We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doubletree by Hilton - Madison, WI”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Doubletree by Hilton - Madison, WI”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The front desk staff is consistently helpful. The rooms are clean and quiet. Parking is free and available. The location is excellent especially if access to UW Madison is important. Kohl Center is a 4 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with other travelers and for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison while in town. We couldn't be happier to hear that your stay was flawless from check-in to check-out. We agree with you - our location is fantastic, and can’t be beat especially when attending events at the Kohl Center. Thank you again for the kind words, and we hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    233
    51
    17
    8
See reviews for
284
163
72
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I always stay at Double Tree when I come to Madison for a conference. The staff is welcoming, very friendly and helpful with fulfilling your needs. The warm cookie is a nice touch. The room is newly remodeled and lovely decor. Easy walking distance to State Street, the Capital and University shopping. Wonderful nearby ethnic restaurants and a myriad of coffee shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison while traveling on business and for the wonderful review! We are pleased you had such a fantastic stay with us while in town attending a conference. We are glad you enjoyed our award-winning team, our signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie, our spacious and renovated guest rooms, and our fantastic downtown location within walking distance of hundreds of restaurants, bars and entertainment venues. Thank you again for the wonderful review, and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, FL
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The first thing about this hotel is that it badly needs updating. It is very clean but the rooms are old as is the linen (grey towels) and the lobby. It's not in a great area, something you notice on approach, but the good thing about it is that it is within walking distance of all the sights of downtown Madison. The Badger Restaurant was empty on the two occasions I visited. I intended to have a drink with friends but it was just too quiet.
Room has everything you need, mine smelled faintly of damp, but was very clean. It had a fridge & microwave and lovely toiletries. The staff is nice and polite, but they made a mess of my reservation extension & I was checked out a day early & they had no record of my having requested two extra nights. Not very efficient. The Manager was at the front desk when I queried why they messed up but she never intervened when the two young receptionists were trying to verify my reservation. No apology was offered by any member of staff.
All in all, this is an ok hotel but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owiedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison while in town and for sharing your concerns. Our management team appreciates and relies on our guests’ feedback to help us understand the areas which may need our immediate attention. We fully realize that guests who stay at our hotel expect and deserve the very best accommodations and service we have to offer. If you would like to further discuss your experience, please call the hotel directly and ask to speak with the General Manager. We appreciate the time you took out of your busy schedule to share your feedback with us and we can assure you the specific matters you mentioned in your review have been addressed to help ensure these same issues can be avoided in the future. We sincerely hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the near future and let us know if we have successfully improved upon our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Sherwood, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel was an incredible disappointment as I had spent significantly more than normal so that I wouldn't have the experience of less expensive hotels: the room smelled musty and had clearly been wet repeatedly, the AC was very noisy and inconsistent, the counter staff was much less than welcoming, there was no free breakfast AT THAT COST, the hot tub was dirty. About the only positives that I can cite are quick and easy internet access & alot of HBO channels--not the greatest endorsement. Price commensurate with quality--yeah? It is the Midwest afterall.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Trudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. Your feedback is a valuable component in monitoring our success and identifying areas that need improvement. Meeting your expectations is our primary objective and I apologize that we fell short of that goal. We will be discussing your comments with the rest of our team so we can make the appropriate improvements. If you would like to further discuss your experience, please call the hotel directly and ask to speak with the General Manager. It is our hope that you will consider staying at our hotel the next time you are in town so that we may have an opportunity to provide you with the exceptional stay you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Madison, WI is a college town that is not very clean. Most of the streets are littered or under repair. Most of the housing in the city of Madison is in poor to very poor repair, even in and around the university. Madison seems to be a forgotten city, lost in time if not for the revenue the university generates.
I'm attempting to write this review, comparing the hotel to other hotels within Madison. Because on a national scale, the hotel is very, very average. BUT for Madison, this is my review:

Pros:
1. Clean well lit entrance
2. Check in is fast
3. Staff at check-in were informative and courteous
4. Elevators are within a few steps from check-in and they are fast
5. My room was on the 7th (highest) floor, it was an ample size and had a decent view
6. The rooms have decent decor and are clean.
7. A microwave and an empty refrigerator are within the room. The empty refrigerator is typically a con for me because on the executive floor, I'd expect to have a mini-bar. But because of the limited "clean - health inspected" food options in Madison, purchasing your food and placing it in the refrigerator may not be a bad idea.


Cons:
1. Empty refrigerator. Staying on the executive floor, I'd expect to have a minibar with snacks and adult beverages.
2. Parking requires coins, which they provide at the front desk. But if you forget your coins in your room, you will not be able to exit the parking area. There is no credit card or other option to pay, other than using the hotel issued coins. It may become very inconvenient to attempt to back up, go back inside the building, go to the room or the front desk to obtain a coin just to exit parking. It seems there should be other options to exit parking for hotel guests, such as swiping your room card etc.

Madison is one of those college towns, where there is nothing to do if you are over 30 years old and are not a bar-hopper. So, you may find yourself looking at your return flight itinerary, wondering how much longer is it before you can board your flight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twillis600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison while traveling on business and for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we especially appreciated hearing about what was satisfactory to you during your stay. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions for areas of improvement as we will be sure to review your comments with our management team. We are always looking for ways to improve our property, our guest experience and overall guest satisfaction. Again, thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison while in town. We hope you will stay with us again as we would love to hear what you think of our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I hate to beat a dead horse, but this hotel continues to be a great value in a great location. The parking is easy and convenient. The rooms are very nice and clean. The staff is friendly and the free breakfast in the best quality. I stay here every time I go to Madison and I still love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 2mchwrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the amazing review and for your continued loyalty. We greatly appreciate your business, and we truly value you as a loyal guest. It is wonderful to continually hear about your fantastic stay with us, and we’re pleased you enjoy and utilize the complimentary amenities we offer including our shuttle service, parking and hot breakfast buffet (included with Deluxe rooms). We couldn't be happier that you always choose the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison when in town, and we look forward to your next arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our hotel stay overnight at the Hilton Doubletree was wonderful. The staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful. We'll definitely stay again next year for the Grandparents University event at UW-Madison!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We truly appreciate the wonderful review! Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison while attending the Grandparents University event at UW-Madison - we truly loved hosting all the grandparents in town attending this great event. We will definitely share your wonderful feedback with the rest of our team. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience, and we look forward to hosting you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#10 of 63 in Madison
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing