We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Pros: Clean and comfortable room


Cons: NO ELEVATER, 2nd. floor,BAD BACK,66 yr. old & in pain 2weeks !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. Our hotel does have an elevator we also do have many staircases to use aswell! We are in the process of a remodel, we just recieved new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just reupdated our largest indoor pool in madison! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Reguards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 904 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Dirty ! The halls where very dirty and smelt really bad, our room was nasty the carpets where dirty, bugs crawling around the bathroom. bathroom door handle was broken so it wouldn't stay shut. Breakfast well that didn't happen, my husband and daughter went to get some at 9 AM and where told they where to late. For $79 dollars I didn't expect anything great, but I did expect it to be clean !!! We will never stay in this dump again !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. Our Breakfast hours here at the hotel are 6-9am and 6-10am on the weekends. I will forward this to our housekeeping manager, We do inspect every room before they are rented to guests to ensure these things never happen in the future! We are in the process of a remodel, we just recieved new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just reupdated our largest indoor pool in madison! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Reguards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Denny M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

It was good to have a decent breakfast, and a light dinner available right in the hotel. The room was perfectly adequate, and the indoor pool was wonderful, just warm enough to be relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! I will pass along the positive feedback with our staff!, They will be thrilled to hear! We hope to see you back in Madison real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we were quoted a price and told that there was free parking and free shuttle to airport. when we asked about what time we were told the rate was wrong and there was a charge for parking car there. They. didn't stand by what was quoted for price and charged us additional price . they new we were in need for early morning flight

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. We apologize about the confusion We do advertise a free overnight parking, but if you were to leave your car here at the hotel and leave town their would be additional charges applied, and any guest can take advantage of our free airport shuttle! We are in the process of a remodel, we just recieved new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just reupdated our largest indoor pool in madison! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Reguards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The air conditionaer smelt like mold, the room was only cleaned fully once the whole week that we stayed there. We never ahd the right towels. There was no ice in any machine most of the days. The family in the room next to us was up all night and running around in the hall. The breakfast was good and the front desk staff accomadating but I don't know if I would stay there again. The pool is a big plus, but lack of sleep when you're racing career is on the line, just didn't cut it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. We are in the process of a remodel, we just recieved new beds for the whole hotel, new work out facility, and we also just reupdated our largest indoor pool in madison! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.

Warmest Reguards,
The Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
7.4 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#49 of 63 in Madison
108 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Address: 3841 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: $65 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the largest indoor pool in town and one of the best room rates, our full-service Howard Johnson Madison hotel is located near Dane County Regional Airport with airport shuttle service available. Our Madison, WI, hotel offers easy access to Interstates 39, 90 and 94, with easy access for events at Lake Mendota, UW Madison, the state capitol and Alliant Energy Center. Enjoy our enormous game room, work out in the fitness center, or a soak in the whirlpool during your stay. Guest room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access and refrigerators are available upon request. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our pet-friendly Madison, Wisconsin, hotel, and there is parking for your truck, bus or RV. Room service is available or you can enjoy a meal at the Northwood's Bar & Grill, our on-site restaurant. After a sound sleep, start fresh with complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a hot buffet before heading out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing