We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a nice stay, but with some oddities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at the Double Tree while attending a conference at UW-Madison. The hotel is within 10 minutes of state street, so it is a convenient location. And the view of the Capitol building out the window is, indeed, pretty awesome. The rooms are large too, and ours had a microwave and mini-fridge, which was very convenient. There were definitely some odd things about the hotel though. First of all, the pool is big and very nice, BUT not very accessible. You either have to take stairs down from the third floor or walk through the restaurant and outside through the parking lot in order to access it. This is not very convenient when toting a 10 month old baby to the pool! The other thing that bothered me was the restaurant. It is very over-priced. And while they give you a lot of food, the service was quite slow. Not worth it in my opinion - there are better places around to eat.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms face the Capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraKW7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while attending a conference at the UW-Madison. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, our fabulous views of the Capitol, and our spacious rooms that include a microwave and refrigerator. We are happy that you were able to utilize our large pool, but we understand that it isn’t always the easiest to access especially when carrying a baby. Furthermore, we are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your dining experience, and we apologize for the slow service, which is not typical of our restaurant. We do appreciate your feedback, and we have shared your comments with our Director of Food & Beverage who will address this issue with his team. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience, and if you would like to personally discuss your experience further, please contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with our General Manager. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience, and we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

926 - 932 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

The room itself was average size, but bathroom was very small. No counter space, and small ledge/counter behind toilet was a pain because things could fall into the toilet. No reading lights over bed. The 2 double bed room was 213.00 per night with taxes and fees and DID NOT include even a complimentary buffet or coffee. There wasn't even a coffee urn in the lobby! The cold breakfast buffet was $10 pp.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lafemmederobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling on business. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the rate you paid for your room and the size of the bathroom. However, the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison is a full service property including an onsite restaurant, located in the middle of downtown Madison. We offer several options in terms of our guest rooms, and if you are interested in reserving a room that includes breakfast, we recommend our Deluxe level rooms as they include a full hot breakfast buffet served in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill. In addition, we are now in the process of remodeling all of our guest room bathrooms and converting them into spacious, walk in showers as well as making other improvements. Once the renovation is completed, we are sure you will be happy with the improvements. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience, and if you would like to further discuss your experience, please contact our hotel directly and ask to speak with our General Manager. We hope you will stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Double Tree Hotel in Madison is a nice hotel with an excellent location near the center and the university. The personnel is exquisitely friendly and aims to provide really good service, anyhow sometimes they are a little bit circumstantial. The rooms are well equipped and tidy and we had a great view to the Capitol. The breakfast buffet is good but could provide more fruits and vegetables as well as cheese and sausages. Only the spa was somehow disappointing since the pool is that shallow you can't swim.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling on business and for the great comments! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences about your stay with other travelers. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our great downtown location, our award-winning and accommodating staff, and your guest room – we agree, the view of the Capitol is amazing! In addition, we’re glad you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet in our restaurant, and thank you for your suggestions – we will be sure to pass them on to our Director of Food & Beverage. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison; we hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here at least 6 times in the past few years, but this time paid triple. If I would have waited could have gotten a comparable hotel room at another nearby hotel for$150 less. But needed to cancel reservation 30 days prior to not be charged, so we did stay. Rooms nice, pool warm, cookies not even good this time had walnuts, breakfast good, but close to $400 for one night. Not worth it. Have one more child to attend UW-Madison, might not even stay here again because I felt used by the cost this time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrise343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for continuing to choose to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for your continued loyalty. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your guest room, our pool, and breakfast in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill. However, we’re sorry to hear that you weren’t happy with the rate you paid for your room. Unfortunately, you stayed during a home UW Badger football game so the hotel and the city of Madison were very busy. For future reservations, please contact our Director of Sales & Marketing. Furthermore, we are sorry that you didn’t care for our DoubleTree signature chocolate chip walnut cookie this time; however, walnuts have always been part of our secret recipe. In the future, we would be more than happy to offer you a different welcome treat such as your choice of assorted fruit instead of our cookie. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with friendly staff and updated rooms; bed was very comfortable. Price was quite high as it was a home badger football game and rates were increased. Great breakfast buffet! Complimentary warm and delicious cookies at check in and convenient on site parking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emptynester3395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and for the great feedback! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient downtown location, our updated guest rooms, our delicious hot breakfast buffet located in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill, and our complimentary on-site parking. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers, and we look forward to your next stay with us – hopefully soon! We’ll be sure to have one of our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip walnut cookies waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a driving trip to Chicago. Room was comfortable, with excellent water pressure in the shower, but very small. Front desk staff were very helpful and polite. Food and service for dinner in the dining room/bar was awful and breakfast was not much better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jumbuck06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling to Chicago. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, especially the shower, and our friendly & helpful staff. However, we are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your dining experience in our restaurant. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience, and if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with our General Manager. We hope you’ll stay with us again soon and tell us what you think about our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The DoubleTree Madison was quite satisfactory again this year.
I decided to pay just a little extra for the "premium" room. To be honest, there doesn’t seem to be anything special about the ROOM, but it comes with extras, including breakfast – and I did have a nice State House view.

The breakfast was better than I remembered – I think the bacon might be the best I have ever had at a breakfast buffet. I guess that alone is probably worth the upgrade to premium, at least if there are two people in the room.
I've stayed elsewhere in Madison, but I would not pay more for any self-styled fancier place. The DoubleTree is good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crito0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers. It truly makes our day to hear that you had such a fantastic experience in our restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill, for breakfast. We definitely agree with you – the bacon is amazing, and it's a great way to start your day! Thank you again for the great comments, and for your continued loyalty - we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#11 of 64 in Madison
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 64 in Madison
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $142 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing