We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Madison
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2005

This is your average three star inn, with the added benefit of free internet access in all rooms. There isn't anything special or interesting about the place, but it serves its function. Its clean, located on the West Side of Madison (so quite far from campus and downtown). It is right by the highway, but I didn't hear any noise at all. The staff seemed friendly. Its not a place to stay for excitement - or anything other than convenience - but if you get a cheap rate from priceline, its ok.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel Madison
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 549 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Lindstrom, Minnesota
1240
Reviewed September 23, 2005

This has to be the worst Radisson I have yet to stay at. I travel for work and have stayed in many of Radisson's in the past and I have never been so disappointed. First, the directions to the hotel from the website were awful. They took us through the local farm communities, country roads and then got us completely lost. When I called for directions the front desk person was less then helpful. He basically told me to stop by a gas station and get help. When I finally made it to the hotel, I got no sympathy at all from the front desk people, no welcome with a smilling face, no We are so sorry you had such a hard time finding us. NOTHING! Then, although I paid in advance and had checked in over the internet (something new for me) they had no record of my reservation. Again, no apologies. I even mentioned that my husband wanted to stay at the Hotel 6 up the road and I have convinced them that the Radisson would be much nicer. (I did get a pretty good rate of $79 if paid in advance.) Our room was OK. Nothing to write home about. Average/Hotel 6 like at best. THEN, the nightly road construction started and everytime the big roller started moving our room started to shake. I thought our lamp on the desk was going to fall to the floor. The next morning I actually had to go to the front desk to check out. When was the last time anyone had to do this? YIKES! (The front desk crew in the morning were much nicer and did apologize for all the trouble.) Radisson Madison, you need to update your hotel to the quality Radisson is known for. You are Motel 6 Quality in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMadison, Management at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. This review is several years old and we can honestly say we are now fully upgraded to the standards of a wonderful 3 star Radisson. I hope you have been back to our hotel or do come by and see the changes. And I would like to say, as late as this is; please accept our sincere apologies for your frustration in finding our hotel. The Radisson websites are now using the NEWEST map technology, “bing” so these problems should not occur any longer. – Best regards, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2005

This hotel really made us feel important!! We booked directly through their website.

When we arrived they did not have any King sized beds and so they upgraded us to a 2 room suite!!! This suite had 2 tvs, a jacuzzi, a separate bathroom and a sleep number bed!! The living room had a pull out sofa bed, business desk and a dining room table along with the tv. The room was very clean and well kept. You just have to stay here and ask to be upgraded to a suite. I am sure the other rooms were clean and acceptable too. The pool is huge and they have a hot tub.

The location of the hotel is very convenient to a huge mall and dennys and other restaurants.

Book on their website if you wish to be upgraded!! I have used priceline for other hotels and have never be upgraded so this was worth the extra few dollars.
It was a wonderful stay!!

The staff were so friendly and kind.


TechMom

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Techmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2005

Overall this is a very nice hotel. The beds are very comfortable (although they are not sleep number beds like many other Radisson's have), the rooms are comfortable and have nice decor, and staff is very helpful and friendly.
The only problem we encountered was with the hotel's organization. We bought a New Year's Eve package. The room I had selected was a 2 Room Suite with a whirlpool. I found out when I got there the girl who booked my room put me a two room suite, but no whirlpool. Ofcourse by that time both of the whirlpool suites had been booked. The girl at the front desk was very apologetic and offered to take half off my stay and free tickets to the New Years Day Brunch. She even offered to call the Hampton Inn to see if they had whirlpool suites available.
Then we were supposed to make reservations for the dinner portion of our package at their restaurant, Basie's. We were told they were available every half hour until 10:00pm. We chose 9:30PM. We get there only to find out the last seating was at 8:30 PM. The woman was still very nice and seated us anyway. Then, they had a limited menu for the New Year's Eve Dinner, and not a lot on there appealed to us. We asked about the Prime Rib and they were out of Prime Rib. They did end up letting us substitute our side dishes that came with the Cornish Game Hen we ordered, to try to pull together something we would like. Their cheesecake was not very good, FYI to all cheesecake lovers. After all of this it is going to be the hotel's attitude toward the guest when mishaps like this happen. I felt the Staff went above and beyond to try and correct their co-worker's mistakes. So in the end, I would definately come back here.

3  Thank ErinB_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadissonMadison, Management at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. This review is several years old by now, but we wanted to point out to tripadvisor readers now, that along with all the other upgrades we have done to the hotel, EVERY ROOM HAS SLEEP NUMBER BEDS beds but 14, for those who don’t like them. Thank you for your kind feedback on our staff. We look forward to your return stay! – Best regards, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
Thank Catherinedu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zifra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooow1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western West Towne Suites
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Madison

Address: 517 Grand Canyon Dr, Madison, WI 53719-1032 (Formerly Radisson Inn Madison)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: $100 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the Fastest WiFi in Madison, the Radisson Hotel Madison offers both rocket fast air fiber at 30Mbps, and also an encrypted network for business travelers- all complimentary. Please visit our award-winning Twist Bar and Grill and enjoy locally sourced Wisconsin fare. Relax in our contemporary lobby, log on to our platinum level free wifi network throughout the property, enjoy the contemporary guestrooms with 37" flatscreens, refrigerators, & complimentary breakfast buffet in TWIST. Get here worry free in our complimentary airport shuttle 7am-11pm. The Radisson is a smoke-free, pet-free, Green Hotel, that also boasts an indoor pool, fitness room with PreCor equipment, and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Madison
Madison Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing