We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started out okay, ended up bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Madison East
Ranked #59 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were in town on a combination business/family trip, and we were initially pleased that this hotel was convenient to the mall and multiple dining options. Our plans were to stay Thursday and Friday, and when we decided to add on Saturday we were told that we would have to change rooms. Fine, we can do that. They told us that our room for Thurs-Fri would be a king suite and then we would move to a normal "queen" room on Saturday.

The king suite was very nice, relatively roomy. We loved that there were two bathrooms and two desk areas. The fridge was nice to have, too, and it was helpful to have two televisions so that different family members could watch different things. The sink-right-next-to-the-door thing was a little unwieldy, I never got used to the fact that there were no trash cans in the bathrooms and the toilet seemed to flush in slow motion, but the shower was great. No real complaints.

We dutifully packed up our things on Saturday morning and checked out, then checked back in on Saturday afternoon. I'm not sure exactly what this bed is called, but it's definitely not a queen-size. I'd call it a really wide twin or a really narrow full. The room itself was smallish, but that was workable. The size of the bed was the only real problem. We could easily sleep on a queen-size bed with our young daughter between us, but on this one it was nearly impossible.

We went to the front desk and told them about the problem, but they didn't rectify the situation because we were "paying less than the queen rate". We would have paid the queen rate to get the larger bed, and that's what we thought we were doing! I'd rather that than try and sleep in a rickety armchair because I'd fallen out of bed one too many times. They also tried to tell us that it had been our error when booking, which is harder to believe given that we called to make the reservation and (believe me) we would never have said "Oh, no, the queen bed's too big, we need something smaller." Very displeased with the turn of events, and it paints our whole stay in a more negative light.

The property itself, as I said, is convenient to the mall (you have to cross some parking lots and an access road, but it's not impossible). There are lots of dining options in the area. They have a breakfast bar that includes an intriguing DIY fresh waffle machine, but the small breakfast area was so packed I couldn't even get anywhere near it and just had to grab a banana. The internet is free, but bandwidth use is monitored.

We're moving on to a different hotel to finish our stay, and we're very relieved at the prospect of finally being able to sleep.

Room Tip: book a suite if possible...standard guest rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 250 of 266 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed for a week and had an enjoyable time. The room was adequate and clean. the only complaint would be the sink area is very small and in the way by the door. The breakfast was very good with waffles, fresh fruit. cereal and assorted breads. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. Gave us great tips on where to eat..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Review on us on trip advisor. There are numerous restaurants next to us as we are also within walking distance of the mall as well. We hope the next time you are in town, you will think of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I was upgrated to a suite free.A noisy toilet kept me up half a night until I closed the bathroom door.Good breakfast . Far from downtown for the price. No pool. Better options closer to the city center.
I slept on a sofa bed ,not bad but to close to A/C .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank danusiaDesPlaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Thank you for taking a few moments to out down a review of your stay while you were in Madison. I want to apologize for the running toilet as these are items our maintenance team can usually repair very quickly. Although we are not right downtown, we do have quite a few other things that are very close to us such as East Towne Mall, Mallards Baseball games, as well as numerous restaurants within a few short blocks of us. Hopefully you will keep us in Mind if you travel back to Madison and are looking to stay somewhere on the east side of Madison versus being right downtown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Was down from La Crosse Wi for a FEMA course for 2 nights. The hotel was clean, bed was comfortable, the breakfast bar was good with fruits, waffles, rolls, cereal, etc. It was not fancy, but for the price ($53) was more than I expected. The room was not large, the bath was small, and the sink area was very small as well. This was not the Crown Royal I stayed at a couple of months before ($129), but serves the needs if you don't need the frills. The staff was very courteous, and helpful. Their attitudes were great! I will not hesitate to stay there again when the need arises.

Room Tip: Ask for AARP discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Thank you for taking a few short moments to give us such a great review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you think of us again the next time you are in Madison!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The 2 star rating given to the Baymont Inn is misleading. Unfortunately, this is the 2nd time I got stuck staying here. No matter how many people in your party, when booking through priceline they assign you a tiny, dated, cramped room w/a small double bed barely big enough for 2 people and extremely uncomfortable for sleeping. Called the Baymont in advance when I got stuck again for the 2nd time through priceline to upgrade my room to 2 beds which the Baymont employee agreed to. Upon arrival a week later, I was told that there weren't any 2 bed rooms available. My son got stuck sleeping on the floor. We were upgraded for the 2nd night, but if you do get a room upgrade, they slap you w/an $11 add on fee. Called priceline and suggested that they rate this place w/only ONE star. They advised me in the future to bid a little higher and to go for a 2 and 1/2 star rating for this locale.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjahn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to give the hotel a review of your past stay. I apologize for the inconvienence you went through while making your reservations through priceline. The hotel is now under new management as of July and we are looking to improve issus such as yours going further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This was the first time I have ever had a hotel tell me there would be an upcharge for an accessible room. Additionally, the front desk clerk was extremely rude and demeaning. In all the traveling I have done, this is the first time I have ever felt discriminated against due to a disability. If the clerk had not been so demeaning, I probably would have paid the extra fee without issue, but his attitude really turned this into an incredibly embarrasing and unhappy situation for me and my family.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbrandt1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

I want to apologize for the last stay you had at our property while you were in Madison. The hotel is under new management as of July and we are looking to improve issues such as these going forward. Please think of us the next time you are in Madison. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

For 30$ i thought i had found a great deal, boy was i wrong!!!! We arrive and see a dark drab room with dingy stained towels and old worry out decor... The general appeal was frankly depressing and partys going on all around (not fun when trying to put a toddler to sleep. Then to be awakened at 3am by a staff member saying he smells marijuana smoke in the lobby and corridor and says ME & my daughter (1 year old) and husband must leave. Seeing as how it was 3am, i had to get dressed and see what on earth us going on. I go to the front (passing a room having an active party) to ask the problem and solve it as me and my daughter area irritated and eager to get back to back to bed. The staff aggressivly snapped at me when i told him he must have the wrong room, to please further investigate. He cut me off so i asked for a supervisor which he refused then i asked for the # to corporate which he also refused and then got very aggressive and far beyond rude with my daughter in my arms, and this is the WORST establishment I've ever been to ever!!! NOT A PLACE FOR FAMILY.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbottpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaymontEastMadison, General Manager at Motel 6 Madison East, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a survey on our hotel. I want to apologize for how your last stay was. I can understand how frustrated you must have been when this issue presented itself at the time it presented itself. The hotel is now under new management as of July and we are looking to improve going forward. Hopefully the next time you are in Madison you will think of us and give us another try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Madison-Northeast
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Madison
Red Roof Inn Madison
#57 of 63 in Madison
126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Madison East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#54 of 63 in Madison
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#49 of 63 in Madison
106 reviews
5.2 mi away
Super 8 Windsor/Madison North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Madison East

Address: 4202 E Towne Blvd, Madison, WI 53704-3704 (Formerly Travelodge Madison East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: $44 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Madison East 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel 6 in Madison, WI is a 92-room suite hotel located at the crossroads of Wisconsin. With Interstate 39/90/94, four blocks to the east, US Highway 51 four blocks to the west and business US Highway 151 adjacent to the property we are convenient to Wisconsin Travelers. Our property is located only minutes from the University of Wisconsin, UW Health Transplant Hospital, Alliant Energy Center, Camp Randall Stadium, Kohl Center, Wisconsin State Capitol, and just steps away from East Towne Mall. Flying into Madison, WI? We are one of the closest hotels to the Dane County Regional Airport. Whether you are in Madison for Business or Leisure you will be able to enjoy our Free High Speed Wireless Internet and morning coffee everyday. We are conveniently located near several amazing restaurants which include: Olive Garden, Doolittle's Woodfire Grill, Outback Steakhouse, Takumi Sushi and IHOP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Madison East
Baymont Inn & Suites Madison East Hotel Madison
Baymont Inn Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing