We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown(Madison)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$75
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AmericInn by Wyndham Madison West(Madison)(Great Value!)
$93
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Edgewater(Madison)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Best Western East Towne Suites(Madison)(Great Value!)
$101
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveler rating
180
244
261
150
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
244
261
150
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeep endfrench toastlarge poolbreakfast staffan older hotelhot breakfasthotel barexercise roomnice staygamewi
Filter
Updating list...
686 - 691 of 944 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here last weekend for one night. The front desk was friendly and helpful. Our room looked like it had been updated and everything was fine. They had a notice in the lobby that talked about what was being remodeled to date and what was coming up which we found interesting. The hotel is located by shopping and many restaurants so it was very convenient for us. The pool is huge and was not very busy. Breakfast the next morning had a great variety and the area was clean and the food fresh. We really enjoyed Mike (the attendent) who had a smile for everyone. He broke out in a cute Thanksgiving song that made us laugh! The hotel is older but being updated and worked fine for out stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodore T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff, and Michael he will be thrilled to hear! We appreciate all input! Thanks again for staying at the Howard Johnson Plaza! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

You can forward all you want for years now but no one does anything. The place stinks, it is dirty and moldy. Scared to eat food if kitchen looks like motel. Staff at desk seems to hate their job. Key cards don't work, hot tub smells like old balls and their is never ice, don't ask bartender he will give dirty looks. Have stayed here many times...still see same replys...they will not b receiveing no more of my money.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teala2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. I will forward this to our housekeeping manager, We do inspect every room before they are rented to guests to ensure these things never happen in the future! We are in the process of a remodel, we just recieved new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just reupdated our largest indoor pool in madison! We are soon to be upgrading our T.V's aswell! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Reguards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews