We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
La Grange Park
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Customer Service!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Some friends and I booked a night here and couldn't have been more pleased. The previous night at a different hotel our room had been broken into, so we were a little insecure. From the moment we walked in, the desk staff went beyond all expectations.

Upon checkin people are handed delicious warm chocolate chip cookies. When we arrived, they promised us we could have an extra, since we'd had such a bad night the previous hotel. They were intent on improving our weekend and they most certainly did so. The cookies were a great start, but more than anything it was their attitude. They genuinely cared about their guests' comfort.

We were early, so Tony stored our bags. When we returned and got to the room, he had written a lovely note from the staff and given us two tins of the warm cookies. Each time we went by the desk there was a smile and some friendly banter.

The room itself was lovely. Not much of a view, but a good size (we even had them bring in a rollaway and cancel the second room-five fit just fine). We will most certainly stay here and highly recommend others do as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeannChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and for the great feedback! We’re very sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience in Milwaukee; however, we are extremely happy that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us in Madison. We do know how our delicious DoubleTree cookies can quickly turn around a traveler’s day, and we will definitely share your wonderful comments with the rest of our team. Thank you again for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and we look forward to your next stay with us, hopefully soon! We’ll have more DoubleTree cookies waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    223
    47
    17
    8
See reviews for
267
153
67
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was on a trip with some friends and had a horrible stay in Milwaukee. Our hotel was robbed and I had a valuable electronic item taken. The staff at the Milwaukee hotel (Comfort Inn & Suites Lakeshore) wouldn't call the manager and no empathy for our situation. We even had to call the police ourselves. Needless to say we were a little freaked out. We had plans to drive to Madison to stay at the Doubletree the next night. I am most certainly glad we did!

My friend called the Doubletree to ask a check on our reservation and to see if we could get an additional room for another friend who planned to come to stay at the last minute. She told the hotel staff about our robbery and they were so compassionate and wonderful. They went above and beyond to find another room for us and make sure that our rooms were next door to one another. We ended up not needing that room later that day and they graciously changed the reservation and brought in a roll away for us to use.

Upon check in - this hotel gives warm chocolate chip cookies to all guests. I didn't expect the cookies to be as wonderful as they were! They tasted homemade and really made us feel great.

When we arrived in our room, we found a card addressed to all of us saying that the whole staff was so sorry that we had a bad experience in Milwaukee and that they were determined to make our stay at the Doubletree in Madison wonderful. They included 2 more large tins of chocolate chip cookies for us to enjoy! We were so pleasantly surprised that they "got it" where the Milwaukee hotel staff didn't have a clue.

Our room was large enough that we had plenty of room for five of us with a roll away bed. It was clean and very well appointed. The complimentary toiletries were Crabtree and Evelyn brand and smelled delicious!

And there was a safe in the room for us to securely lock all our items so we could enjoy Madison with no worries.

Every time we walked past the front desk, the staff was friendly and remembered us. They made us feel special and important as their guests.

As a frequent traveler to Madison, I will definitely stay at the Doubletree again. Their customer service is unsurpassed!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor. This hotel is very near campus housing at UW-Madison. Probably the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers. We are truly sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience in Milwaukee; however, we are extremely pleased that our team was able to turn around your trip and surpass your expectations. Furthermore, we are happy you took advantage of our amenities we offer including our Crabtree and Evelyn products and our large safes – it is our hope that it gives you piece of mind while staying with us. Thank you again for your great review, and we look forward to serving you again at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Madison Doubletree while we were on a campus visit to UW Madison, and had a very pleasant stay. The staff is friendly and accommodating. A shuttle even drove us to a restaurant a few miles away! The hotel is within walking distance of the campus and nearby State Street area. We enjoyed the pool, the comfortable beds and clean, quiet rooms. Parking is free. We definitely plan on staying here again in the future. We encountered other guests who had children attending UW-Madison, and they said they always stay at the Doubletree.

Room Tip: Join the Hilton Honors program for perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNdawnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for the fabulous review! We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your daughter at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison. Also, we are pleased that you utilized our complimentary shuttle service that goes to/from the airport as well as within a 2 mile radius of the hotel, our pool and whirlpool, and of course, complimentary parking in a downtown location is always a bonus! Thank you again for the kind words, and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Every single member of the staff from the front desk, to the housekeeping, to the kitchen staff was SO nice! I was here for 4 days on business and they were very accommodating to my staff and my requests to use their business center, supplies, and meeting rooms. Don't stay anywhere else! Great hotel, location, clean, and great food onsite. A+++

Room Tip: Use your HHonors Gold or Platinum status to get free breakfast for yourself and your guest, but leav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatethejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison to assist other travelers, and for choosing to stay with us while on business in Madison. We greatly appreciate the wonderful comments, and we’re glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay from check-in to check-out. Thank you again for the great feedback, and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have stayed at other DoubleTree hotels, and have generally had good to very good accommodations. However, the DoubleTree in Madison is clearly a cut above the average for the chain. The suite was spotlessly clean and well appointed. The staff were welcoming and truly helpful throughout our stay. Best of all, the hotel offers a free shuttle service in the downtown Madison area, which meant we could leave our car in the garage while being effortlessly transported to dinner and to our visit to the University campus (we did give the drivers generous tips). No fighting downtown traffic!

The hotel dining room is cheerful (as was the wait staff) and breakfast was above average, as we have come to expect at this chain.

I would enthusiastically recommend this DoubleTree to anyone visiting the Madison area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers. It truly makes our day to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us; that is what we strive for each and every day. Thank you again for the great comments, and we look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Nice people nice room great bar service. Loved the cookies and the bartender was great. AC in room blasted cold air and made for a great night sleep after a long ride from Sturgis. The food was great even late. After or 800 miles on the motorcycle the bed was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison after your long motorcycle trip. We appreciate your feedback, and we’re extremely pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us from our well-appointed room to our great restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill, to our friendly and helpful staff. We certainly agree with you that our DoubleTree Sweet Dreams beds are heavenly – perfect after a long day! Thank you for reviewing your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison; we hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

If you are a business or otherwise any type of mature traveller, stay away. If your goal is to be close to the UW campus or State St bars to be able to walk home late at night - AND - you do not mind being awaken numerous times from midnight to 3am by drunks coming in, laughing and talking louldly, and slamming doors - THEN - this is the place for you. I am a former Hilton HHonors Diamond member who now stays at a variety of hotels chains/levels. I was even located on an HHonors floor. I doubt there is anything really that the management can do about it simply because of the location of this hotel, but that should be their problem and not ours. Although quite old, the facility has been updated and maintained very well, for which I tossed them a few stars.

Room Tip: Not really any good rooms considering the clientele who also books down the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay as we work very hard as a team to make sure all our guests are 100% satisfied – guest satisfaction is extremely important to us. However, since we are located in the heart of downtown Madison and wedding season is in full swing, Madison can be a very busy city. Because of this, we always have security on duty patrolling the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison as guest safety and satisfaction is our top priority. Unfortunately, since there were no noise complaints reported during your stay, security was not alerted to address the situation. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience, and if you should need any further assistance, please contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with our General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
0.6 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#7 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#8 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Address: 525 W Johnson St, Madison, WI 53703-1916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Madison, you'll find the DoubleTree by Hilton Downtown Madison in the center of all of the action. Just steps from the Kohl Center and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus, guests can also walk to the Capitol, State Street and many other downtown Madison attractions. Enjoy complimentary parking and shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area, complimentary WiFi and brand-new sleeping rooms. Our award-winning staff looks forward to welcoming you to our hotel and the famous and unique city of Madison! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing