We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Madison
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Bad experience”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Front desk lady volunteered to book my taxi to airport. Flight was very early in the morning.She totally forgot even after reminding her 3 times the previos day. Early in the morning, there was no taxi available as everyone was busy and luckily we were able to find one just in time. It took almost 45 minutes to find a taxi. We were just in the nick of time in the airport.
Wireless is unpredictable, however the wired connection was good.
Maintenance staff are very good. Came late in the night to fix the Power outlets when i requested for it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Madhu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadManager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and I appreciate your feedback. We take our guest transportation needs seriously, and I truly apologize for the lack of follow thru in regard to scheduling your early morning taxi. I am pleased to announce that we just installed a brand new wireless and hard-wired internet network, because we realize how important this is to our travelers. With a custom-built router integrated into a PC to manage our internet traffic, combined with the fastest internet speeds available in Madison, we are proud of our new and improved internet service! It's obvious we were not performing to our usual standards, and it's from feedback like yours that allows us to continue improving our services and amenities. Please contact me directly when your travels bring you back to Madison so that I may personally take care of your accommodation needs!

Brendan Eichsteadt
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    152
    68
    40
    23
See reviews for
160
105
32
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Our room was clean, the front desk staff was friendly, and we had the best time visiting with Paul, the bartender at the hotel bar!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLuxConst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadManager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about Paul, our bartender, cleanliness of the room, and our friendly front desk staff. Your candid comments are appreciated and I will share your feedback with our entire staff!
Brendan Eichsteadt
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I have stayed here as part of a Radisson promotion during.

Pros:
- Conveniently located to shopping and other commercial sites
- Jacuzzi and the pool is nice and enjoyable as long as it is not too crowded
- Reception desk services was great and very helpful.
- Bathroom was clean but, not very modern/updated

Cons:
- The "sleep number bed". I was told this is an air mattress but if you 2 kids are sleeping in one bed then they really feel as a trampoline. One person moves the other feel it in a heartbeat.
- Breakfast. Maybe my expectations were too high during the christmas week, but it was very lackluster. I can't complain because I got a great deal, but can you say holiday in express?
- Toilet seat was probably made for an elementary school and they used the surplus for this hotel. I mean seriously have you looked at the size of this thing LOL?

Hopefully the above summary can be helpful, but overall it is a very average hotel somewhere between a Holyday in Express and a Courtyard.

Room Tip: Don't go with the sleep number bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ucipass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadManager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel. I like the way you summarized your overall experience from your recent visit with us. We have many opportunities to improve the overall condition and appearance of our hotel, in addition to our breakfast selection. I am pleased to tell you that we will begin our hotel-wide renovation this Spring, and will resolve all of your complaints about the rooms, sleep number beds, and bathrooms. (We will be like a "brand new" hotel by the Fall!) We just introduced a new restaurant menu for Basie's Restaurant & Lounge and expanded the complimentary breakfast buffet! I hope you come back often to see our progress and improvements!
Brendan Eichsteadt
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Stayed NewsYears Eve. From Check in to Check out everything was wonderful. Shannon at the Front desk was friendly and helpful with directions and tips. Room was clean and we loved the sleep number bed. Bathroom was small but the shower had amazing pressure. Bar was nice to have on site as we can just park the car and walk. Many places within walking distance. Heard they are going to remodel, this will make this place even better. We will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auctioneerDePere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadManager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback about your experience over New Year's! We are privileged to have been a part of your New Year's experience, and I hope you remember us next year when you celebrate!
Brendan Eichsteadt
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Had a great time at the Radisson. The Hotel was very clean and all of the staff was very friendly through out our whole stay. We all had fun at the pool and the restaurant had some amazing food. Not to menation that the hotel was close West Towne.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HouseWife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadManager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about the pool, and our restaurant. I am sure our staff will appreciate your candid comments when I share this with everyone! Thank you again for staying with us, and please let me know if there is anything we can do when you come back to Madison to visit!
Brendan Eichsteadt
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Had to book a hotel at the last minute and the lowest price I could find on-line for a double room was $107, so we bid on Priceline and got it for $85. Didn't spend time in the hotel except in the room which was clean and was better than fine. (For me, "less than fine" is the type of place where I don't want to take my shoes off in the room.) The outside of the hotel isn't very appealing, but the room was much nicer than the outside of the hotel. Didn't have the breakfast or use the pool, so can't comment on that. Good value for the Priceline price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelgalCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadManager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your visit to Wisconsin's Capital City! I hope when you come back you can experience more of the amenities and services we have to offer!
Brendan Eichsteadt
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2011

When we first arrived at this property we were initially disappointed. It appeared that the hotel may have been taken over by Radisson from another chain. The exterior was dark, sparse and unappealing. However, upon entering the location was very pleasant, upbeat and apparently recently updated. The breakfast buffet (complimentary) was good and located in one of their restaurants rather than a separate room containing the buffet. Overall, this property was a good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stampedefollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RadManager, Front Office Manager at Radisson Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Thank you for your recent response about your visit to our Radisson Hotel in Wisconsin's Capital City! I value your business and comments. It was our pleasure to accommodate you during your visit, and I will be sure to share your kind remarks with our entire staff!
Sincerely,
Brendan Eichsteadt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.2 mi away
Best Western West Towne Suites
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Madison

Property: Radisson Hotel Madison
Address: 517 Grand Canyon Dr, Madison, WI 53719-1032 (Formerly Radisson Inn Madison)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the Fastest WiFi in Madison, the Radisson Hotel Madison offers both rocket fast air fiber at 30Mbps, and also an encrypted network for business travelers- all complimentary. Please visit our award-winning Twist Bar and Grill and enjoy locally sourced Wisconsin fare. Relax in our contemporary lobby, log on to our platinum level free wifi network throughout the property, enjoy the contemporary guestrooms with 37" flatscreens, refrigerators, & complimentary breakfast buffet in TWIST. Get here worry free in our complimentary airport shuttle 7am-11pm. The Radisson is a smoke-free, pet-free, Green Hotel, that also boasts an indoor pool, fitness room with PreCor equipment, and 24-hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Madison
Madison Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing