We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Far, Far Away! Took 45 minutes to check in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Madison
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We tried to check in at 4 pm. I guess that it was a shift change. A group came in and 45 minutes later, we were checked in. They only put 2 staff behind the desk. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was very good. They are renovating for the next year. Stay far, far away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_good_night_sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark b, Director of Sales at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We offer our sincere apologies for the lack of proper service you received and the length of time it took for you to check in. We know the value of a positive first impression, and this is not how we operate our hotel. Please contact me at mbrown@radmad.com so that I may offer you a complimentary return visit to stay with us again for a positive guest experience. Thank you again for staying with us, Mark Brown Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel Madison
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 549 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked this hotel through Priceline, so overall, the stay was okay for the price that we paid.

First, this "hotel" resembles a motel more than it does a hotel. This "hotel" does not meet the brand standards of a Radisson-branded property. It seems more like a Best Western. This hotel is a two-story building, and everything about it resembles a motel.

Second, the pool is tiny at the hotel, and it seemed a little dirty.

Third, the back parking lot reeked of the potent smell of urine. Perhaps this was so because of someone's drunken accident on a Friday night?

Fourth, the room was outdated and somewhat in need of a renovation.

The strengths of the property are that the room seemed quite clean, and the property offers free breakfast to all of its guests. The free breakfast did include a decent amount of hot food, including scrambled eggs and breakfast potatoes, bacon, sausage, and waffles, etc.

Additionally, the bed was decently comfortable, and the room had a flat-screen television.

Finally, the staff was quite friendly and very quick with the check-in and check-out processes.

Room Tip: The rooms are all decorated in the interior design style of the mid-1990s. The rooms are dated, and...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My sister & I had a month long stay at the Radisson. Our mother was in a terrible motorcycle accident (a young man blew a stop sign & did not attempt to stop). We were at Aurora hospital in Green Bay for a week then came to Madison for 3. The front desk at the hospital recommended the Radisson & I'm do glad they did. We knew we were going to stay a while & were being financially savy, so we requested a fridge & microwave. By the time we returned from the hospital it was set up in our room! One weekend we had family arrive to visit our mom & we needed an extra bed fairly quickly, again within a very short period of time we had a cot delivered & set up in our room. The hotel staff are all outstanding, answering any questions, recommending places to go, activities to do. My sister has two little ones & they stayed with us for a week. Staff offered so many ideas for us to keep them entertained (free zoo, park, bubbles, etc). The shuttle service was also very helpful. The hotel is under renovation, but the construction crew was very polite. They worked at appropriate hours & were cautious with guests in the hallways. I'm excited to see what it looks like when it is complete. My sister & I stayed here for 3 weeks, the hotel staff made the stay a very welcoming one. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salena0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark b, Director of Sales at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for being our guest. We take great pride in our level of guest service and we are very happy that we could assist you in such a difficult time period. Our renovation is progressing nicely and we certainly appreciate your patience during our transition time frame. Thank you again and our Radisson team sends our best to your family. Thanks for staying with us, please come back to see us if you are in Madison again. Mark Brown Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Pro: Sleep Number bed

Con: Staffs' irresposible attitude to guests. Bath tub clogged. HDTV with only SDTV subscription. Pool filled with splashing.

My wife and I had two back-to-back 1-night reservations because we are gathering points independently. As we were curious if we needed to check out and check in after the 1st night, we asked the front desk at time of initial check-in. He seemed to take note of it and told us we didn't need to act but just to stay in the same room. While sleeping around the following noon with the privacy sign outside , we were disturbed three times: First, a housekeeping guy visiting and asking if we didn't check out. This woke us up. Second, the same guy called the room to ask my wife's name under which the 2nd revervation was made. Third, a front desk lady asking us to walk down to the frond desk to swipe a credit card. WTH!!!

If we anyway had to walk to the front desk, the guy we talked to at the front desk when checking-in should have told so. Then I could take care of it before or after the breakfast. It could have been much better than being disturbed carelessly three times in various ways.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joon I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark b, Director of Sales at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

I wanted to thank you for taking time from your day to relay comments on your recent stay at our Radisson Hotel Madison, Wi. The issues and problems you mentioned are not in any way how we want a guest experience to be. I will be using your comments at our staff meeting next week so we may address each problem and develop action steps that will result in a proper guest stay. Please contact me at mbrown@radmad.com as I would very much like to speak with you and offer a complimentary stay so we may provide a guest experience that demonstrates our true guest service. Thank you again for staying with us. Mark Brown Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our visit to the Radisson hotel in Madison, WI was far from comfortable. We arrived pretty late in the evening but we notified the hotel in advance and had no problems checking in. However, we first encountered trouble when we tried to get into the building of our room, which was at another entrance. The room key scanner to open the door was broken but we finally got inside by another guest who happened to be going out. Once we got in the hallway of our room, we noticed there was a terrible odor throughout the hotel and the carpet was very dirty. We finally got inside our room and discovered it was a king room, not a double like we had reserved. We returned to the front desk and were told they had a “computer glitch” that caused this problem. Although they were completely out of any double rooms, the staff was kind enough to give us a king suite with a pullout couch bed for no additional charge. The room seemed no different than our original room other than it was a little larger. As for the beds, the pullout couch was extremely uncomfortable and very dirty. The couch had stains and should’ve been replaced a long time ago. The sleep number bed, which was the reason we chose this hotel, was broken since the remote kept telling us “error”. The bed also kept making a clicking noise any time someone would move while on it, but we were able to unplug the whole thing to make it stop. After an almost sleepless night, we did have a wonderful free continental breakfast the next morning down at their restaurant.

The hotel is currently renovating some of the rooms and hopefully some of these problems won’t happen to others in the future.

Room Tip: Don't get rooms near entrance C... that is the hallway that smells and has stains in the carpet...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonb95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last Friday. We tried Priceline and got this hotel, We were not expecting much more than a warm shower and comfortable bed for the one night that we were staying there. When we got to the hotel the nice gentleman at the desk wasn't sure if he could get us a king bed but then the manager, Shannon, came over and upgraded us to an executive suite with a jacuzzi. We were ecstatic! She didn't even know that was our anniversary when she did that for us. They also didn't know that we just spent the last seven nights in a tent and needed a little TLC. The free continental breakfast included hot items and we were able to dine in the restaurant. The pool looked great, but we hung out in our jacuzzi suite. The hotel is under a multimillion dollar renovation but I couldn't hear any construction and everything in the hotel was neat and orderly. It didn't seem like the hotel needed improving. We have stayed at our share of hotels through the years and I have to say that the staff was kind, the room was spacious and clean, and the location was superb. Thank you Shannon and the Radisson Hotel Madison! We will make an effort to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirstytraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is at decent location but a little old. We were happy with the amenity (free breakfast, swimming pool). It is clean and stuffs are friendly. There are multiple entrances and limited elevator so make sure you check in first before unloading.


There is a China buffet right across street.

Room Tip: Long walk from elevator so pick 1st floor room if you don't want to carry heavy luggage up stair...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ordleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at The Radisson Hotel Madison Wi. We are in the initial stages of a multi million dollar renovation and understand the importance of a quality hotel experience in all aspects of your stay. We thank you for your comments on the friendliness of our staff as we take great pride in the commitment to customer service our team demonstrates. Thank you again for choosing Radisson and staying with us. Mark Brown Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western West Towne Suites
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Madison

Address: 517 Grand Canyon Dr, Madison, WI 53719-1032 (Formerly Radisson Inn Madison)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: $100 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the Fastest WiFi in Madison, the Radisson Hotel Madison offers both rocket fast air fiber at 30Mbps, and also an encrypted network for business travelers- all complimentary. Please visit our award-winning Twist Bar and Grill and enjoy locally sourced Wisconsin fare. Relax in our contemporary lobby, log on to our platinum level free wifi network throughout the property, enjoy the contemporary guestrooms with 37" flatscreens, refrigerators, & complimentary breakfast buffet in TWIST. Get here worry free in our complimentary airport shuttle 7am-11pm. The Radisson is a smoke-free, pet-free, Green Hotel, that also boasts an indoor pool, fitness room with PreCor equipment, and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Madison
Madison Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing