We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Warm and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
“Warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Very nice staff who are warm and friendly. Courtney at the front desk was efficient and welcoming to a traveller from the other side of the globe who had just spent more than 30 hours in the air. Although the airport shuttle was not available, she was apologetic and made a great service recovery with the offer of a complimentary breakfast. Breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Vincent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Vincent, Thank You for your feedback and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling for business. We can't imagine how you felt after a 30 hour flight and we are very pleased to hear that our staff made you feel so welcomed. Thank You for your review and safe travels home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    197
    42
    17
    7
See reviews for
214
134
64
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

My granddaughter and I stayed here while attending Grandparents University at UW. We had a very nice room which was very clean. The front desk personnel were sweet and helpful. And the warm chocolate chip cookies are the bomb!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Aussy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank You for your kind words and for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the city during Grandparents University at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. We keep hearing how wonderful the event was and are happy our award-winning staff and cookies could make your stay even sweeter! Again, Thank You and we hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed in the Doubletree downtown Madison in July for business trip, and feel the comfort and helpfulness of the staff all the time. Every one I met are very caring and good at their responsibility, they always go for extra miles to take care of you. I was very satisfied and would certainly return on my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Zengxin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Wow! Thank You for your fantastic review and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling with us on business. We are pleased to hear that our award-winning staff could be so helpful and responsible while you were staying with us. Thank You for your response and we can't wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
167 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I recently spent two peaceful nights at the Madison Doubletree while visiting the UW Madison campus. We have no complaints- we were treated very well from the time we checked in until we reluctantly checked out. I'm a Hilton Honors Gold member, so the room upgrade and free breakfast were nice perks. The hotel is located on the edge of campus, less than two blocks from the Kohl Center (where hockey and basketball games are played.) We either walked everywhere, or took the free shuttle. Secure parking is free in the attached ramp. State Street is also a short walk away for shopping and restaurants, although there is quite a bit of construction going on around there right now. Our room was clean and quiet, with a view of the Capitol. The beds are very comfortable, and we slept great each night. There's a small fridge/freezer, flat screen tv, coffee maker and microwave in the room. The Badger Bar restaurant on the ground floor was pretty quiet, given the time of the year. Breakfast is starting to be cleared out by 9:45 am, so keep that in mind if you're a late riser. This was our second visit to this hotel in two years, and we have no desire to try a different one in the area. We love it!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MNdawnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Wow! We are absolutely flattered by your fantastic review! Thank You for sharing your experience with us and selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the UW Madison campus. We're so glad you mentioned all of our great amenities and features of our hotel. From our ideal downtown location, to our complimentary shuttle and our award-winning staff, we take pride in ensuring each of our guests' stays are memorable. We're honored that we could make your stay feel like home. Thank You again and Go Badgers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs,CO, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The staff was awesome in every way. Whoever is training and monitoring is doing a great job. Room curtains should shut off all outside sunlight but leave a crack of light where they meet the wall. Air conditioning is super loud.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Patrick, Thank You for your kind words and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling with your family. We appreciate hearing your feedback and agree that our staff is doing a great job at making our property successful! Thank You again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our stay here last weekend was amazing! All of the staff were really nice and very helpful. In one instance I was asking for directions to someplace close and they asked if we would prefer to have the shuttle take us. The hotel was really clean and quiet. My daughter loved the pool and said that it was her favorite part of our visit to Madison. Warm cookies are always an added bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharyld312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling with your family and for your great review. We recommend our complimentary shuttle to anyone staying with us who would love to experience all Madison has to offer! Plus, our bell staff is great at recommending popular restaurants, as well as local attractions to visit. Our famous cookies help make our you're stay the icing on the cake. Thank You again for taking the time share your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The amenities in the deluxe accommodations make this a great hotel stay. Lovely smelling soap, shampoo, and conditioner are provided in the bathroom. Coffee bean coffee with cream and sugar, 2 bags of salty pretzel treats, and 2 bottles of spring water are complimentary in the room. The icing on the cake is the warm cookie upon check-in and mini local "cowpie" or chocolate pecan turtle candy at evening turn down (service). The hotel restaurant even had healthy dining options for a quick meal after a long day. All the staff was friendly and accommodating. This hotel is a great place for business trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Esmeralda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank You for your fantastic review and for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling the area on business. We are pleased that you pointed out the exact pieces of the puzzle that make our hotel the perfect place to stay while in Madison. Great amenities, award-winning staff, and outstanding service truly set us apart from any other property. Thank You again for your suburb review and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#9 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing