We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Better Than Advertised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better Than Advertised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

From check-in to check-out, interactions with every staff member were warm, courteous, and professional. I was graciously welcomed at the front desk, had a welcome letter upon entering my room, chocolates delivered at turn down, and a "Thank You for Staying" email the next morning. The room was well kept and very clean. My king bed was comfortableand provided a good night's sleep. Internet connectivity was consistently good. Breakfast spread offered plenty of options and was well presented. It's no surprise that this Doubletree consistently is voted one of the best in the country. I hope to find my way back for another stay in the near future.

Room Tip: Although I didn't ask ...... some rooms have a view of the capitol ...... would have been nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HHSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback and for taking the time to share your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers. We also want to thank you for choosing to stay with us while traveling on business to Madison, and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    197
    42
    17
    7
See reviews for
212
134
64
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for three days while in Madison on business. I found the hotel to be very comfortable and the staff to be very accommodating. Used the fitness club and the restaurant for breakfast and both were of very high quality. Centrally located close to the University as well as the downtown area. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and for the wonderful feedback. We’re happy you enjoyed your business stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary 24-hour fitness center. In addition, we're pleased that you enjoyed our delicious hot breakfast buffet served in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill. Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while on business, and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed overnight for a conference. The shuttle picked me up when I arrived and dropped a group of us off at our conference location the next morning. The warm chocolate chip cookie at check in was delightful. Clean, modern, great little sports restaurant/bar where I got a large salad and a cup of coffee. Friendly, efficient staff. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vvbChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and for taking the time to share your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers. We’re pleased that you were able to utilize our complimentary shuttle service, and that you enjoyed your experience in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill, and of course, our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookies with walnuts – we love them as well! Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
268 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been staying at this hotel for years. My children attend UW and the proximity to them can't be beat. The staff is friendly, the rooms are spotless and the beds are very comfortable. Their restaurant serves a fine breakfast. Occasionally, when big events are happening, the hotel sells out and I have to stay elsewhere. Although there are other fine hotels I seem to always return to the Doubletree.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and for your continued loyalty. We are thrilled you enjoy our convenient downtown location and close proximity to the UW-Madison, our very comfortable DoubleTree Sweet Dreams beds, and our award-winning staff. Again, we thank you for your continued loyalty as we know you have many choices, and we look forward to your next visit. GO BADGERS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

As corporate hotel chains go this property is just fine--convenient to the University and as-expected rooms. Best thing about it for us was the excellent customer service. The staff was really gracious and the free shuttle service in the immediate area saved us the cost and inconvenience of cabs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveSmithPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for your valuable feedback. We’re pleased that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, located on the UW-Madison campus, and we’re thrilled you experienced our award-winning team – we’ll be sure to pass along the compliment to all team members. Furthermore, it’s great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service as we know driving in downtown Madison and finding parking can be difficult. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you don't want to worry about parking and you want to be close to many State Street locations, this is the place to stay. You can get to University buildings as well as restaurant and shopping locations easiy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beths1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers, and for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you were able to experience our convenient downtown location, located on the UW-Madison campus and within walking distance to State Street and other downtown attractions. We also provide complimentary parking and shuttle service for our guests within a 2-mile radius of the hotel and to/from the airport. Thank you again for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and we hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#6 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
HotelRED
HotelRED
#8 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#9 of 61 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing