We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice find in Madison.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Close to the I-system and many decent places to eat. Boasts the largest motel swimming pool in Madison. Can't verify since I haven't been to all the motel swimming pools in Madison, but it WAS big with a nice hot tub. When we were there, we were the only ones in the pool area so it was nice and quiet;-) Good, free hot breakfast in their dining room included. Not far from the little known Elvis Presley memorial plaque (corner of 151 and 51 near a car dealership) where he stopped a fight the night he was in Madison, a short time before he died.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will pass along the positive feedback with our! We appreciate all input! Also thank you for the information about Elvis I did not know that information so it will be nice to share with upcoming guests :) Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

639 - 645 of 905 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is very nice looking and staff was friendly. When we were walking to our rooms we noticed the hallways were very cold as well as our rooms. The heat was turned off. Being December, it would have been nice to have our room's heat turned on before we arrived. In one room, the coffee pot did not work correctly, the desk lamp did not work, the bathroom door lock did not work, and there were crackers between the bed skirt and bed frame. This was mentioned to the desk clerk who was very thankful I said something. She mentioned that if guests report problems they can correct them. Many times they do not know if something does not work.
The pool area and game room were enjoyed by my family. The breakfast was very good, and we even had morning entertainment while eating our breakfast. The gentleman who took care of the breakfast area was singing, joking, and fun to be around. That, and our breakfast, was a good start to our day.

Room Tip: If staying in colder months, request that the heat is turned on before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WISPAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will pass along the positive feedback with our! We appreciate all input! Also we have been pre heating all arrival rooms and then some to ensure everyone has a nice toasty room :) Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We made an overnight trip to the area to meet up with family. The property was well kept and very comfortable, and was easy on the pocketbook. The hot breakfast in the morning was a welcome change from prepackaged danish or cold cereal and milk. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank MichiganSmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will pass along the positive feedback with our! We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had a number of problems. Shower didn't work, restaurant was closed to the public, and someone tried to come in to my room without knocking. When I was about to take my shower, the shower didn't work and no water came out no matter how much I turned the faucet. I had to switch rooms and that was a big struggle. WHen I went down to the bar to eat they had a very low menu selection and the restaurant had a private party during my stay, and I was not informed that they were going to have a private party so I had to leave the premises just to eat, and all I ate at was at a fast food restaurant. I was very, very disappointed with the service at the hotel, and this was the first time I ever had this bad experience. Only thing I liked at this place was the pool and hot tub.

Room Tip: Make sure everything works in the room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. I will forward this to our housekeeping manager, We do inspect every room before they are rented to guests to ensure these things never happen in the future! We are in the process of a remodel, we just recieved new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just reupdated our largest indoor pool in madison! We are soon to be upgrading our T.V's aswell! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Reguards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Diamondsmom12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast
10.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
4.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 3841 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: $65 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the largest indoor pool in town and one of the best room rates, our full-service Howard Johnson Madison hotel is located near Dane County Regional Airport with airport shuttle service available. Our Madison, WI, hotel offers easy access to Interstates 39, 90 and 94, with easy access for events at Lake Mendota, UW Madison, the state capitol and Alliant Energy Center. Enjoy our enormous game room, work out in the fitness center, or a soak in the whirlpool during your stay. Guest room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access and refrigerators are available upon request. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our pet-friendly Madison, Wisconsin, hotel, and there is parking for your truck, bus or RV. Room service is available or you can enjoy a meal at the Northwood's Bar & Grill, our on-site restaurant. After a sound sleep, start fresh with complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a hot buffet before heading out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing