We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very satisfied with everything BUT the cigarette...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Madison
BROOMALL
1 review
“We were very satisfied with everything BUT the cigarette...”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were very satisfied with everything BUT the cigarette odor made the sleeping very uncomfortable. The odor burned my nose. One night, it smelled like a pot party. Adjusting the temperature was a challenge at best. We stayed in Room 117 for four nights, and in 239 for a fifth night

The staff was outstanding, the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank PHILIP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
I do apologize about the smells you encountered, we are a non smoking hotel as is the state of Wisconsin, occasionally guests disobey this law and choose to smoke we do try our best to catch the incident before it happens, I will pass along all the positive reviews to my staff as well!

Thanks again,
Staff at the Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    215
    234
    135
    96
See reviews for
343
134
60
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CAMBRIA
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our hotel room was not the best. There was mold growing up the bathroom tub, the toilet had brown spots in it, the bathroom sink had a huge crack in it and our pillow had a crunchy brown stain on it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JULIE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUSCOLA
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The beds were not comfortable at all. The TV had 5 channels. The overall experience was not a pleasant one. Would not recommend this hotel or stay there again. I will say that the hotel staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank MICHELE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyle M, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. We are in the process of switching out our beds here at the hotel and upgrading to new beds also here at the hotel we have premium satellite channels plus showtime as well! We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madison hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
1.3 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#47 of 63 in Madison
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
2.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Address: 3841 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the largest indoor pool in town and one of the best room rates, our full-service Howard Johnson Madison hotel is located near Dane County Regional Airport with airport shuttle service available. Our Madison, WI, hotel offers easy access to Interstates 39, 90 and 94, with easy access for events at Lake Mendota, UW Madison, the state capitol and Alliant Energy Center. Enjoy our enormous game room, work out in the fitness center, or a soak in the whirlpool during your stay. Guest room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access and refrigerators are available upon request. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our pet-friendly Madison, Wisconsin, hotel, and there is parking for your truck, bus or RV. Room service is available or you can enjoy a meal at the Northwood's Bar & Grill, our on-site restaurant. After a sound sleep, start fresh with complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a hot buffet before heading out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing