We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In transition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel is undergoing some remodeling; why they chose to do so in the winter was not a bright decision, considering the bitter cold the night we stayed (the construction worker left a door open at the end of the hall). Our room had tile missing in the bathroom so I'm guessing it wasn't done yet. The worst part of the room was the shower. They had a very very very low flow shower head installed. The sink faucet worked fine so it had to be the shower. If they were trying to save water it didn't work because a person had to stay in all the longer to rinse off. I've stayed in hundreds of hotels and this was by far the worse shower ever. If these hotels want to save the environment fine, but low flow is not the way to go. It only frustrates guests. Same with the toilet; having to flush two or three times just doesn't make sense.

Another issue may have been temporary: the waffle mix was soupy (appeared to be unmixed). I opted for the very well mixed cereal.

On the good side, the beds were very comfortable and I'm sure once they complete the renovations, it will be better.

The front desk clerks were very nice and polite.

Room Tip: If it's still winter and if they are still renovating, don't get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LookingForBigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for bearing with us as we make some very important updates to our decor over the next month. I promise you will not be disappointed upon your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 651 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Excellent rooms, clean and cozy. Staff willing to go the extra mile. Great breakfast selection with eggs, breakfast burritos, to waffels and oatmeal. Fresh coffee and tea in the lobby, 24-7, with flavors and real creamer.. Great shower pressure in the shower. Also while we were staying they had beer and wine with food for free in the evenings! What a deal in a great hotel that's close to everything! Would stay again anytime!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
2  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thanks for the kind words in your awesome review. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed at this location many times as we visit my Dad. Our latest stay was a little less desirable due to the cleanliness of the room ( Q-tip and candy wrapper under the bed.)
The staff at sign in was very cordial, but as we checked out, we were merely handed our receipt with no questions as to the comfort of our stay. Too bad.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildwood2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

We often pride ourselves in going the extra mile to add the 'little things' that really count towards an awesome stay. Holiday times can be hectic for everyone and I am sorry we fell short in a few of these areas. I promise we will do better next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had stayed in a couple of other hotels in that area and i must say that this is by far the best hotel you have. Even hotels with more stars to their name fair lesser when compared to Americinn.
It's a family friendly hotel but i did see people from all age-groups stay. It is a place where you will feel comfortable if you are staying one night or a week together. The hotel and room itself is clean and the housekeeping staff are dedicated in keeping it clean. Good breakfast and evening time manager specials... The reception staff were friendly and very accommodating. I had to change room in between my stay and they took the extra effort in giving me the room next door and also offered to help move my stuff over (and all of it without even requesting for).

Overall - if you happen to stay in that area - stop your search here and book this hotel - i believe the reviews of this hotel have been consistent and it cannot be like all of us rating it 5/5 can be wrong :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raggav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for your very kind comments on our hotel and recommending us to others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Just finished a weekend at the Americinn. The service and amenities were outstanding. First, the staff was very friendly and always available to help. Next, this hotel had new carpet throughout and the room itself was very clean and modern. Americinn also offered a reception in the evenings and breakfast in the mornings which were both very nice. While I did not swim, the pool looked quite inviting. I originally choose this hotel because of its location and price. This hotels location was superb; easy and quick to get to the Kohl Center, State St., and the Coliseum at Alliant Energy Center. I highly recommend you stay here... its a great value.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing some of our awesome attibutes that you found convenient and rewarding!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I looked all over for hotels on line, read reviews of all. I am paranoid about unclean rooms etc. From the moment I called direct and asked about price matching expedia pricing (which they did without a word) and the staff was always helpful. Rooms were very comfortable. I just wish that they had an Americinn in Platteville, where we stayed the next night. Manager's reception everyday is awesome!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thanks so much for being our guest and letting us know what you enjoy about our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great Price when I booked same day online. Very Friendly staff. Check in was smooth and quick. Room was very quiet and clean and bed was comfortable. I have stayed at many hotels in Madison, but this one is the best for its value. Oh yes, the breakfast was awesome. ..


  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick S, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

I am glad to hear that everything went so smooth while you were hear with us! Thanks for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Madison - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Best Western West Towne Suites
8.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
4.7 mi away
Super 8 Madison South
Super 8 Madison South
#14 of 63 in Madison
727 reviews
9.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Madison
Days Inn & Suites Madison
#27 of 63 in Madison
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West

Address: 516 Grand Canyon Dr, Madison, WI 53719-1033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Madison
#4 Best Value Hotel in Madison
#11 Family Hotel in Madison
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#19 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range: $78 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West, Wisconsin the ideal location for your next stay, whether you're traveling for business or pleasure. We are proud to provide the amenities you want most and deliver them at the highest level possible starting with comfortable, quieter guestrooms. Wake up each morning to our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and enjoy appetizers, beer and wine each evening from 5:00pm to 7:00pm. Stay connected with free, hotel-wide, high-speed internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge & Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Americinn Lodge And Suites Madison West
Americinn Hotel Madison
Hampton Inn Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing