We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Horrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West
Ranked #36 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

There was hair everywhere in both of the rooms we rented for the weekend, including a big blob of hair in one of the closets. Brough this to the attention of front desk and they did nothing about it. Power went out in one of our rooms twice during our stay. Housekeeping attempted to put dirty bedding back on our bed (after we told her our son got sick in the middle of night and puked on it). We were there for a convention and they had a buffet style meal. Their burgers were completely raw on the inside, absolutely disgusting. NO continental breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queenofbatting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience at the hotel and I truly apologize. All of our rooms are cleaned and inspected daily. Our goal is to make sure our guests have a comfortable stay. We do have a manager on during all of shifts -they could have resolved your concerns right away from the time you checked in if they would have known. Our hotel has been awarded Platinum status with our company and AAA inspected with 3 stars.

Please contact the hotel manager direct at 608-203-4700 if you would like to discuss your stay further. We hope you will give us a second chance when you are traveling to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    107
    47
    26
    22
See reviews for
165
34
12
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The wallpaper in my room was peeling away from the wall near the floor; two full strips. On our second day the room was not cleaned so we asked the front desk to do so and were told that it would be done in 10 minutes. Two hours later we returned to find a stack of towels on the coffee table and the trash removed; nothing else done. Found out by sheer accident that the hotel offered free coffee in the bar area during the morning rush. A friend stayed in another room that had a leaky shower head that remained leaky after they checked out. Restaurant service was very slow and inattentive while the food was average.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank educator_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about the wallpaper in your guest room when you left that day. We did take care of the repair right away. We appreciate your business and I hope you will give us a second chance when you are traveling to our area. Please contact the General Manager at the hotel if you would like to discuss your stay further. Our goal is to make sure all of of guests have a good experience when staying at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The water park was just right for our 3 two year old grandchildren. They loved the zero entry pool with it's 'bubblers' and slides, but the hit was going down the water slide with an adult in the larger, deeper pool into the very warm water. I believe they had as much or more fun here than at the Kalahari Resort at the Dells. Our king bedroom with a pullout sofa had 2 'rooms': king bed and TV in one room, microwave, bar sink, mini-fridge, Bathroom with shower (no tub), and separate area for the pullout sofa, another TV and desk. Free Wifi included. Our only complaints: small pillows, very small pool towels (bring your own beach towels) and the 'no food or drink policy' in the pool area, though the pool 'bar' was only manned on Saturday night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerps, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites home of Crawdaddy Cove Waterpark. A great place to get away with small children. We have a variety of room types to choose from including our kid's suites, family suites, king suites and standard 2 queens or king split rooms. Families can enjoy the waterpark and order food from our on-site restaurant Benvenuto's Italian grill where kids eat free. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing again when you are visiting our area

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel. We had booked one room for both Friday and Saturday and another room for just Saturday. When we booked the rooms we requested the two rooms be adjoining or at least as close as possible together. We were told this could not be guaranteed but they would do their best. We were pleasantly surprised to find we got adjoining rooms. The pool area was quite busy and smelled strongly of chlorine (more than other pools/waterparks we've been at), but the children enjoyed it. Breakfast at the restaurant was fine, and the one room we had for just Saturday night was okay as well. Also, we were allowed to do a noon check out at no extra cost. These were the positives of our stay.

Here come the negatives... The room we had for two nights was not impressive. It was right next to the exercise facility/workout room, which is open from 5:30 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. We could hear every noise from there in our room. Weights clanking at 10:30 at night and 5:30 the next morning resulted in tired, cranky kids (and parents). Also, this room was not nearly as clean as the adjoining room, the handle on the toilet was broken, and one of the phones didn't work.

We probably won't stay at this hotel again, as there are other hotels in the Madison area we've stayed at before and like better.

Room Tip: Request not to have room 2036. It is right next to the workout room, which can be loud as late as 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West home of Crawdaddy Cove Waterpark. We do always try to honor request for room types so you can enjoy your time with your family. The waterpark is a great family fun getaway. The hotel offers a full service restaurant with the kids eat free program as well. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance when you are visiting our area. You can always call our hotel direct to request room accommodations.

Thank you
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great hotel and staff. Our kids love the water park and we love the kids eat free program. We have stayed here five times over three years and ave never been disappointed. The poolside rooms are very convenient and the kids suites very popular.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for latest specials, they always have good ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperMommyJen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites for your family getaway. Crawdaddy Cove is perfect and lots of fun for small children. The waterpark offers a pool with large slide - waterbasket ball, Boat with slides for small children with 0 depth to play in, whirlpool and game area. Our restaurant is very family friendly and offers the Holiday Inn Kids Eat Free Program. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay, and look forward to seeing you again when you are looking to getaway for the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

After viewing the pictures and reading the description of the "indoor water park" at this location, our family opted to forgo the drive to Wisconsin Dells, and try two nights here.

First and foremost, if we HAD gone to a real indoor water park in the dells, we would have spent $80-100 more for the trip. HOWEVER, if you family gets to do these trips as rarely as ours, the additional cost is not a factor.

I am a bit torn by this review, detailed as follows:

The staff goes out of their way to make sure the guests are happy. One of the best staffs I have ever seen inside a hotel. That goes from the front desk, to the house keepers, to the bar and restaurant staff. Truly wonderful people.

The restaurant inside the hotel is simply wonderful, and the kids eat free program is great. Great food, service and prices. We booked online, and opted for the breakfast inclusion with our package, which came out to roughly $12 each day for my wife and I - but our three kids ate free. Regardless of what you read on here, the breakfast buffet is excellent. It is a standard buffet you'd see anywhere, typically in the $10-15 range for an adult. I'm not sure what they charge without the package deal, but for $12 and a tip, to feed our family of 5, this was an amazing deal.

The condition of the property is good, we had a kids suite, however my one complaint was the suite did not have a bath tub. Also, the room was smaller than the pictures shown on here, and the company's website.

Here comes our disappointment:

THE PHOTOS OF THE "WATER PARK" AREA ARE COMPLETELY MISLEADING!

They have one very small pool, and one very small shallow-depth area. If you go to this property with the expectation of going to a a water park, you will be disappointed.

The wide angle lens used to create their pool pictures was truly amazing!

All-in-all we WOULD chose this hotel if we were staying in the Madison area for some other event, but would never go back in lieu of going to Wisconsin Dells.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THEHDMIGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites. We strive to provide great customer service to all of guest. The waterpark is the perfect size for small children ages 2-10. We offer a variety of room types for king suites to kids suites. So parents can have some relaxing time as well. Our restaurant is very family friendly and kids eat free so you don't even have to leave the hotel. Thank you again for staying and your great feedback about the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I booked a room here for business travel. When I booked it online it appeared that there was a special deal where I could cancel with no fees. Now that my plans have changed I called to cancel and I have been told that I will be losing my full room rate deposit.

That is really unacceptable customer service for a Priority Club member and a business hotel. It may be my fault for not reading closely enough when booking but I would swear that I had the details right.

My advice is therefore to be very careful when booking to make sure that you don't throw away $136.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y2kc5oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerps, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your concerns about booking the rate that you can not cancel. When booking the reservation it does ask you if you understand about the cancelation policy. We do appreciate that you are a priority club member and hope you will give our hotel another chance when traveling to the Madison area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Madison West
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
2.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Madison
Radisson Hotel Madison
#15 of 61 in Madison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison West/Middleton WI West
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Madison - Junction Court
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN West Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West
Address: 1109 Fourier Dr, Madison, WI 53717-1926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West This upscale full service Madison, Wisconsin hotel is walking distance to dining and upscale shopping at the Greenway Station in Middleton, WI. Located less than 3 miles from the University of Wisconsin Madison Research Park and 5 miles from the University of WI Hospital & Clinics, Camp Randall Stadium & the downtown Madison, Wisconsin capitol. Complimentary daily shuttle to and from Epic Systems & other businesses, airport & attractions by pre-arrangement. Expect to be impressed at this Madison, WI hotel if you are visiting one of the areas nearby - 5 miles from the Kohl Center, Alliant Energy Center and a short drive to the Monona Terrace Convention Center and the Madison Overture Center. Spacious guest rooms with business amenities; free wireless in-room high-speed Internet access and free airport shuttle. 69 deluxe suites; whirlpool suites, two room suites and kid suites. Executive level business floor. On-site George's Chophouse Restaurant and Z Martini Piano Lobby Bar, room service and 4,000 square feet of elegant Madison, WI meeting space. Catering to the needs of business travelers with such unique programs as: our Monday - Thursday Priority Club Reception from 5 PM - 7 PM or our bonus point offers, see Priority Club rates for details. Traveling with your family? Enjoy this Wisconsin hotel's Indoor Water Park - Crawdaddy Cove! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Madison West
Holiday Inn Madison
Madison Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing