We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The guy in the restaurant in the mornings was so nice and...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Madison
De Pere
2 reviews
“The guy in the restaurant in the mornings was so nice and...”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The guy in the restaurant in the mornings was so nice and was excellent!! He brought a smile to many.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, I will also pass along the positive feedback to Mike our breakfast attendant and also with our staff!, They will be thrilled to hear! We hope to see you back real soon! And we appreciate seeing you every year you come to town!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    213
    225
    130
    93
See reviews for
331
129
60
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Loyal
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our stay was okay. We stayed 2 nights. We received clean towels for the 2nd night but did not receive anymore coffee packets for the next morning. Also it was disappointing that the pool was closed on Sunday night. Other than that the rooms were clean & the employees were pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, I will also pass along the positive feedback with our staff!, They will be thrilled to hear! I apologize for the pool being closed during your stay, the only time we close the pool is for cleaning, I'm sorry it landed on the day you stayed. We hope to see you back real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Arrivng at the hotel I was greeted warmly! Rooms were in good condition and the breakfast food was great compared to other hotels. Friendly staff work there and the pool and bar a plus! The rooms are really spacious and the hotel is very kid friendly, my kids love the game room!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we take pride in the customer service we are able to give to our guests, I will also pass along the positive feedback with our staff!, They will be thrilled to hear! We hope to see you back real soon!

Warmest regards!

The staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#47 of 63 in Madison
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Address: 3841 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the largest indoor pool in town and one of the best room rates, our full-service Howard Johnson Madison hotel is located near Dane County Regional Airport with airport shuttle service available. Our Madison, WI, hotel offers easy access to Interstates 39, 90 and 94, with easy access for events at Lake Mendota, UW Madison, the state capitol and Alliant Energy Center. Enjoy our enormous game room, work out in the fitness center, or a soak in the whirlpool during your stay. Guest room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access and refrigerators are available upon request. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our pet-friendly Madison, Wisconsin, hotel, and there is parking for your truck, bus or RV. Room service is available or you can enjoy a meal at the Northwood's Bar & Grill, our on-site restaurant. After a sound sleep, start fresh with complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a hot buffet before heading out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing