We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a very good wyndham choice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Madison
WALDRON
1 review
“not a very good wyndham choice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

our stay was not even close to what we expect when we book through wyndham. certain ammenities and conditions are always expected from my wife and i, we were not pleased with our stay at all. the bed was of poor quality, the room was like a mile from the lobby and pool / breakfast / front desk areas. we will never choose this hotel again. no fridge or microwave in room even though room description said there was when we booked which was one of the reasons we booked room because we have an infant and needed a microwave to heat up his bottle when needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank ROY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria W, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel., I apologize about layout of our building, It does have a older set up where then outside entrances are the best way to get to guest rooms since of the large building set up, we would have gladly accomidated you to a room closer to the common areas, We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    192
    199
    122
    82
See reviews for
295
117
56
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

so this is my 2nd stay at a Howard Johnson in a decade - the first in CA was a bad experience but I gave it the benefit of doubt as it was peak season that time. This place in Madison was outright smelly, not even worth the price i paid for the room. I was thinking for maybe 10$ more, i could have atleast gotten a decent place. Nothing was a positive experience here, room was dirty/smelly, bathroom unkempt, hallway dingy, staff were ok. I would never stay in a HJ inn again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raakesh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria W, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel., I will pass along this feedback with our manager, since your stay we have cleaned all our carpets in our hallways also we have made changes with our front desk staff and hope to see you back soon to view all the improvements, We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TUNBRIDGE
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Hotel is in bad repair, stained carpet, walls and hardware. Bed was extremely uncomfortable, heat did not work well. The only bright spot was breakfast and the attention and service of that staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank KYLE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria W, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. We were happy to hear you enjoyed our free hot complimentary breakfast buffet, We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Motel was very nice. People were very friendly. I am disabled because of a CONDITION IN THE MUSCLES IN MY BACK. I definately could have used a much softer matress. You need to expand the menu at the restraurant/bar too. Not much to pick from. I would stay there again. When we got to the continental breakfast, most of the pans of food were empty. Did not refill. Did not offer to make us more eggs or sausage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria W, Public Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for all of the great comments and suggestions, I will pass a long the information about the menu to our food and beverage manager, We recently added Pizza's to our menu that will be served after hours even when the kitchen is closed. Also in the future we can gladly accommodate you to a room that has a mattress of your liking, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back real soon!

Warmest regards
The Howard Johnson Plaza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADISON
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. It was quick and peaceful and we had just the right amenities we needed-- wish we could have stayed longer. It would have been nice to have the option for a later check out. We love the arcade room and sadly slept through complimentary breakfast but I have a feeling we may be back soon. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank SIMONE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria W, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
We are glad to hear about your pleasant stay here at the Howard Johnson Plaza and we hope to see you back soon, On the weekends(Saturday and Sunday) our free hot complimentary breakfast extends until 10pm so you can sleep in and still manage to catch our breakfast, Thanks again for all the kind remarks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The furnishings were old and run down. The room was clean and comfortable, but small. I think the TV belonged to my grandma. The location was very handy for transportation to the Badger FB game from Callahan's Sports Pub. The hotel had a small bar and did serve a good free breakfast. The staff was friendly and courteous. The 4 ice machines on 1st floor were all empty at 4:00 pm on a Friday afternoon, except for the ONE on second floor which was spitting ice and pieces of brown plastic!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria W, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. We were happy to hear you enjoyed our free hot complimentary breakfast buffet, We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOLMEN
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

While very dated, the hotel was clean. The pool was huge but there weren't any towels. The breakfast was great. We could hear water running quite early in the morning from the neighboring rooms. There was no internet, even though the front desk said it was available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank STEPHANIE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria W, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel. Although this is an older property, we are continually making improvements on the overall appearance of the hotel. We are glad to hear you got to take advantage of Madison's largest indoor pool and our free hot complimentary breakfast buffet, We do take pride in cleanliness and our friendly staff. Please accept this as an apology and we hope your experience doesn't deter you from staying at Howard Johnson Plaza in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN East Towne Suites
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#47 of 61 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Madison American Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
Address: 3841 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 61 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison 2.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the largest indoor pool in town and one of the best room rates, our full-service Howard Johnson Madison hotel is located near Dane County Regional Airport with airport shuttle service available. Our Madison, WI, hotel offers easy access to Interstates 39, 90 and 94, with easy access for events at Lake Mendota, UW Madison, the state capitol and Alliant Energy Center. Enjoy our enormous game room, work out in the fitness center, or a soak in the whirlpool during your stay. Guest room amenities include free Wi-Fi Internet access and refrigerators are available upon request. Handicapped-accessible rooms are available at our pet-friendly Madison, Wisconsin, hotel, and there is parking for your truck, bus or RV. Room service is available or you can enjoy a meal at the Northwood's Bar & Grill, our on-site restaurant. After a sound sleep, start fresh with complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a hot buffet before heading out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Madison Hotel Madison
Madison Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing