We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific, w/free parking and terrific banquet staff and sleeping rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
214 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Terrific, w/free parking and terrific banquet staff and sleeping rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Judy in banquets posted signs to direct people to our meeting and Tom Ziarnik, General Manager, stopped by @ 7 AM to make sure everything was okay. Erwin is the banquet guy and he came at 7:30 AM w/great attitude and offer of hot tea! Erwin was in six times to refresh water without being asked and I love this place – the parking is free (stop at the desk first) – restaurant’s great and the front desk is generous with DT cookies for tired travelers (I was told “No Limit” by Leo (?) when I checked in.

Room Tip: The rooms here are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Wow! Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while hosting your seminar with us. We truly appreciate your fantastic review and will be sure to share it with our staff. We are thrilled you enjoyed our complimentary parking, our very own Badgerland Bar and Grill, and of course our signature DoubleTree cookies. On your next stay feel free to enjoy as many cookies as you would like! Again, Thank You for your kind words and we can’t wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    219
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
256
149
67
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Madison at the Double Tree. The close proximity to the Kohl Center was a real plus and convenient which made our trip that more pleasant. Thanks to all the staff for their hospitality, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Terry, Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while staying in the area. Our location is fantastic! With the Kohl Center literally just steps away, we are the ideal location for any Badger fan. We pride ourselves on having an incredible and award-winning staff to make our travelers feel welcomed in every way. Thank You again for your amazing review and we hope to see you again soon! Go Badgers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This a very clean, modern and well staffed hotel off University Avenue in the UW campus area. Nice restaurant and sports bar off the lobby and complementary parking in an area where it's sometimes difficult to park. Very handle to Kohl Center and other downtown attractions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the area. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our property, including our spacious guest rooms, award-winning staff, and prominent downtown location. With the Kohl Center right in our back yard and over 100 restaurants and stores within walking distance of our hotel, we are the ideal resting spot for any Madison visitor. Next time you stop by our very own Badgerland Bar and Grill, be sure to try our famous cheese curds. Thank You again for your review and we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Double Tree in downtown Madison is a great place to stay. Clean rooms, helpful staff and the best sheets! Free van service to our meeting space, or the walk was fine too. Short walk down to the State Street area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgroeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the area. We are glad that our staff and spacious guests’ rooms could be so accommodating to your needs. Our guests love our free shuttle which travels in a 2-mile radius around our hotel, especially in the cold winter months! With the success of the University of Wisconsin athletics program, we recommend checking out a basketball game, or even a football game on your next stay, as we are an ideal location for all Wisconsin athletic events. Again, Thank You for your feedback and we can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The staff at DoubleTree went the extra mile on New Years Eve to arrange a shuttle and taxi service to and from a wedding. One of the front desk staff members even came in after her shift had ended to ensure that my family and I had a safe ride home from a wedding. The food at the Badgerland was fantastic. As a Wisconsin native, I know a good cheese curd when I taste one, and the cheese curds at the Badgerland were delicious. This hotel is exemplary.

Room Tip: Great view of the capital on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pogues49816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, while making a special trip back to Wisconsin to attend a wedding. We are thrilled that our award-winning staff went the extra mile to make your return trip exemplary. We take pride in being the only downtown location to offer a complimentary shuttle within a 2-mile radius of our hotel. We also agree that our cheese curds at the Badgerland Bar and Grill are fantastic and are a big favorite of our guests. Thank You again for your amazing review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Double Tree Hotel in Madison to attend a Badger Hockey game. The Kohl Center is within walking distance of the hotel. Other restaurants and establishments are within walking distance or short car ride as well. I've stayed at this hotel several times and it's always top quality and the staff is genuinely friendly and professional. I would definately recommend staying at the Double Tree.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Jennifer, Thank You for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us and for being such a loyal guest at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison. Our location is extremely hard to beat! With the Kohl Center right in our backyard and access to over 100 different restaurants and shopping stores within walking distance of our property, we are the ideal location for any Badger fan. We are so glad you recognized the friendly and professional demeanor of our staff, and the award-winning service they provide to our guests. Again, Thank You for your amazing review and we are excited to see you again soon! Go Badgers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is well appointed and comfortable but the staff is superb. We stayed there while visiting relatives over Christmas. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. There was a free on-call van service that allowed us to enjoy the holiday without worrying about the weather or a designated driver. Over all an excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lds87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank You for your amazing review and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while staying with us over the Christmas holiday. Our award-winning staff is incredible and we work hard to ensure that our guests have a wonderful experience on every stay. Our complimentary shuttle is a rare, outstanding service we provide for our guests to take them anywhere within a 2 mile radius of our property. Again, Thank You for your feedback and we were glad we could provide you with an excellent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing