We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel within walking ditance to UW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel within walking ditance to UW”
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We stayed at the hotel one night prior to a Badger football game. The room was clean and check in was quick and easy. The location is close to State St so the car never left the ramp. Great build your own Bloody Mary at restaurant on gameday.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jbsunlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    233
    51
    17
    8
See reviews for
284
163
72
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

I stayed at the Doubletree for business, and I was working odd hours. The staff was surprisingly young across the board, but was extremely accommodating and helpful. Everyone from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the restaurant was pleasant and on their "A game." The Badgeralnd Bar and Grill offered good casual dining and the prices weren't outrageous. The location is within easy walking distance of the restaurants and shops on State Street. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelin'soldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2008

A really great stay close to State Street! We had nothing but pleasant experiences in our stay here last weekend. Thanks to other Tripadvisor reviewers for steering us clear of the other hotels near State. Good wi-fi signal too.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank ChilluminatiFixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

we are in madison for a conference this weekend and were unable to get the business rate at the hilton for all nights, so we decided to book at the doubletree for the first night in town. after reading the generally positive reviews and after a pleasant stay at a double tree in philadelphia, i figured it was a good choice to book at the madison doubletree. things started off nicely upon our arrival at the airport, where a courtesy shuttle picked us up outside of baggage claim. the driver was friendly and a short ride later we arrived at the hotel. my initial impression was not that good. one, the exterior lacks curb appeal and walking into the lobby area i was surprised at how tiny it was. as mentioned by another reviewer the desk is run by teenagers and their neutral attitudes lacked professionalism and warmth that i expect at a hotel or any place that is customer service oriented. the service was not rude, but not friendly either. i really don't ask for much, but i think a smile would be appropriate. the room was decent, but like the rest of the hotel was outdated and unappealing. the hotel recently underwent a $4mill renovation- as i was informed repeatedly during my lengthy phone hold by the front desk- and i was trying to imagine how horrible the hotel must have looked prior to the renovations considering how unattractive it was now. the hotel surprisingly had a bar which was striving for character with its red walls, but the color could not conceal the dive. the pool/hot tub area was also a joke. one positive was that we ran into some nice folks who happened to be lugging a cooler full of beer and they offered some cold beverages to us. strange to have a cooler with you but the gesture was appreciated. in the middle of the night we both woke up thirsty and was surprised that there was no spring water in the vending machines and had to settle with lemon flavored sparkling water. i thought spring water was pretty basic, but the fact that the hotel did not have even that somehow made sense to me. immediately surrounding the hotel were some really rundown homes. i don't know if they are used as housing for the students at the nearby campus. it didn't feel unsafe to walk around, just not a scenic walk to state street, the main hub of activity. the positives of madison doubletree- it is conveniently located to state street and other points of interest and the complimentary shuttle to bring you around town is a big plus. and of course the signature cookie, warm and chewy, was a nice welcome treat. however, i have to say with complete certainty that i would never return to this doubletree and would never recommend this place to anyone i like. i was surprised at the positive reviews. before leaving i realized that i had not taken any photos as i normally like to do to post as part of my trip advisor reviews, but this place is very uninspiring and no need to remember our stay here. fortunately, this morning we checked out and are now staying at the hilton for the rest of our stay in madison. the hilton is more grown up and we are happy to be here. i will be posting a review after we check out this weekend.

  • Liked — complimentary shuttle around town
  • Disliked — just about everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribbeanscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2008

I have business in Madison for the next several months so I was conernced about this Hotel. Most of the reviews were good but there were a couple of bad ones. I wrote to Double Tree and never recieved a response. I've stayed at DT in the past and experienced the teenager problem. When I complained to my wife she said "oh yea, in high school band we always stayed at the DT and it was just like that" So I guess it's the luck of the draw. My luck this trip was no teenagers, helpful friendly staff that greeted me every time I walked by the desk, helped me with restaurant recommendations, called me a cab. I look forward to staying here again next month. If it's bad I'll let you all know.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2008

My wife and I spent the weekend in Madison and had a great experience staying at the Doubletree. The main reason we picked it was the location, close to the capitol and the university. Combine that with their airport shuttle, and getting around town was a breeze.

The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom spotless. We didn't hear any noise from other rooms and slept well both nights.
The staff was very friendly to us. The cookies definitely make a great first impression.

The fitness room is above average with a weight machine, several cardio machines, and a couple adjustable dumbbells. The pool, however is in a bizarre location, as you have to go to the 3rd floor and then down two flights of stairs.

We got a good rate on the room by booking online. The only places that were any cheaper were on the outskirts of town, and we were much happier being in the middle of things. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — the location, the room
  • Disliked — the pool being in such an inaccessible place
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michaelhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Stayed here for one night while attending the NCAA regional hockey tournament at the Kohl Center. In terms of location, this hotel is excellent -- two blocks from the arena and a block from good restaurants and bars.

I didn't stay long enough to utilize many of the on-site facilities, but the staff was friendly and the room was well-equipped and clean.

Overall, a great place to stay if you're in town for business or pleasure at the U of Wisconsin.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kramerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing