We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A+”
Reviewed June 30, 2006

Visiting the Doubletree in Madison is a reminder that the most precious commodity that an hotel can offer is the luxury of excellent service and special touches. The hotel is well located and has all comfortable amenities. What makes it extraordinary is the wonderful service, the easy free parking (tokens get you in and out), the toiletries, the gifts for kids and yes the chocolate chip cookies!
Will absolutely come back.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Solange72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    232
    51
    17
    8
See reviews for
281
163
70
444
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2006

Great location, nice rooms, good staff. No complaints from me. No free breakfast.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 24, 2006

What a great place to stay for a UW-Badger game! One of my girlfriends and I stayed here recently and loved it!!! Just a few steps to the Kohl Center and a super short walk to the Capitol & State Street. HOtel was clean, offered a good shower, and the service was EXTREMELY friendly. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2006

I like the newly remodled hotel so much I hesitate to share...
The pillow top beds are wonderful. We usually like to upgrade to a suite or superior room, but here the normal rooms were above average. It's all about the comfortable bed. Spent a bit more than other places in town, but the good night's rest was worth it. It is certainly a good value.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backgammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2005

I stayed here for five days while attending a conference at Monona Terrace Conference Center. The room was very clean and spacious. Due to a recent remodel, everything was in great condition. The bed was very comfortable! The hotel does offer in town shuttle service, but you need to schedule in advance. Hotel was somewhat far from conference center, but very close to UW and State St.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2005

This is now a Doubletree property and was recently renovated in April 05. As such, is very clean and has new carpeting, bedding, bath fixtures, etc. Good service by attentive, polite staff. Easy to use free wi-fi. Decent location few blocks walk up to State Street and campus. Cant speak about hotel bar/restaurant as I didnt use it. If they had one of those grab and go continental spreads available in the morning like some other chains, then this would be rated excellent and a no-brainer choice for business and campus visitors alike.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmackq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2004

I stayed here in the summer last year (2003). Like a fool, I came into town during Maxwell St. days and didn't make a reservation anywhere. There was also some kind of convention so evereything was full and what was open was outrageously expensive. I called up the Howard Johnson and they cut me a deal on the room - under a hundred bucks. Maybe it was because the street was torn up outside and all the one-way roads around it made it almost impossible to get to if you don't know where your going. But the room was very nice, above motel quality, clean, nice carpet, nice furniture. The bed was hard and I didn't sleep, but I haven't found a hotel I can sleep in yet, and one mans rock is another's piece of gold. There was some loud frat party stuff going on in the neighborhood across the street since it was in walking distance to the University, but on the same token it was walking distance to downtown, which was very nice during the chaos from the festivities. But that's pretty much the kind of thing to expect from the center of town, put up with all-night frat parties or sit in the grueling traffic of road construction nightmares. Its your choice.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
703 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing