We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Madison East
Ranked #58 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Tomah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The housekeeping was terrible. Didn't make our beds for 2 night stay. Didn't clean the bathroom, basically just dropped of towels. Hotel is dirty and has people hanging out in the parking lot at all hours. Very uncomfortable for visitors. Hotel has old smoke smell, nasty. THe breakfast area was dirty and we had to eat in our room.

Room Tip: Tip: Madison has better Hotels to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelbelle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking a few minutes to share your stay with us. As we strive to be a clean, afordable, and convenient hotel, it appears there were some cleanliness issues while you were here. We will take your comments and share them with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    69
    62
    62
See reviews for
68
49
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Worked in the hotel industry for many years. Trusted YOUR name for our sons wedding in Madison. I run two small businesses myself. NEVER have I had a dirtier room NEVER have I had an air conditioner vent repaired using gutter guard and machine screws. No frig or micro in my room, but adjacent did. HOMELESS people with key passes let us in exterior door when our hands were full-WHY you ask-because apparently they have passes to do laundry there (who's making a side buck there?) Hung around out front and on the side of the building all night. Domestic fights in the lot, making out, and smoking multiple substances-plus people in wheelchairs smelling of urine scooting around the perimeter of the lot. Take a look at your operation there and let us know what you find. The front desk folks seemed nice enough, but that is where it ends and they seemed resigned to the fact that this is how it is. They are hanging around the front entrance as well in broad daylight giving a first impression that is shady. We booked for two nights September 6 and 7 months in advance. And the best they could do was a room where it states I will be billed $150 if I smoke in it-AND IT SMELLED OF SMOKE WHEN I WALKED IN! As it was a wedding, we had several rooms with family members who all complained of the lack of cleanliness and smell of smoke. Over $170 for the two nights-was afraid of the bed being dirty and don't think I slept a wink. I have never made such a scathing review-DO NOT STAY AT THE MADISON EAST BAYMONT INN!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel as the site for your stay while in Madison. As you were in town for a wedding, we apologize you had experienced some issues while here. As we do offer microwave and refrigerators, they are available upon request, as we do not have them in every room, which is stated on websites when making reservations. To clarify, the hotel does not hand out passes to guests to utilize the hotels amenities. We are sorry if you assumed to think that. If a person has a key card for the hotel, they are a guest of the hotel. When it comes to hotels, there are always different guests that stay in hotels. While it be for weddings, or home football games, business or leisure. Again, we apologize for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madison hotels

West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This particular hotel does not live up to the Baymont name. It's an old building that's been renovated. Not in the greatest area of town. Double rooms have very small bathroom, sink areas,with minimal space to place toiletries on sink. Beds were comfortable, room seemed clean, nice shower, friendly,helpful staff. Small breakfast area, but food was decent. Note:this hotel apparently does not have any rooms with shower,toilet grab bars (as we requested).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank jle831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to share your stay with us. We aplogize the bathroom size was not up to expectations. With the sink area being seperate from the bathroom, it does give the area the impression that it is smaler. We are glad you enjoyed a clean, affordable, and convenient stay while with us. We aplogize you did not receive a handicap accessable room. We are limited on these rooms, and must have had them all in use while you were with us. We hope you were able to enjoy the closeness of so many restaurants around us, along with shopping at East Towne Mall. We hope you think of us agian the next time in Madison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Characters hanging out in the parking lot when we arrived. Was scary. they appeared to be playing dice in the parking lot. Room smelled. Room was very old and unappealing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while in Madison. We aplogize the hotel was not up to your expectations. As there may be people outside as we experience high occupancy, the area around the hotel is safe, as there is ample lighting, along with being within steps of so many restaurants and shopping as East towne Mall is within two blocks of the hotel. We hope you were able to enjoy our compimentary breakfast and wifi. We hope you will think of us again while in Madison the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#47 of 63 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
0.8 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Madison East

Property: Motel 6 Madison East
Address: 4202 E Towne Blvd, Madison, WI 53704-3704 (Formerly Travelodge Madison East)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Madison East 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel 6 in Madison, WI is a 92-room suite hotel located at the crossroads of Wisconsin. With Interstate 39/90/94, four blocks to the east, US Highway 51 four blocks to the west and business US Highway 151 adjacent to the property we are convenient to Wisconsin Travelers. Our property is located only minutes from the University of Wisconsin, UW Health Transplant Hospital, Alliant Energy Center, Camp Randall Stadium, Kohl Center, Wisconsin State Capitol, and just steps away from East Towne Mall. Flying into Madison, WI? We are one of the closest hotels to the Dane County Regional Airport. Whether you are in Madison for Business or Leisure you will be able to enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet and morning coffee everyday. We are conveniently located near several amazing restaurants which include: Olive Garden, Doolittle's Woodfire Grill, Outback Steakhouse, Takumi Sushi and IHOP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Madison East
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison East Hotel Madison
Baymont Inn Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing