We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Great Hotel with excellent service and large clean rooms. The restaurant is a great place to be before sporting events at the Kohl Center which is one block away. They really exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedelfino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    233
    51
    17
    8
See reviews for
284
163
72
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2009

This past weekend was our third stay at this hotel in the last year, and it will be our first choice for all subsequent visits to Madison. The location can't be beat! Whether visiting the UW campus, shopping State St., or hitting Farmer's Market, the Doubletree is within easy walking distance.

The staff was very accomodating and friendly; we especially loved the free shuttle. We were stranded with no umbrellas at a restaurant in a major downpour and were rescued by a very friendly shuttle driver after a quick phone call to the hotel requesting a ride.

Perks that will keep us coming back: convenient parking, clean rooms, great bed linens and very comfortable beds, chocolate chip cookie!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LN26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

As everyone else has said, this is a great hotel to stay at if you're traveling to Madison for business or a conference. They have a free shuttle service to pick you up and drop you back off at the airport; they also will pick you up if you're downtown somewhere and need a lift back to the hotel. The warm chocolate chip cookie they give you at check in is awesome. Ditto the wonderful staff- I had forgotten toothpaste and when I called and asked for some, they brought up a tube in about a minute flat. They also have Neutrogena line products, including facial cleanser and special face moisturizer w/45 spf-haven't seen that anywhere else. Definitely worth staying at when in Madison.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeiyaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

I am a firm believer in the "you-get-what-you-pay-for" philosophy. Madison's Doubletree is the perfect hotel for travelers willing to pay for comfort and good service. Not that is is terribly expensive: It is reasonable for what you get. And you get quite a lot.

The rooms are clean and well appointed. I always get a room with a refrigerator so I can bring fresh fruit and vegetables to augment meals out or in the room. The beds are comfortable. There is an onsite restaurant and pool pus an ATM in the lobby. I like having USA Today delivered under my door and the free Internet hookup is reliable (although I had a few problems with e-mail this time).

A few tips: Ask for a room facing the state capital. The view is better and it is quieter. Take advantage of the breakfast buffet. Order the cheese sandwich stuffed with red peppers.

(Paramount to your enjoyment is the attitude of the staff. They really care about customer service here. Staff - from the front desk to housekeeping to room service - is friendly. Room service is prompt and presentation is good.)

On my last visit I got a room behind the elevators. I figured someone had to get the room and it was my turn. It was only mildly disturbing, and I just made up my mind that I was not going to let it bother me, and thus it did not. Maybe it's because the beds are so comfortable.

The only thing I can think of that might have made my stay easier was a heat lamp in the bathroom and a fluffy robe. But in these tough times, I can forgo those luxuries, as long as I can find the value I consistently find at the Madison Doubletree

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiJWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
743 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Great stay. Clean hotel, nice rooms. And the location is great. Would suggest it to anyone coming to Madison. And they picked me up at the airport. There is no need for a car if you are visiting the University if you stay here. A great way to save a little money while staying at a clean nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I made three trips to Madison in the month of April, and I stayed at the Doubletree all three times (five nights total over the three visits).

It's a solid hotel -- clean, well-maintained, good service, restaurant on premises -- in the perfect location, walking distance to campus.

Do the breakfast package if available. On two of the three trips, it cost the same as the regular room rate, and the buffet breakfast, while nothing spectacular, was solid with good choices (healthy ones, too). If you pay for the breakfast yourself at the normal price (I think $11.99), it's a bit overpriced, and there are no eating places within two or three blocks of the hotel, so the breakfast package is worth it.

The free wireless Internet worked great. It was a great amenity.

The staff was professional and courteous. On all three visits, my special request (feather-free room) was taken care of before my arrival. And all my questions were answered. I was allowed to check out an hour late both times I asked (although the second time, the front desk clerk didn't seem happy about it).

The only minor downside: It is a college town, so on two of the nights, there was noise in the hallway late at night (girls talking loudly/yelling, mostly). But it was not an all-night thing, just sporadic incidents.

This is my go-to place to stay in Madison.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NY_Guy_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Great hotel. Very helpful staff, large clean rooms, fast internet, and location location location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaEagleSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing