We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No shuttle in early am to the airport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, United States
1 review
“No shuttle in early am to the airport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

disappointed no shuttle to the airport for 7am flight. Tons of people have an early flight. This was the main reason I booked this hotel for the price with parking and shuttle to and from the airport. The hotel is very clean and very nice but we didn't get to enjoy any breakfast since we had to leave this early. I wonder what others think about this issue?

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Tracy, Thank You for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for your feedback. Our complimentary shuttle is an awesome value included in the room rate and runs from 7:00 A.M. to 10:30 P.M. We realize that some of our guests do have early morning flights, and during these situations, we are happy to arrange a taxi service in advance. If you would like to further discuss the situation please contact me directly at: 608-251-0986. Again, we appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    219
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
256
149
67
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We came to stay near Meriter Hospital to be with son and daughter-in-law, who was being induced with baby at 33 weeks due to pre-eclampsia. The desk clerk at hotel gave us bottles of water and a tin of cookies to take to the hospital while we waited. She was wonderful. I wish I got her name to write a letter saying what an asset she is to Doubletree. The bed was comfortable and the complimentary shuttle was nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Hello, and Thank You for selecting to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison. We hope that your grandchild was born healthy and all is well! We Thank You for taking the time to write your review and we wish you and your family the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have stayed here a number of times while visiting or dropping off our daughter at the University of WI. It's definitely our hotel of choice - great location, clean, ultra-friendly and accommodating staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Our loyal guest- Thank You for continuing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for your kind review. We agree, we are a great location for any UW event, especially trips to visit your children. With all your frequent stays we hope you are a Hhonors member! If not, feel free to enroll on your next stay with us. Again, Thank You for your fantastic review and we can’t wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonduel,WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here for a Badger game for one night...perfect location for any event at the Kohl Center. Literally walk out the back door and you are there. Great location for any downtown activities. I've stayed here several times and rooms etc. were excellent as always. I felt the need to write the review to just say how pleasant all the employees were. They all went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Just generally makes your stay so much better when all the employees act the way they do at this hotel. Great job - Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brewer_fanBonduel_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
To our loyal guest, Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling with your family. Our location is fantastic for any Badger fan, or those looking to experience all the entertainment, dining, and shopping options on State Street. We are beyond thrilled that our employees could go above and beyond to make your stay much more enjoyable. Thank You for providing us with great feedback to share with our staff and we can’t wait to see you again! Go Badgers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Selected to stay in the hotel a night before our son's graduation at UW Madison, which was right across Kohls Center. It was a snow stormy night and the snow was coming down so fast.
First the parking lot - plenty available. Also, it looks more like a public parking place, as there was no checking or swiping our hotel room card to enter or exit. hmm,...
Second, very clean and spacious rooms. Comfy beds.
The morning buffet is very good - worth including in the room charges. Despite the full occupancy (guess all guests are there for the graduation), we were seated right away and served faster too with coffee & other stuff we ordered.
The best part was, the hotel ran a shuttle service for the guests to go to Kohls center - even though it was right across, we avoided walking in a foot of snow. Very nice of them.

Very nice & friendly guest services.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Congratulations to you and your son on his graduation from the University of Wisconsin, and Thank You for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while attending the ceremony! We are the ideal location for any UW event, especially graduation at the Kohl Center. We are glad you enjoyed a variety of our services. From our complimentary parking, to our spacious guestrooms, and even our free shuttle service, we strive to accommodate our guests’ every need.We appreciate your thorough review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you are a first time guest, be sure you check in before parking in the lot as there is no access to the hotel without a guest key and the sign telling you to do so is not clearly visible if you're not paying attention. The hotel is clean, quiet and the food is very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Sharon, Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling the area on business. We highly recommend checking-in as soon as you arrive for you convenience. We are thrilled you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms, our friendly staff, and our very own Badgerland Bar and Grill. Thank You again for your thoughtful review and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This was our first stay at any DoubleTree and recommend this one highly. The room and beds were super comfortable, and the front-desk service was superb. Great stay for us. We've already booked this hotel for our next trip to Madison later this year.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Jennifer, Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling with your family. We are grateful you enjoyed our guest rooms and our very own Sweet Dreams ® beds. We happen to think they are the best! We are also glad you noticed our award-winning staff. They really do go above and beyond to make sure our guests’ every need is met. Again, Thank You for your fantastic review and we can’t wait to see you again later this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing