We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIG fail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Madison Hotel
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BIG fail”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I booked my room on Priceline. Perhaps this hotel reserves some "budget" rooms for people who book through discount sites, because my room was a dive, which is totally out of keeping with the 3 1/2 star rating and most people's reviews. My tub sprayed rusted metal shavings into the tub water; the toilet had black grease streaks down the back of it (picture attached), the ceiling texturing was peeling off in strips, the sheets had yellow stains, the coffee maker was broken, and the kicker for me was NO HAIR DRYER. These problems were all noticed late as we were readying for bed and we did not want to change rooms. I did report the issues in the morning when we checked out, and although the staff was apologetic, they did not offer a solution.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwenakinyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMadison, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate honest comments that enable us to continually strive for guest satisfaction. We do provide a hair dryer in every room, I apologize that you did not receive one. We will be reviewing your comments in detail to ensure what you experienced does not happen again. We value your feedback and I hope that we have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Sincerely,

Jason Havey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    285
    156
    66
    30
See reviews for
182
172
56
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed here for one night for a conference at the university. While I was pleasantly surprised by the updated lobby and public spaces (their website even touts the updated hallways?), I can not say my room reflected the same care. The showerhead was below my head (& I'm only 5'8") and the hot water was touch-and-go. The drain was very slow and the toilet barely worked - the morning I left, it stopped flushing at all - I had to open the tank and pull it by hand! The walls were also paper thin - I could hear word-for-word conversations going on in the room across the hall! In short, stay at the Clarion if you need to be at the Alliant Energy Center; stay closer to town if you need to be downtown. If they upgrade the rooms to match the public spaces, this could be a nice hotel, but at the moment, it is WAY overrated - 3 1/2 star lobby; 2 1/2 star rooms!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malloyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMadison, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
I am truly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations of our hotel. We are taking another look at our rooms to ensure any problems that can be prevented are addressed promptly. We are also looking into refreshing any dated areas. It is never good when a guest is faced with an unpleasant situation especially in their rooms. I hope the next time you are in Madison you will give us the chance to show you the true Sheraton standards we hold ourselves to.

Best Wishes,

Jason Havey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a hotel with a reasonable location. It is not the best location as it is not within walking distance to State Street and downtown, but it is a very short drive.
Typical large hotel, nice lobby but no concierge. Good pool, but rooms are outdated, peeling wallpaper, relatively thin walls that let too much noise get through. If you get a good deal, it is worth it, but certainly not full price, as is the case for most Sheraton hotels.

Room Tip: Take higher level floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMadison, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your specific comments regarding the condition of the rooms are very helpful and will be addressed right away. I hope to see you next time you are in Madison.

Sincerely,

Jason Havey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for five nights at the Sheraton Madison to attend the world Clydesdale show at the Alliant energy Centre. The location was excellent just across the road from the show. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. Madison is a beautifull city with a town like feel , very relaxed and laid back and loads of cycling paths with beautifull scenery and amazing views over the lake. The farmers market on a Saturday is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Stay on the club level to get access to the VIP lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donegalmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMadison, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in Madison with us. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time at the hotel as well as the hospitable staff we have working here. You truly experienced the true Sheraton standards we hold ourselves to.

Hope to see you next year for the Clydesdale show!

Take care,

Jason Havey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed on the Club Floor and the breakfast was better than expected. Our room was large and clean, the bed was very comfortable, and I especially appreciated the large counter space in the bathroom.
We happened to be at this hotel during their busiest week (World Dairy) so the front staff were understandably overrun.
Pool area was quiet and we enjoyed the hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMadison, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
I am so glad to hear that you had a very relaxing and comfortable stay here. It is great that you were able to take advantage of the VIP club lounge. I hope to see you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Havey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stay at a lot of SPG Hotels and this one was just OK. My room kind of had the after smell of smoke and it was on the club floor.

The club floor lounge, again, was just OK... Nothing spectacular. But, the staff at the hotel was really friendly.

The city isn't in walking distance, but a very short drive or the hotel has a free shuttle if you plan on drinking some adult beverages.

All in all... Just ok.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysSomewhereNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMadison, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Our goal with all of our guests is to exceed their expectations, I want to apologize that this was not the case for you. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback , we are a 100% smoke free facility so I do apologize that your room did smell like smoke, this will be addressed and fixed for all future guests. I am happy to hear that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful and I hope we have the pleasure of having you as a guest again so we can exceed your expectations next time around.

Best wishes,

Jason Havey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, NY
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Got a Priceline special on a recent business trip for this property in Madison. Very comfortable room, nice bed, nice TV, good service, easy parking, free internet.

Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickTraveler29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonMadison, General Manager at Sheraton Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thanks for your positive comments, I’m glad that you found your room to be so comfortable and that you were able to relax in our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Beds. It sounds like your business trip went well and I hope to see you the next time you are in Madison.

Sincerely,

Jason Havey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.4 mi away
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
686 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
1.8 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Madison Hotel

Property: Sheraton Madison Hotel
Address: 706 John Nolen Dr, Madison, WI 53713-1422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Madison
#25 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Madison Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a feeling of welcome unlike any other at the Sheraton Madison Hotel. Our 239 attractive guest rooms give you everything you need for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Madison
Madison Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing