent place to stay in madison”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Staff and service levels were beyond my expectations. I found before my travels that the President of the United States recently stayed in this hotel. Good enough for me ! I hope the leader of the free world was treated as well as I was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregory v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTeam, Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
It is great to hear that we exceeded your expectations of the Sheraton! We truly enjoyed having the President of the United States stay here just as much as all of our guests. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful, we take great pride in the hospitable staff we have working here and I am glad that you experienced that.

Best Wishes,

Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    288
    157
    66
    30
See reviews for
185
172
56
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

I ended up booking this because the Hilton was full. I am really pleased with the hotel in all facets really. I'm travelling on business, so dont need much. The restaurant is open all day. Food is decent for a couple days stay. Not too many options if you're here for a long time. The service was great as well.

The front desk was friendly and had me checked in quickly. They accomadated me with a late checkout to 2pm. AND they have a free shuttle that will take you anywhere. I had to wait a little bit a couple times, but it's free, so overall a nice bonus.

Rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Clinton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTeam, Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful response! We really try to impress all of our guests and it sounds like we achieved that with you. It is great that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle! And I am pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your request for a late check-out. I hope you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daejeon, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I recently completed an overnight stay at the Sheraton Madison. Checking-in, the staff was efficient, if not particularly warm. The room with two double beds was average in size but nevertheless well-maintained. Even though the room was located right by the elevators, there was no considerable noise from the hallway. Checking out, the staff was again efficient but not overly friendly.

The hotel has its advantages with its free Wi-Fi and free (and plentiful) parking, but could use improvement in its soft product and presentation to become a standout choice in the Madison area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTeam, Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that our hotel generally exceeded your expectations. I’m happy that you appreciated our parking situation; our generous amount of complementary parking is a well-recognized perk of staying at the Sheraton Madison. I will definitely pass along your input on improving the soft product and presentation of our hotel. We recently renovated the lobby and media areas of the hotel, and we are always looking for ideas for other renovations throughout the hotel. Thank you again, and I hope you stay with us again next time you visit Madison.

Best wishes,

Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

From the moment the FREE shuttle picked us up at the airport to the minute we left the hotel, we had such a great experience at this hotel. Few things to highlight: 1) The shuttle drivers were so pleasant and friendly and it was awesome to not have to take cabs all night. In fact, one night we called for the shuttle but the driver was sick, so the Sheraton called us a cab and PAID for it. What hotel does that??? 2) Extremely clean 3) The club level breakfast is nice but the evening apps are just ok. The free water, soda and coffee around the clock is a nice perk 4) Beds are very comfortable. There was only one negative about the hotel...The shower head is really low, so if you are over 5"10" you will have to duck down to wash your hair, which was not fun at all. Other than that, HIGHLY recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The club level was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tg1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTeam, Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thanks for the great review and recommendation! I am happy that we were able to exceed your expectations of our hotel. It is great that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle and the perks of the SPG club lounge. Thanks for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We look forward to exceeding your expectations again soon.

Best Wishes,

Katie Johnson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This Sheraton sits about a mile or so outside of downtown Madison. Its easy access to Lake Monona. I took a run along the shore. I found the rooms very well appointed and comfortable. Had everything I needed, included free wireless. Lobby is nicely arranged for getting some work done. Restaurant in hotel has friendly service. I only ate breakfast there but the food came quickly and was good. In hotel bar was small but cozy with good service. Has all the local brews. Seems like lots of other biz people there, like myself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarefootAbbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTeam, Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
What a wonderful review! I am happy to hear that the Sheraton was the perfect place for you while you were in Madison for business! We take great pride in the hospitable staff we have working here, I am glad that you enjoyed their company. It is great that you had a relaxing comfortable experience with us and we look forward to showing you another great one next time you are in town!

Sincerely,

Katie Johnson
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here about eight times over the past three years, and we've almost always been happy with our choice. The staff is very friendly and accommodating; the rooms are very clean; the location is convenient to downtown Madison via car or bike. It's awesome to have free wifi, although I could see why some people have difficulty with it. Any dissatisfaction I have is relatively trivial... There used to be an issue with the keycards, but I am happy to report that the new keycard readers work perfectly. There are usually kids stampeding around the pool and hot tub area, which is pretty par for the course, but I wish a little bit more attention could be paid to the hazardous puddles that tend to accumulate everywhere. I don't love the quality of the restaurant or the club lounge breakfast offerings, but I think they are probably pretty standard for a Sheraton, so no real complaints there. As SPG Gold members we were supposed to be offered an upgrade at check-in, if it was available, but nobody at the front desk knew what we were talking about when we asked. I can't speak to the retail cost of the rooms, but the SPG points value is very good. Overall, after staying here regularly over the course of several years, I think it is a very decent choice if you need a hotel in the Madison area; it's a good representative of the Sheraton brand; and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Go for the club level if you have the option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathilde S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonTeam, Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I appreciate your recommendation to our hotel and am pleased that we are your hotel of choice while staying in Madison. I am sincerely sorry that you were not offered an upgrade during your last stay with us. I will be sure our Front desk is offering the upgrades when available for our Gold and Platinum SPG members. Overall I am happy that you continue to choose the Sheraton while you are in Madison and I know we will continue to exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,

Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Booked this trip on Hotwire and paid under 70.00 for the room. I guess this means that you get the noisy room with a view of the heating/cooling systems on the 2nd floor room for this rate. Beds looked nice, but knew were were in for a rough night when my 6 year old said the bed was hard. She was right. Bedding was nice, but the mattress was way too firm. Also sheets kept coming lose from the bottom of the bed. Doors slam loudly into hallway and were a bit distracting. Had to call the office about a dog barking in the room across the hall around 9. Dog woke us up after 11 and one other time during the night. Cooling system in the room was very loud and had to keep the fan on all night because the sound of the air kicking in woke the kids up. Ordered room service, kids were very happy with their meal (pizza and chicken fingers). The only table in the room where the kids ate had a very loose table top which would not allow for any drinks to sit on it as it was not stable enough. I ordered the ww pasta which was awful (pasta had been cooked and sat out long enough to become crunchy and then was swimming in flavorless oil). Looks like the hotel has seen better days despite on the surface looking as though they have done some updates. Staff were polite, but would never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingIowaMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I want to apologize that we failed to meet your expectations of our hotel. It is clear that you did not experience the true Sheraton standards that we intend all of our guests to have. Please know that we treat all of our guests equally and do not have any designated rooms for any guests. We take great pride in our hotel and the many amenities that we offer. I will be sure our Chief Engineer is aware of the table that was in your room to ensure it is fixed and sturdy for all future guests in house. We do have security on at night to help monitor for any noise or complaints, I apologize that we failed to do this with the dog barking at night. We will take all of our comments and use them as a learning opportunity, our Chief Engineer is looking at how we can improve the slamming of the guest room doors to decrease noise in the hallway and we are making sure there is a manager that walks the halls at night to eliminate any noise.

I will pass on your specific comments regarding the food to our Executive Chef, this is certainly not the feedback we want with our food or hotel and therefore we are working to improve all necessary areas of the hotel to ensure complete satisfaction from all of our guests. I hope you consider staying with us again in the future, I know we will exceed your expectations and show you the true Sheraton standards we hold ourselves so high to. Please feel free to contact me directly if your travels bring you back to Madison.

Sincerely,

Brian Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.4 mi away
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Madison Hotel

Property: Sheraton Madison Hotel
Address: 706 John Nolen Dr, Madison, WI 53713-1422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Madison
#25 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a feeling of welcome unlike any other at the Sheraton Madison Hotel. Our 239 attractive guest rooms give you everything you need for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Madison
Madison Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing