We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (913)
Filter reviews
913 results
Traveler rating
321
299
174
82
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
299
174
82
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungefront deskstarbucks coffeeshuttle servicealliant energy centerclose to downtownhotel barshower headbusiness trippool and hot tubfitness centerking bedjosephinelobbyjoshlakeconference
Filter
Updating list...
650 - 655 of 913 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Sheraton Madison is a well maintained with clean spacious rooms. Staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean. The hotel does a very nice job of taking care of guests who are in Madison for Epic training. If that is what you are looking for, this hotel is Great.

If however you want internet that works - don't bother. If you are a Prefered Member who would expect that the club lounge would be nice-- again don't bother. I have stayed at this hotel 3 times over the last 3 months and so have many of my coworkers and they have yet taken seriously the complaints given by us that the internet service works well if at all. After making complaint about the club floor, they guest service manage says that the executive chef is working on it. It's been several weeks and nothing has changed.

Room Tip: Not recommened for preferred guests who expect Starwood standards.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us while you were in town for Epic training. I do want to apologize however for the inconvenience with the internet. We have been in the process of looking into how we can improve this for our guests and have added several more access points around the hotel to increase the bandwidth. We appreciate your comments and are working at improving our internet for the convenience of our guests. I know you have spoken to our General Manager and he is directly working with our Director of Operations as well as our Executive Chef to ensure that our Club Lounge offering is up to the high standards that we set for ourselves. We are looking forward to your return in September!

Regards,

Katie Johnson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I like traveling to Madison, and this hotel is convenient to get to via highway 12 coming from Chicago. I might stay here again, but part of the fun of Madison is being able to walk around the campus, State Street, and downtown, and this location is a bit removed from that scene. This time, my meeting in Madison was at the Monona Terrace convention center, and I thought this hotel would be closer to downtown since it and the convention center both have a John Nolen Drive address, but they are in fact on almost opposite sides of the lake. It is a short drive, and there is a walking/bike trail around the lake, but it would have been at least a 45 minute walk. There are bike rentals available from the hotel to downtown.

The hotel itself was clean, quiet, had lots of parking, and a good value with my conference's block rate, and I got bumped to the 7th floor where the club room is, so the elevator required the room key to get up to 7 even though I was not using the club room. The room had no fridge or microwave, so there were a few spare electrical outlets.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are located a convenient 2.5 miles from downtown Madison and have a great bike path out front with our Madison B-Cycle bike station to rent bikes out front as well. I hope it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience to get to the Monona Terrace for your meeting. Next time you are visiting please feel free to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle. I hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Katie Johnson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

On the bike path that leads to downtown, convenient to highways, reasonable cost, in a small city that offers a lot, staff is accommodating -- convenience is a big factor in this hotel, which is nothing special design-wise but is an above average chain hotel. It's clean, comfortable and should work for tourists, families, and business people alike. One of the city's many rent-a-bike stands is in the parking lot so if you like to ride be sure to bring your bike helmet. (A side note -- while there are many serious bike riders who wear helmets and know the rules of the road, there are lots of bike riders who clearly think they're immortal so when you're driving be aware. I'm a bike rider so it was disheartening to see that in an unusually bike friendly town there are so many careless riders). If you have a few days and are thinking about where to go Madison would be a good choice and so would the Sheraton. One thing -- if you're driving in on Route 18/12 westbound and exit at John Nolen Drive, it is tough to see the Sheraton logo from the road and there is some kind of Institute building slightly in front of the Sheraton so you might miss it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wotanleroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

You are right; Madison is a wonderful city and very bike friendly. We have a convenient location close to downtown and right on a bike path with Lake Monona in our backyard. Our Madison B-Cycle station out front is a huge attraction for our guests as well! I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us and hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Madison.

Sincerely,

Katie Johnson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My daughter reserved a block of rooms for her wedding. We found the hotel clean with nice decor and staff very friendly and helpful during our stay. I thought the location was great. It's close to downtown and near the lake and park with easy freeway access. We rented a car but the available shuttle was helpful to several of our wedding guests. The lounge and restaurant were accomodating to our large family group. We would definitely stay ther again when in Madison.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

I am pleased to hear that your daughter’s wedding went well and that you and all of your guests not only enjoyed Madison but the Sheraton as well. It is wonderful to hear that our shuttle was a great convenience to you and your guests as well. Congratulations to your daughter on her marriage, we are happy that we could be a part of the special day!

Sincerely,

Katie Johnson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Background: We are Americans who pursue an active lifestyle, like to mix sightseeing with business trips, appreciate functional and clean lodging with easy-in and easy-out access. We avoid grand hotels and approach chains with care.

Pros: Comfortable with excellent staff and complimentary shuttle access.

Cons: No in-room safe; slow elevators with especially odd access to the 8th floor (must push down bottom on the ground floor to go up); balky toilet

Location: Near Lake Monona but not near downtown. Excellent complimentary shuttle service to airport and downtown.

Room detail (#801):

Theme - standard business
Size - adequate
Cleanliness - good
Bed & linens - contemporary; good quality
Drawers - adequate number (3) and size
Bathroom - good shower pressure, plentiful good towels, single sink in the bathroom, excellent counter space including large space outside bathroom, very good toiletries, hair dryer present (didn't use)
Closet - adequate size with lots of hangers
Mirrors - three total , all large and good quality
Lighting - adequate; a bit dim by the bed
HVAC - good but noisy air conditioners
Noise - nothing from street or hallway; AC was noisy.
In room safe - none; very odd not to have this
Refrigerator/microwave - none
TV - flat screen; good channel selection
Electrical outlets - plentiful

Operations:
Staff - excellent and responsive; good problem solvers
Wi-Fi - good in the room and common areas
Mobile coverage - good throughout the facility (Verizon)
Common areas - clean and functional
Breakfast - included if on the 7th or 8th floor; Spartan but good
Pool - didn't use
Parking - no problem
Grounds - nothing special

Room Tip: Room 801 worked well for us.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trogons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie J, Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed response with us. I am pleased to hear that we met your expectations. We have a wonderful location close to Lake Monona and a convenient walking path to downtown Madison; we also have a complimentary shuttle available which is great that you were able to use it. We take great pride in the hospitable staff we have working here; it is wonderful that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful during your stay. Thanks again for your comments; I hope to see you the next time you are in Madison.

Sincerely,

Katie Johnson
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews