We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Nearby Hotels
$95
$90
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$86
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cambria Hotel(Madison)
$99
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$131
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$135
$124
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Edgewater(Madison)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
AmericInn by Wyndham Madison West(Madison)(Great Value!)
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$166
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,204)
Filter reviews
1,204 results
Traveler rating
869
252
56
18
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
869
252
56
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treecookieskohl centerstate streetgreat locationuw campusshuttle servicebar and grillrestaurant stafffree shuttlebreakfast buffetwithin walking distanceshort walkroom was cleanfront desk staffupon checkbusiness trip
Filter
Updating list...
963 - 968 of 1,204 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I chose this hotel for its location and reasonable rate and was so pleasantly surprised to find the most friendly and accommodating staff I've experienced in a hotel in years. They went out of their way to make sure our trip was enjoyable. The room was nice, clean and comfortable, too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and for the wonderful feedback. We are so pleased that you and your friends not only enjoyed our guest rooms but that you were able to interact and experience our caring and accommodating award-winning team. We’re so happy that you had a wonderful trip to Madison, and we hope you will choose to stay with us in the future if you return to Madison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

when we arrived at the double tree, we were met at the front desk by a staff that was very nice and cheerful. we arrived early and found that they had a room ready for us to check in to. the weekend trip was a great experience. we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and for the great feedback! We will definitely pass your comments along to our Front Office Manager so she can share them with her team. We are so happy to hear that your weekend trip was a great experience! Again, thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for recommending our hotel – we truly appreciate it. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I come here regularly for business at UW and usually stay at this hotel. The location is right in the heart of downtown and there are a few restuarants within walking distance. The Badger Bar on site is decent. The warm cookies at check in is a nice touch. Rooms are nice size and I had a mini fridge and microwave which is nice. The hot breakfast hotel is decent. The lobby is small but nicely decorated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnguyen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your most recent stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling on business and for your continued loyalty. We appreciate the kind comments and are glad you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, within walking distance to shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants. In addition, we are pleased you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms all featuring refrigerators and microwaves. Thank you again for your continued loyalty, and we look forward to hosting you again soon. We’ll have a warm DoubleTree chocolate chip walnut cookie waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here this week and was very pleased with most aspects of the experience.
Pros:
Great location, extremely helpful and pleasant staff, free parking, quiet during the week
Cons:
Very stuff (couldn't breathe well at all), breakfast buffet wasn't very good, rooms seemed a little too worn ou (expected from a hotel on campus which probably see a party or two in the rooms)

Front desk staff was very accomidating to all request- I would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimJ321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences about your recent stay and for choosing to stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling on business. It’s great to hear that you were pleased with your overall experience, and especially enjoyed our convenient downtown location including complimentary parking, our award-winning team and a quiet stay. However, we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your dining experience in our restaurant. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon, and we thank you for recommending our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Double Tree for the MSU v Wisconsin Football game. It was the weekend before Halloween and was the homecoming game for Wisconsin. Since this was a Double Tree Hotel you get a warm chocolate chip cookie upon check-in and they have free parking in their attached parking deck! They do provide a free shuttle to and from the airport and to venues within 2 miles of the hotel but we opted to rent a car. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown Madison and the Capital and not too far (about 1 mile) from the Camp Randall Football Stadium on the UW campus. The room was nice and included a fridge and microwave oven. The bathroom was on the small size with very little counter space. The desk area was nice but only had one electrical outlet, fortunately I had a power strip so it did not cause any hardships. There is a restaurant in the lobby, Badgerland Bar and Grill that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Their workout facility is on the third floor and has the usual array of workout equipment. They have individual tv's on the equipment and provide earphones if you need them. The reason for my title was that at night there was a lot of noise coming from the street, primarily students yelling and partying into the wee hours (3:00 to 4:00 am). Although they didn't keep me up throughout the night, I found that I woke up many times during the night with sporadic loud shouting until the noise stopped. I talked to the hotel about it and they apologized but said that it was because of Halloween weekend and homecoming and that they tried to keep the noise down in the hotel but had no control over the students outside. The hotel is located in the middle of student rental houses and student housing. Had it not been for the noise I would have rated the stay a notch higher. Hopefully the noise was an aberration and I guess I would give it another try in the future to find out. Overall, the hotel was conveniently located and provided very friendly service from top to bottom.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron26067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and for choosing to stay with us while in Madison for the MSU/Badger Homecoming football game. We’re pleased you enjoyed the amenities and services we offer including our complimentary parking and shuttle service, our large spacious rooms, our complimentary 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center, and our on-site restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill. However, we are sorry to hear about the outside noise affecting your sleep. Since we are located in the heart of downtown Madison and with it being one of the busiest weekends in Madison due to Homecoming and Halloween, we know Madison can be a bustling city. Because of this, we always have security on duty patrolling the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison as guest safety and satisfaction is our top priority. As much as we try to control the noise within our hotel and on property, we cannot always control the noise outside of our property. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience, and should you like to discuss your experience further, please contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with our General Manager. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews