We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a friendly staff. Poor quality rooms. No tv phone or...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Madison East
Ranked #58 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    69
    62
    62
See reviews for
68
49
25
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I am handicapped & had a coupon for what I thought would be a fair rate. Bad mistake! They gave us a TINY room with a full-size bed. The tiny refrigerator had so much ice buildup that the unit was not very cold for the drinks we brought. I went to the front desk & told the man behind counter the room AND bed were too small for me & my husband & we couldn't move around too easy. He said "that is the size room for a coupon rate." When I asked for his business card, he said he didn't have one, so I asked him to write down his first & last name. He asked me WHY? I said so I could give management my report. He then said he would upgrade our room at no cost. The room's carpet was literally filthy (both rooms had very dirty carpets). The bathroom door could not close (it did not fit!). I told my husband not to walk on rug without his shoes on. Walls were paper thin. You could hear the people and their TV, so did not get a good night's sleep. When we checked out the next morning, NO ONE came to the desk! Lots of strange people on parking lot in evening. Afraid our car was not secure! The Baymont Inn name has always been one we could trust for a clean, safe & secure room. This one looked like an old motel, like the Excel Inn, with a replaced Baymont Inn sign. The once good neighbourhood had also changed. I did not feel secure and will never stay there again NOR RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hibiscus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing us while you were passing through Madison, WI. We apologize our room was not up to your expectations. I see you mentioned you came in on a coupon? With that particular coupon it states a room with one double bed, or two double beds at a little higher price. We do have larger rooms available with Queen or King beds if you were interested in those, but those would not be for the coupon rate, and would be at a higher rate. We have a limited number of handicap rooms as many hotels do, we apologize if we did not have one available at the time of your walk in. The area around the hotel is relatively busy, but rest assured, is a very safe area. Again, we apologize for the problems you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Staff was nice. Roomwas clean but rest was poorly kept. Strange characters hanging around doorways smoking. Very quiet though. Just did not feel comfortable there for the money we spent and cannot recomend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Kay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Madison. We are happy to hear you had good customer service along with a clean and quiet room. We apologize if there were more people around the hotel than anticipated. There are times the hotel is at full occupancy along with different groups that stay here for particular events that are held in Madison. We hope you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and will think of us again for a second chance the next time you are in Madison, WI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madison hotels

Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The building is in disrepair, rooms are TINY, there are sketchy individuals running around the parking lot (one who slashed my tire), the plumbing is insanely loud, there are children running around in the hallway loudly. The front desk guy was nice, fast and did his best, but this hotel is pretty far gone that he could only do so much. This is more of a last resort hotel where some people live, not really a hotel for travelers. I left after an hour.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marden928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel while you were in Madison, and took a few minutes to share with us about your experience. As our hotel is a little older, the rooms appear to be a little smaller as the bathrooms only have the toilet and tub while vanity area is outside the bathroom. As we do have a high occupancy in the summer time, we do have more people and traffic around the hotel, but rest assured this is a very safe area. We apologize the hotel was not up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#46 of 63 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
0.8 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Madison East

Property: Motel 6 Madison East
Address: 4202 E Towne Blvd, Madison, WI 53704-3704 (Formerly Travelodge Madison East)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Madison East 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel 6 in Madison, WI is a 92-room suite hotel located at the crossroads of Wisconsin. With Interstate 39/90/94, four blocks to the east, US Highway 51 four blocks to the west and business US Highway 151 adjacent to the property we are convenient to Wisconsin Travelers. Our property is located only minutes from the University of Wisconsin, UW Health Transplant Hospital, Alliant Energy Center, Camp Randall Stadium, Kohl Center, Wisconsin State Capitol, and just steps away from East Towne Mall. Flying into Madison, WI? We are one of the closest hotels to the Dane County Regional Airport. Whether you are in Madison for Business or Leisure you will be able to enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet and morning coffee everyday. We are conveniently located near several amazing restaurants which include: Olive Garden, Doolittle's Woodfire Grill, Outback Steakhouse, Takumi Sushi and IHOP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Madison East
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison East Hotel Madison
Baymont Inn Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing