We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs,CO, United States
2 reviews
“Good experience”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The staff was awesome in every way. Whoever is training and monitoring is doing a great job. Room curtains should shut off all outside sunlight but leave a crack of light where they meet the wall. Air conditioning is super loud.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Patrick, Thank You for your kind words and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling with your family. We appreciate hearing your feedback and agree that our staff is doing a great job at making our property successful! Thank You again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    220
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
261
151
67
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our stay here last weekend was amazing! All of the staff were really nice and very helpful. In one instance I was asking for directions to someplace close and they asked if we would prefer to have the shuttle take us. The hotel was really clean and quiet. My daughter loved the pool and said that it was her favorite part of our visit to Madison. Warm cookies are always an added bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharyld312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling with your family and for your great review. We recommend our complimentary shuttle to anyone staying with us who would love to experience all Madison has to offer! Plus, our bell staff is great at recommending popular restaurants, as well as local attractions to visit. Our famous cookies help make our you're stay the icing on the cake. Thank You again for taking the time share your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The amenities in the deluxe accommodations make this a great hotel stay. Lovely smelling soap, shampoo, and conditioner are provided in the bathroom. Coffee bean coffee with cream and sugar, 2 bags of salty pretzel treats, and 2 bottles of spring water are complimentary in the room. The icing on the cake is the warm cookie upon check-in and mini local "cowpie" or chocolate pecan turtle candy at evening turn down (service). The hotel restaurant even had healthy dining options for a quick meal after a long day. All the staff was friendly and accommodating. This hotel is a great place for business trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Esmeralda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank You for your fantastic review and for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling the area on business. We are pleased that you pointed out the exact pieces of the puzzle that make our hotel the perfect place to stay while in Madison. Great amenities, award-winning staff, and outstanding service truly set us apart from any other property. Thank You again for your suburb review and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

There was nothing unpleasant about my recent stay at this hotel. The front desk staff was nice enough and the shuttle driver was very accommodating. I also had a yummy warm cookie waiting for me at check-in.

My three-star rating really boils down to some personal preferences.

First, there was no tub in the bathroom. In its place was a shower stall with half a glass door. As a result, water got all over the bathroom floor. I also happen to prefer a hand-held shower to a spout that is only half attached to the wall.

I'm a Hilton Honors member, and I thought that they usually leave a bottle or two of water in your room, but not during this stay.

The A/C unit was unusually loud. I had to continually adjust the volume on the TV so that I could hear it based on whether or not the A/C clicked on.

Finally, the insulation between rooms and the hallway could use some beefing up. I could not hear anything from the parking garage that was practically below my window, but I could hear people whispering in the hallway and someone else using the bathroom in an adjoining room. Not really what you want!

Given other options close by, I don't think I would stay in this particular property again, but it was close to where I needed to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank You for your feedback and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the city. We are very appreciative that you enjoyed our famous cookie, as well as our staff. We understand every guest of our hotel is different and has a variety of preferences. Due to this, we try to accommodate our guests on every possible level. If someone reserved the room on your behalf, we may not have had your Hilton Honors number and preferences on file and it would be needed during the check-in process. Again, we appreciate your feedback and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The staff was superior! Exceptionally clean facility! The location to nearby events and venues is fantastic. Not having elevator access to the pool did not allow one of our handicapped family members to enjoy that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Darlene, Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling the area with your family. Our award-winning staff is superior and they are the key piece to our success! The downtown location is fantastic for anyone wishing to capture the essence of Madison. Our pool is handicap accessible from an outside door and I do apologize that this was not communicated to you. Again, we Thank You for your feedback and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MI, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have stayed at Hilton Double Trees in the past and have enjoyed lodging with them. This trip offered the same pleasant experience. I had read some negative reviews of this hotel from previous travelers but did not experience any of their difficulties during my stay. The room was clean upon arrival and was faultlessly cleaned every day. Loved the shower (personally, did not miss the bathtub at all). Although the hotel is somewhat stark in lighting (bright)/decoration (spartan), this did not detract from an enjoyable travel experience. And oh those cookies!!!!!!! Will return here again in two years when the conference I was attending id offered again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Marc, Wow! Your excellent review is great to hear and we Thank You for staying with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison. Our housekeeping department does a great job everyday to ensure that our rooms are faultlessly cleaned. We have received many positive comments about our showers, including yours! We are glad we could make your hotel experience pleasant and we hope to see you again in a couple of years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The location is very central--close to the capitol and State St. Our room was very quiet also. I brought my bicycle and was just a few blocks from some great biking trails. The hotel is a bit pricey but included breakfast. The breakfast buffet was very good. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Debra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Debra, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison. The city of Madison is known for its great biking trails, and being located so close to the Capitol and State Street makes for a great stay with us. Thank You again for your review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 63 in Madison
656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing