We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Ok so it was clean...broken frige and microwave which was located down the hall and around the corner. Employees should be a bit more friendly and or helpful..they are working (by choice) in the hospitality industry. All in all it could have been much worse but if we're ever in Madison again we wouldent stay here. The location is close to the highway which was nice and across from a mall.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chofis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. Although we would rather receive positive comments, it is very helpful to receive any comments, so we can correct any negative issues. I aplogize for the microwave not working, and although we don't have any refrigerators in the vending areas, possibly it was an ice machine that was not working. In regards to associates not being friendly, you are certainly correct in saying they choose to work in the hospitality industry and should be friendly to everyone. I will certainly address this.

Once again, thank you for your response, and I do hope you will give us another try the next time you are in Madison. Our goal is to provide the finest service in the area.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    119
    114
    79
    61
See reviews for
105
79
35
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

It had been a few years since our last visit and we were pleased to see that the property has undergone renovation. Housekeeping is excellent and facilities are all in good repair. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet (though it's not cheap.) In addition to the hotel's cafe, there are a lot of restaurants in close proximity.

There are computers available in an open area of the lobby. The pool is nice, but this is one of those unfortunate situations in which you will be practically swimming through the lobby in a glass enclosed area that puts us a little more on display than we like to be. The hot tub was down with a maintenance issue. There is an exercise room that is open 24 hours. One especially welcome amenity: a Starbucks coffee kiosk in the lobby which opens at 6 a.m.

The wireless Internet service in the guest room seemed to be a bit sluggish, but it is also complimentary, which is always appreciated. Likewise, we found the remote for the television in the guest room to be barely functioning and the Channel guide didn't match what was on the screen, so it was a bit of a chore to tune in to the limited selections offered on the hotel's satellite system. One other note: the elevators aren't particularly speedy and we weren't sure if all three of them were operating at times.

On a positive note, this is a nice hotel with a friendly staff and typical rates are very reasonable for this level of property.

Room Tip: A second floor room is a nice way to stay out of the first floor foot traffic while not having to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Standby4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

One of the nicer Crowne Plazas I have stayed at. Food was good and close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducknc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Booked for $53 per night before taxes with Hotwire. Great value. Great service. Window in room was a little dirty with bugs. A ways from dowtown. Being close to the Eastown mall helps make up for it a bit though. Very nice pool area and lobby. Well kept hotel. Very clean for most part.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

After spending nearly $20,000 to have our wedding reception here, we were treated like garbage by their security guards and the people who work the front desk lack in customer service skills. Also for what they charge per night per room, the rooms should be a little more up to date.

Back to security....sometime between 9:00 - 11:00 (no one was really watching a clock) a security guard showed up and rudely started poking our guests and telling them to get back inside with their drinks (Crowne Plaza never once told anyone they couldn't have their drinks outside). We asked the security guard to be polite to our guests and say please, to which his response was "I only say please when I want to". He proceeded to tell one of our groomsman that he made more money that him, and continued to instigate confrontation until the end of the night. He was very unprofessional and very rude. He pulled his mase out on three different occasions like he was going to use it on some one. He continuously told our guests to "enjoy their intoxication", and after he harrassed us and told us no drinks outside.....there were some other people staying in the hotel standing outside the front doors the entire night with their drinks and not one word was said to them! Remind you.....no one was being out of line or causing any problems in the hotel! He chose to get into peoples faces yelling at them. We had several guests ask for his name numerous times and he would not provide any of us with his name.

We had 350+ guests at our event, and everyone was enjoying themselves and having a good time. (Causing NO problems what so ever). When we contacted the Crowne Plaza regarding the issue we had, the GM failed to take any sort of responsibility for the security guard that they hired to work there. She proceeded to blame my "intoxicated guests" for causing altercations and being out of line, telling me that she had a full security report. Obviously, not taking into consideration that the report is a one sided story, and of course he's not going to make himself look bad. There was a wedding about a month or so before ours, where they outsourced caters to come in for it who proceeded to steal money out of cards in the card box. I guess they should rethink about some of these companies that they are hiring to come into their hotel and give them a bad name. But I guess if they won't take any sort of responsibility for these people who they hired to act on their behalf, I will never again use the Crowne Plaza for anything. I think I can speak for anyone of our guests who witnessed the situation! And I'm sure people are passing the word on about how we were treated like garbage!

Good luck to you if you choose to hold an event at the Crowne Plaza. Although both of their event coordinators were nice, we started working with one in the beginning and about 3 months before the wedding the new one came in as the old one left. Making us have to make sure we were all back on the same page. Lots of things the first lady told us were OK the second lady tried to tell us they were not (after everything was booked). However in the end it worked out as we did our final tour the week of the wedding and had to tell her where to put everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madison hotels

WI - USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I am sure when this hotel was new, it was a real jewel, however it is now showing it's age. It's fantastic location keeps it's rooms full and although the beds are comfortable the rooms are dark and gloomy. Bathrooms are beatup, carpets are old and dirty both in the hallways and the room. Pool area is in a glass enclosed area, visible to the lobby, and appears to be really nice until you go in. Pool area is in great need of maintenance, the jets in the hot tub don't work properly and quite dirty. Pool towels are not replenished. The exercise room overlooks pool area and the equipment is antiquated. Lobby is open and spacious with an atrium feel. This would be wonderful if it was sparkly clean but this is not the case, the planters double for garbage cans or ash trays when cans are full which is often. Front desk staff is snooty, acting as if they were a posh New York hotel. It is clear that the focus of this hotel is booking as many rooms as possible and filtering as few of the profits back into the care it's building or it's staff training. Getting a good night sleep is impossible if you stay over a weekend as the front desk staff does not care to stop roudy guests running the halls after bar closings as they are understaffed. Don't make the mistake of booking a romantic getaway here. Crown plaza is usually thought of as an upper eschelon chain, not this one.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PackerfanWi-Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeville,mn
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

spent last weekend at cp for the first time. overall a good stay/value. fyi billboards say the hotel is renovated but actually only 1 floor out of 6. our room was not and it showed. some minor problems. cable selections reminded me of the 70's with the very limited number of selections(stayed at a super 8 the night before and they had triple the number...come on cp). starbucks in the lobby was nice to have but it bothers me when they charge more than any other outlet. not a big deal but still annoying. lobby very nice but pool in kind of an odd spot. overall ok. would probably stay there again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaGM, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. The billboard you referred to is being removed; however the statement of newly renovated on it referred to the lobby, restaurant and meeting space areas. You are correct, one floor has been renovated, with the other floors to follow. The cable system is going to be changed as well, as we just recently installed the flat screen televisions.

Again, thanks for taking the time out of your day to make your comments. We want to receive them whether they are positive or negative, so we can make any corrections necessary. We pride ourselves on providing the finest service in the area, and we hope to serve you in the future.

Best regards,
Sandy Harper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western East Towne Suites
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Madison Airport
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Madison
Econo Lodge Madison
#47 of 63 in Madison
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Madison
1.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Madison East
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison East Towne Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison
Address: 4402 E Washington Ave, Madison, WI 53704-3724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madison Crowne Plaza Hotel is located in Madison Wisconsin, and is the place to meet for meetings and weddings alike. Our premier Madison hotel is located on the east side, only 3 miles to Dane County Regional Airport, with free 24 hour airport shuttle (departing hotel on every hour), and near to downtown Madison, Monona Terrace Convention Center, Alliant Energy Center and Coliseum, The Kohl Center, The new Overture Center for the Arts, University of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin State Capitol. The hotel has recently upgraded beds to a new level of comfort with 7-pillows, a plush duvet, luxurious sheets and a pillow-top mattress. A great night sleep-guaranteed! The Crowne Plaza Madison, Wisconsin is a newly renovated 6 story hotel conveniently located off I-90/94/39, near East Towne Mall, Madison's largest mall, as well as theatres and restaurants. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison - East Towne, a family-friendly hotel where kids stay free in parents' room and ages 12 and under eat free. Don't leave your pet home alone - the Crowne Plaza Madison is a pet-friendly hotel, offering added amenities at check-in for your furry friend! Crowne Plaza, the best value for Madison Wisconsin Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Madison
Madison Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing