We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service - nice hotel - but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good service - nice hotel - but pricey”
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Spent two nights in Madison while in the area for business. Checked rates and locations and decided on the Hampton Inn, not expecting that much (first stay in the Hampton chain). Had a couple of (well, almost 60 pounds) packages that I asked to be sent to the hotel. Absolutely no problems. Checked in at 1:30 am due to traffic delays (bad weather) - checkin went swift and the packages were sent up to the room promtly so we could prepare.

Buffet breakfast included, was better than other inclusive breakfasts that I have had.

The hotel had a feeling of being redecorated and looked sleek, and nice, almost Scandinavian in its design. Lots of parking around the hotels - had no problems with that. Food options were also nearby if the buffet breakfast does not suit you.

All in all, a nice experience in a very nice city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    149
    30
    11
    3
See reviews for
167
117
40
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

This was a nice hotel, just like all Hampton Inns. However, a few nights before our stay, we stayed at the Hampton Inn in Rockford, IL and that one is absolutely perfect. I had a REALLY difficult time getting to this hotel from the main road, especially when we just went across the highway to the mall area. I had to drive way down the highway to turn around. If I had known the area better I guess I could have figured it out, but this was my first time in Madison and I was very frustrated. The daytime front desk staff wasn't very friendly, but the nightime staff was very friendly and helpful. Our A/C didn't appear to be working in our room and they came up right away to change the battery in our thermostat. However, the A/C did not kick on until the next morning. It was a bit stuffy in our room all night. When I realized that it wasn't working, my son was asleep and I didn't want to disturb him by calling the front desk. We slept well, but I like to have it cooler when I sleep. I was wondering if the guests get limited control of the temp to keep the hotel "green". All-in-all, it was a nice hotel. The rooms are gorgeous and beds are comfortable (as always). The pool and business center were nice. The breakfast was big and delicious. If I need to stay in Madison again though, I might stay at the Hampton Inn West instead, just because of my frustration with the location of this one.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Don't park in the side lot of this hotel. Our car and those of several others guests were broken into. Disappointing response from the front desk staff.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

I stayed at this Hampton Inn while in the Madison area for business. The location is great you are only minutes from everything in Madison. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and the price is right. It lives up to the Hampton Inn reputation if you are familiar with the chain, it's my preferred hotel for business.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingHuskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Minnetonka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I agree with all the above reviews. The people were friendly, the rooms were newly redone, the beds were very comfortable, and even the flowers outside were beautiful. The only suggestion i would have would be to have more healthy choices for breakfast. (ww breads, ripe(not green) bananas, lower fat hot choices)

  • Liked — The cleanliness.
  • Disliked — The location.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

When I think of "Hampton Inn," I think budget hotel. The decor at this Hampton Inn certainly did not suggest this. With the dark wood furniture, white sheets, classy black & white photographs accompanying the room numbers, and modern lobby, I felt like I was at a Sheraton or Westin. Little wonder it got such good reviews! The staff was friendly and considerate too - we asked for a room that wasn't facing the highway and she took it a step further by giving us a room away from the area with lots of kids.

The free breakfast was also a step up from your usual continental breakfast - it included sausage and eggs that you can make a biscuit sandwich with, among a variety of other usual items. We didn't get to use their pool but it looked nice from afar. The base price was $119 but we had a 20% off coupon through Orbitz.

  • Liked — Room decor
  • Disliked — Breakfast was a little crowded - people (including us!) probably slept in as late as possible since it was the 4th July weekend
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank anacel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

This hotel is a great property. I travel several times a month for business and a lot for liesure as well.

This hotel is one of the best I have stayed at in the past five years. This place is SPOTLESS, updated, friendly, hip and close to most everything.

- The rooms are smaller but clean and updated, with a nice bathroom and a 37" LCD TV.

- The hotel is updated and is very hip in it's decor. From the lobby to the rooms, they have done a fantastic job of making this hotel comfortable.

- The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. Check
in/out was a breeze.

- Breakfast was better than most hotels I have stayed at. Warm food, not just muffins/toast. Fruit, cereals, GOOD coffee and the food and dining area was spotlessly clean.

I travel a lot and have only good things to say about this place. With so many hotels out there to choose from, it's nice to see a property that has hit a home run!

If you want a great place to stay while in the Madison area, stay here. You will not be dissapointed.

  • Liked — Clean and updated
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dwctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Madison Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#17 of 63 in Madison
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area

Property: Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Address: 4820 Hayes Rd, Madison, WI 53704-3261
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within just a few miles of the Hampton Inn® hotel in Madison-East Towne Mall Area, you'll find nearly a million square feet of shopping along with the university campus, Warner Park and the Kohl Center. Free hot breakfast and internet is included with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area Hotel Madison
Madison Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing