We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and comfortable with annoying staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Englewood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and comfortable with annoying staff”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We got a good rate with Hotwire so the value was quite good. We loved our quiet, clean room with comfy beds and bedding. I was surprised by the lack of complimentary breakfast or even coffee (beyond the room). And I wished the a.m. desk person would have helped us find a luggage cart (there were none near door). Finally my wife found one down near the meeting rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aktrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison.

We are glad you enjoyed your room, however I am quite disappointed you weren't assisted in locating a luggage cart by the staff. I assure you this will be discussed with the Guest Service Manager, as it is our goal to exceed our guest's expectations during their stay with us.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you during your next vist to Madison.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    119
    114
    79
    61
See reviews for
105
79
35
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

First, the positives, this hotel is in an excellent location near the airport, shopping, and dining. Not so great if you need to be near the city, but for my needs it was perfect. I was doing this trip on a budget, and was able to get cheap meals at nearby restaurants (Panera, Chipotle, etc.) The staff was accomodating. So far, the hotel is quiet. Not sure if it's the day I am here, but seems like a ton of male business travelers. The pool area is quite nice and includes a nice hottub. The fitness center is barely adequate. I really prefer Precor machines, but there are only True machines and the elliptical is subpar. I used the treadmill. Good set of handweights, but that's pretty much it. The main negative is that the hotel is really beat and run down and in major need of a complete overhaul. The beds are also pretty uncomfortable. If you are a priceline customer, you are going to get what you get, they don't try to accoodate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street. They have rooms with interior windows that face the inside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review for the Crowne Plaza Madison on Trip Advisor. Yes, the hotel is in a great location as it's near the freeway, airport, and across the street from East Towne Mall and many restaurants. I am sorry you weren't happy with the exercise equipment, and if you stay with us again, please ask the front desk about the pass our guests can use at a full service fitness center.

We are hoping to complete room renovations this year.

We strive to provide the finest accomodations in the area, and hope you give the opportunity to serve you during your next visit to Madison.

Best regards,

Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here on the Friday night prior to the Christmas holiday with our children. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the peace and quiet. Our room was on the fourth floor and looked to be recently remodeled. The bathroom was very clean as were the beds -- no stains or anything that might have indicated lax housecleaning. Our children enjoyed the pool area. The main swimming pool was wonderfully warm and the hot tub/spa was a great treat after spending six hours on the road that day.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated/remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virgilfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison.

You are correct we renovated some of the rooms recently with new beds, bedding, carpet, wall covering, and headboards.

We are certainly glad you enjoyed the pool and hot tub are, as it is a very relaxing area.

We hope you have the opportunity to servce you during you next visit to Madison.

Sincerely,
Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very decent place to stay. Clean, comfortable, and quiet. we stayed here on our way to Florida from Minnesota. Will probably stay again if it works next time. Front desk personel was very friendly and we had no problems with the room.

Room Tip: Very clean, comfortable beds, restful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarbeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to receive your commnets.

We strive to provide the finest service in the area, and hope to have the opportunity to serve you during your next stay in Madison, WI.

Sincerely,

Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Although the nightly rate is good, the rooms are depressing and in need of updating. I was put on the concierge floor and the woman at the front desk made it sound like it was something special. The hospitality room had a few cans of soda and there was a pan of what I think was supposed to be fried ravioli. They were so over cooked that the cheese inside had disappeared. The very small plate of raw vegetables looked like they were left from the night before. The breakfast was no better...powdered eggs with cheese and some bread for toasting. Even the fruit was inedible. I've had better breakfast at any Hampton Inn. My room was dingy and the first time I used the toilet it overflowed. The faucets at the sink leaked all over the counter and the heating unit was so loud I had to turn it off in order to get any sleep. My TV kept losing the signal and no one at the desk could tell me why except to say "it's happens all the time". Unfortunately, the nice common areas don't make up for the rest of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accountexec2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear accountexec2000,

Thank you for your detailed review regarding your recent stay. It's nice to hear that you found our room rates good. We strive everyday to create special experiences to our guests and we are truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you may have had due to the breakfast options, room accommodations and amenities. We have taken note of your valuable comments and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and we hope you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Again, thank you for your feedback as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madison hotels

Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night and we were immediately impressed with the common areas which included a very nice pool area and starbucks in the hotel lobby.

After arriving in our room we were less impressed. While it was still good sized, the walls, vents, lights, needed updating. For example, the air conditioner vent had a significant amount of rust on it. With the rooms needing this much updating, we could not give it more than 3 stars even though the common areas were so nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodakjesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments in regards to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison. Although it is disappointing to hear negative comments, we do take them seriously and use them as a way to improve the hotel.

We are glad you were impressed with the lobby, and would like you to know we will be doing some room upgrades this coming year.

We do hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you during your next visit to Madison.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The lady that picked us up the airport was very cordial on the way to the airport. The front desk had our reservation ready. We had planned to attend the tailgate before the OSU-Wisconsin game but found out after we arrived that they had cancelled the tailgate. They did have an alternate plan but we were disappointed that we didn't know before we arrived (the people that flew in with us from Ohio wanted to include us in their plans but we told them we had already made other arrangements). The carpet in our bedroom was frayed along with the carpet in our hallway. It would appear that the hotel is in need of a touch up based on the number of marks on the walls, missing trim by the carpet, etc. We were given a drink coupon upon check in but were not told that it had to be used the night of check in because they don't open the bar the next day. They did trade it in for a smoothy. Just didn't seem like a "Crowne Plaza"!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy H, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor in regards to your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Madison. Thank you for your positive comments in regards to our associates, as it our service in where our goal is to always exceed our guests expectations.

I would like to aplogize for the inconveniences that you incured in your room. Our intention is to have all guest room carpet and hallway carpet replaced during 2013, as well as all hallways repainted.

Once again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We strive to provide the finest service in the area, and your input is very important to us.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#47 of 63 in Madison
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Address: 4402 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in Madison Wisconsin, and is the place to meet for meetings and weddings alike. Our premier Madison hotel is located on the east side, only 3 miles to Dane County Regional Airport, with free 24 hour airport shuttle (departing hotel on every hour), and near to downtown Madison, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and Coliseum, The Kohl Center, The new Overture Center for the Arts, University of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin State Capitol. The hotel has recently upgraded beds to a new level of comfort with 7-pillows, a plush duvet, luxurious sheets and a pillow-top mattress. A great night sleep-guaranteed! The Crowne Plaza Madison, Wisconsin is a newly renovated 6 story hotel conveniently located off I-90/94/39, near East Towne Mall, Madison's largest mall, as well as theatres and restaurants. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison - East Towne, a family-friendly hotel where kids stay free in parents' room and ages 12 and under eat free. Don't leave your pet home alone - the Crowne Plaza Madison is a pet-friendly hotel, offering added amenities at check-in for your furry friend! Crowne Plaza, the best value for Madison Wisconsin Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Madison
Madison Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing